I was thinking of using a Fighter with a Magic Initiate feat and cast a spell or cantrip as an extra attack. I'm a bit confused, since people say since Extra Attack says "Attack" and not action it means you can't cast a spell, yet in the Critical Hit rules it says "If the d20 roll for an attack is a 20, the attack hits regardless o f any modifiers or the target’s AC. In addition, the attack is a critical hit," ... "When you score a critical hit, you get to roll extra dice for the attack’s damage against the target." I know people use critical rules for spell damage, so wouldn't Extra Attack also apply? Since it doesn't explicitly say "weapon attack?"
It reads: "you can attack twice, instead of once, whenever you take the Attack action on your turn." It doesn't specify a weapon attack, but simply "attack" which based on people's interpretation of "attack" in the d20 roll would mean a spell would be an "attack"
The Attack action is a specific action, it doesn’t mean “any attack.” When you cast a spell, you are not taking the Attack action, you’re taking the Cast a Spell action. There’s one exception with Bladesinger wizards, but that’s a separate thing.
Attacks with a weapon use the Attack action. Extra Attack means when you take the Attack Action you can do more than one attack.
Spells, even ones that feature attacks rolls with or without weapon like Booming Blade, use the Cast a Spell action. So, no, the Extra Attack does not apply.
Some features, such as Eldritch Knight and Bladesinger features, may allow specific exceptions - check the feature text for details.
Click ✨ HERE ✨ For My Youtube Videos featuring Guides, Tips & Tricks for using D&D Beyond. Need help with Homebrew? Check out ✨ thisFAQ/Guide thread ✨ by IamSposta.
So the Extra Attack must be the same type of attack that was done first. i.e. If you attack with 1d8 Longsword, but then switch to two hand, you can't do 1d8 for the first and 1d10 for the other attack, is that correct?
So the Extra Attack must be the same type of attack that was done first. i.e. If you attack with 1d8 Longsword, but then switch to two hand, you can't do 1d8 for the first and 1d10 for the other attack, is that correct?
No.
There are no restrictions. If you have two weapons equipped such as a greatsword in one hand and a longsword in the other, you can attack with longsword, drop it using your free action then attack with both hands using your greatsword.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
Click ✨ HERE ✨ For My Youtube Videos featuring Guides, Tips & Tricks for using D&D Beyond. Need help with Homebrew? Check out ✨ thisFAQ/Guide thread ✨ by IamSposta.
Just for rules clarity, I thought I'd provide a link to the section about actions in combat.
No, I think you took the wrong bit away from Saga and Cyb3r. The attacks don't have to be the same for extra attack. But you do have to have used the Attack action. You are not limited by it or extra attack to making the same type of attack. You're just limited to the things you can do with the attack action. That generally means not casting a spell, though there are exceptions.
I was thinking of using a Fighter with a Magic Initiate feat and cast a spell or cantrip as an extra attack. I'm a bit confused, since people say since Extra Attack says "Attack" and not action it means you can't cast a spell, yet in the Critical Hit rules it says "If the d20 roll for an attack is a 20, the attack hits regardless o f any modifiers or the target’s AC. In addition, the attack is a critical hit," ... "When you score a critical hit, you get to roll extra dice for the attack’s damage against the target." I know people use critical rules for spell damage, so wouldn't Extra Attack also apply? Since it doesn't explicitly say "weapon attack?"
It reads: "you can attack twice, instead of once, whenever you take the Attack action on your turn." It doesn't specify a weapon attack, but simply "attack" which based on people's interpretation of "attack" in the d20 roll would mean a spell would be an "attack"
Extra Attack applies to the Attackaction, as opposed to the [Tooltip Not Found] action. It's not based simply on making an attack.
Contrast with Magic Stone: you [Tooltip Not Found] as a bonus action, then for your action, you launch the stone(s) from a sling. At that point it's up to your DM what exactly the action you're engaging in is, and since most DMs will agree it's [Tooltip Not Found], Extra Attack will apply, letting you launch 2 stones (or more, if you're a high-level Fighter) in 1 action.
At that point it's up to your DM what exactly the action you're engaging in is, and since most DMs will agree it's [Tooltip Not Found].
I do like that typo (IME when someone says 'most DMs will agree...' someone is likely to immediately argue). The actual text is unclear, all it says is that you can make a "ranged spell attack", which is normally not possible as part of the attack action, but it never says what, if any, action is actually required (RAW it could even be [Tooltip Not Found]).
Just for rules clarity, I thought I'd provide a link to the section about actions in combat.
