if it is only on roll (when hitting/targeting more than 2 enemies) as some here have stated... How would hexblades curse then apply? it states that it add prof. bonus to the damage roll when hitting the cursed target.
if it is only on roll (when hitting/targeting more than 2 enemies) as some here have stated... How would hexblades curse then apply? it states that it add prof. bonus to the damage roll when hitting the cursed target.
I might be a little off here so excuse me if this isn't totally accurate, but what I'm picking up on, RAW, is that MM is almost like an AOE spell where the caster is simply allowed to disperse the individual instances of damage however they want. So if a Hexblade were to cast Fireball on their Cursed target, the target would take one single additional damage of the Hexblade's Charisma modifier. Similarly, if multiple bolts of Magic Missile were to hit a Cursed Target, it's still technically a single Damage Roll, thus it only adds a single instance of the Hexblade's Charisma modifier regardless of how many bolts are fired at the Cursed Target.
I hope I'm interpreting that correctly, but I believe that's how it's meant to work based on the discussion we've been having.
It dies not matter if you roll a die or dice. It seems to me that it is a matter of personal preference or Dungeon Master decision. It could be a matter of personalization of the Magic User's use of arcane force.
if it is only on roll (when hitting/targeting more than 2 enemies) as some here have stated... How would hexblades curse then apply? it states that it add prof. bonus to the damage roll when hitting the cursed target.
I might be a little off here so excuse me if this isn't totally accurate, but what I'm picking up on, RAW, is that MM is almost like an AOE spell where the caster is simply allowed to disperse the individual instances of damage however they want. So if a Hexblade were to cast Fireball on their Cursed target, the target would take one single additional damage of the Hexblade's Charisma modifier. Similarly, if multiple bolts of Magic Missile were to hit a Cursed Target, it's still technically a single Damage Roll, thus it only adds a single instance of the Hexblade's Charisma modifier regardless of how many bolts are fired at the Cursed Target.
I hope I'm interpreting that correctly, but I believe that's how it's meant to work based on the discussion we've been having.
so a level 17 evocation wizard + lvl 1 hexblade warlock can use hexblades curse on someone, and as long as at least 1 missile hit that target they deal 13-15 dmg per missile. making a 9th lvl magic missile deal as much dmg as an average meteorswarm??? (about 120)
if it is only on roll (when hitting/targeting more than 2 enemies) as some here have stated... How would hexblades curse then apply? it states that it add prof. bonus to the damage roll when hitting the cursed target.
I might be a little off here so excuse me if this isn't totally accurate, but what I'm picking up on, RAW, is that MM is almost like an AOE spell where the caster is simply allowed to disperse the individual instances of damage however they want. So if a Hexblade were to cast Fireball on their Cursed target, the target would take one single additional damage of the Hexblade's Charisma modifier. Similarly, if multiple bolts of Magic Missile were to hit a Cursed Target, it's still technically a single Damage Roll, thus it only adds a single instance of the Hexblade's Charisma modifier regardless of how many bolts are fired at the Cursed Target.
I hope I'm interpreting that correctly, but I believe that's how it's meant to work based on the discussion we've been having.
so a level 17 evocation wizard + lvl 1 hexblade warlock can use hexblades curse on someone, and as long as at least 1 missile hit that target they deal 13-15 dmg per missile. making a 9th lvl magic missile deal as much dmg as an average meteorswarm??? (about 120)
Sorry, no, I was trying to say the opposite of that... I think I wasn't very clear. The bonus applied from Hexblade's Curse only applies a single time, regardless of how many darts the target gets hit by. So in the situation with a high level Evocation Wizard/Hexblade multiclass targeting all the darts of Magic Missile at a single target, they would only roll Max damage on the d4+1 force damage if they were casting at 5th level or lower, plus a single instance of their INT mod, plus a single instance of their Proficiency modifier. So it ends up being 5x7 +6 +5, or simply 46 flat damage. If they do cast at 9th level they'll still need to roll their d4 to determine damage dealt, but even if they roll a 4 it still only adds up to 71 Force Damage. That's a lot of damage that ignores AC and Saving Throws, but it's not nearly as devastating as it sounded like when those class features seemed like they would apply to every single dart.
Sorry, no, I was trying to say the opposite of that... I think I wasn't very clear. The bonus applied from Hexblade's Curse only applies a single time, regardless of how many darts the target gets hit by. So in the situation with a high level Evocation Wizard/Hexblade multiclass targeting all the darts of Magic Missile at a single target, they would only roll Max damage on the d4+1 force damage if they were casting at 5th level or lower, plus a single instance of their INT mod, plus a single instance of their Proficiency modifier. So it ends up being 5x7 +6 +5, or simply 46 flat damage. If they do cast at 9th level they'll still need to roll their d4 to determine damage dealt, but even if they roll a 4 it still only adds up to 71 Force Damage. That's a lot of damage that ignores AC and Saving Throws, but it's not nearly as devastating as it sounded like when those class features seemed like they would apply to every single dart.
I'm pretty sure Hexblade's Curse applies to every damage roll, it doesn't just apply to the first one.
Pretty sure it just says something like "You gain a bonus to damage rolls" not "you gain a bonus to the first damage roll you make a turn".
So no matter how you rule Magic Missile Hexblade's Curse applies to all missiles, if you rule as separate rolls, still applies to each damage roll. Rule as a single damage roll, still applies to all missiles.
Same with overchannel. Obviously Empowered Evocation depends if you rule Magic Missile has one damage roll or several (RAW is yes it would apply to all missile, rules as balanced is screaming no).
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
if I edit a message, most of the time it's because of grammar. The rest of the time I'll put "Edit:" at the bottom.
Sorry, no, I was trying to say the opposite of that... I think I wasn't very clear. The bonus applied from Hexblade's Curse only applies a single time, regardless of how many darts the target gets hit by. So in the situation with a high level Evocation Wizard/Hexblade multiclass targeting all the darts of Magic Missile at a single target, they would only roll Max damage on the d4+1 force damage if they were casting at 5th level or lower, plus a single instance of their INT mod, plus a single instance of their Proficiency modifier. So it ends up being 5x7 +6 +5, or simply 46 flat damage. If they do cast at 9th level they'll still need to roll their d4 to determine damage dealt, but even if they roll a 4 it still only adds up to 71 Force Damage. That's a lot of damage that ignores AC and Saving Throws, but it's not nearly as devastating as it sounded like when those class features seemed like they would apply to every single dart.
I'm pretty sure Hexblade's Curse applies to every damage roll, it doesn't just apply to the first one.
Pretty sure it just says something like "You gain a bonus to damage rolls" not "you gain a bonus to the first damage roll you make a turn".
So no matter how you rule Magic Missile Hexblade's Curse applies to all missiles, if you rule as separate rolls, still applies to each damage roll. Rule as a single damage roll, still applies to all missiles.
Same with overchannel