No, I think you took the wrong bit away from Saga and Cyb3r. The attacks don't have to be the same for extra attack. But you do have to have used the Attack action. You are not limited by it or extra attack to making the same type of attack. You're just limited to the things you can do with the attack action. That generally means not casting a spell, though there are exceptions.
I guess I'm confused how the word "attack" is used at some times to mean a spell attack and other times to only refer to weapon attacks or some other attack but not spells. "Making an Attack" section further down in the link you provided includes spells.
The line says 'You can attack twice...after taking the Attack action"
When you scroll down and see stuff on casting spells, that is because that is the [Tooltip Not Found] action and not the Attack action. I don't know how you could miss that, considering it says Cast a Spell in big letters right above it, and the rules for Attack have Attack in the same big letters too.
Some spells, such as shocking grasp, include an attack roll. Making that attack roll is not using the Attack action, but rather is part of the spell that you cast with the Cast a Spell action. When Extra Attack says "after taking the Attack action," that means weapon attack only.
If the reason you are arguing for this is because you want to attack multiple times with a spell, check out eldritch blast.
Look at what you've done. You spoiled it. You have nobody to blame but yourself. Go sit and think about your actions.
Don't be mean. Rudeness is a vicious cycle, and it has to stop somewhere. Exceptions for things that are funny. Go to the current Competition of the Finest 'Brews! It's a cool place where cool people make cool things.
How I'm posting based on text formatting: Mod Hat Off - Mod Hat Also Off (I'm not a mod)
Just for rules clarity, I thought I'd provide a link to the section about actions in combat.
No, I think you took the wrong bit away from Saga and Cyb3r. The attacks don't have to be the same for extra attack. But you do have to have used the Attack action. You are not limited by it or extra attack to making the same type of attack. You're just limited to the things you can do with the attack action. That generally means not casting a spell, though there are exceptions.
I guess I'm confused how the word "attack" is used at some times to mean a spell attack and other times to only refer to weapon attacks or some other attack but not spells. "Making an Attack" section further down in the link you provided includes spells.
The line says 'You can attack twice...after taking the Attack action"
Ok. The attack action lets you make the attacks that you can make. What attacks can you make without using another action? You can't, for example, eldritch blast, because to make those attacks you need to cast the spell, and that spell has a casting time of one action, which means you are using your action to cast the spell, not to take the attack action.
Just for rules clarity, I thought I'd provide a link to the section about actions in combat.
No, I think you took the wrong bit away from Saga and Cyb3r. The attacks don't have to be the same for extra attack. But you do have to have used the Attack action. You are not limited by it or extra attack to making the same type of attack. You're just limited to the things you can do with the attack action. That generally means not casting a spell, though there are exceptions.
I guess I'm confused how the word "attack" is used at some times to mean a spell attack and other times to only refer to weapon attacks or some other attack but not spells. "Making an Attack" section further down in the link you provided includes spells.
The line says 'You can attack twice...after taking the Attack action"
An “attack” (lowercase “a”) is anything that requires an attack roll, the Attack action (capital “A”) is a specific action that works with the Extra Attack feature.
The TLDR is that casting a spell is a type of action, not a type of attack. The rules can be a bit confusing, because it keeps using the same words to refer to different things depending on the context.
If you have a spell attack available to you without requiring the cast a spell action (such as while holding the stones from magic stone) you can make that attack with the attack action, but the attack action does not let you cast a spell as an attack (unless you are a bladesinger wizard, because specific beats general).
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
I was thinking of using a Fighter with a Magic Initiate feat and cast a spell or cantrip as an extra attack. I'm a bit confused, since people say since Extra Attack says "Attack" and not action it means you can't cast a spell, yet in the Critical Hit rules it says "If the d20 roll for an attack is a 20, the attack hits regardless o f any modifiers or the target’s AC. In addition, the attack is a critical hit," ... "When you score a critical hit, you get to roll extra dice for the attack’s damage against the target." I know people use critical rules for spell damage, so wouldn't Extra Attack also apply? Since it doesn't explicitly say "weapon attack?"
It reads: "you can attack twice, instead of once, whenever you take the Attack action on your turn."
It doesn't specify a weapon attack, but simply "attack" which based on people's interpretation of "attack" in the d20 roll would mean a spell would be an "attack"
The Attack action is a specific action, it doesn’t mean “any attack.” When you cast a spell, you are not taking the Attack action, you’re taking the Cast a Spell action. There’s one exception with Bladesinger wizards, but that’s a separate thing.
Attacks with a weapon use the Attack action. Extra Attack means when you take the Attack Action you can do more than one attack.
Spells, even ones that feature attacks rolls with or without weapon like Booming Blade, use the Cast a Spell action. So, no, the Extra Attack does not apply.
Some features, such as Eldritch Knight and Bladesinger features, may allow specific exceptions - check the feature text for details.
EDIT: Ninja'd By Saga! Gorramn it! 🤣😂
Click ✨ HERE ✨ For My Youtube Videos featuring Guides, Tips & Tricks for using D&D Beyond.
Need help with Homebrew? Check out ✨ this FAQ/Guide thread ✨ by IamSposta.
So the Extra Attack must be the same type of attack that was done first. i.e. If you attack with 1d8 Longsword, but then switch to two hand, you can't do 1d8 for the first and 1d10 for the other attack, is that correct?
No.
There are no restrictions. If you have two weapons equipped such as a greatsword in one hand and a longsword in the other, you can attack with longsword, drop it using your free action then attack with both hands using your greatsword.
Click ✨ HERE ✨ For My Youtube Videos featuring Guides, Tips & Tricks for using D&D Beyond.
Need help with Homebrew? Check out ✨ this FAQ/Guide thread ✨ by IamSposta.
Just for rules clarity, I thought I'd provide a link to the section about actions in combat.
No, I think you took the wrong bit away from Saga and Cyb3r. The attacks don't have to be the same for extra attack. But you do have to have used the Attack action. You are not limited by it or extra attack to making the same type of attack. You're just limited to the things you can do with the attack action. That generally means not casting a spell, though there are exceptions.
Extra Attack applies to the Attack action, as opposed to the [Tooltip Not Found] action. It's not based simply on making an attack.
Contrast with Magic Stone: you [Tooltip Not Found] as a bonus action, then for your action, you launch the stone(s) from a sling. At that point it's up to your DM what exactly the action you're engaging in is, and since most DMs will agree it's [Tooltip Not Found], Extra Attack will apply, letting you launch 2 stones (or more, if you're a high-level Fighter) in 1 action.
I do like that typo (IME when someone says 'most DMs will agree...' someone is likely to immediately argue). The actual text is unclear, all it says is that you can make a "ranged spell attack", which is normally not possible as part of the attack action, but it never says what, if any, action is actually required (RAW it could even be [Tooltip Not Found]).
I guess I'm confused how the word "attack" is used at some times to mean a spell attack and other times to only refer to weapon attacks or some other attack but not spells. "Making an Attack" section further down in the link you provided includes spells.
The line says 'You can attack twice...after taking the Attack action"
When you scroll down and see stuff on casting spells, that is because that is the [Tooltip Not Found] action and not the Attack action. I don't know how you could miss that, considering it says Cast a Spell in big letters right above it, and the rules for Attack have Attack in the same big letters too.
Some spells, such as shocking grasp, include an attack roll. Making that attack roll is not using the Attack action, but rather is part of the spell that you cast with the Cast a Spell action. When Extra Attack says "after taking the Attack action," that means weapon attack only.
If the reason you are arguing for this is because you want to attack multiple times with a spell, check out eldritch blast.
Look at what you've done. You spoiled it. You have nobody to blame but yourself. Go sit and think about your actions.
Don't be mean. Rudeness is a vicious cycle, and it has to stop somewhere. Exceptions for things that are funny.
Go to the current Competition of the Finest 'Brews! It's a cool place where cool people make cool things.
How I'm posting based on text formatting: Mod Hat Off - Mod Hat Also Off (I'm not a mod)
Ok. The attack action lets you make the attacks that you can make. What attacks can you make without using another action? You can't, for example, eldritch blast, because to make those attacks you need to cast the spell, and that spell has a casting time of one action, which means you are using your action to cast the spell, not to take the attack action.
Would Grapple be allowed as an extra attack?
This question is answered very clearly by the rules:
An “attack” (lowercase “a”) is anything that requires an attack roll, the Attack action (capital “A”) is a specific action that works with the Extra Attack feature.
Creating Epic Boons on DDB
DDB Buyers' Guide
Hardcovers, DDB & You
Content Troubleshooting
The TLDR is that casting a spell is a type of action, not a type of attack. The rules can be a bit confusing, because it keeps using the same words to refer to different things depending on the context.
If you have a spell attack available to you without requiring the cast a spell action (such as while holding the stones from magic stone) you can make that attack with the attack action, but the attack action does not let you cast a spell as an attack (unless you are a bladesinger wizard, because specific beats general).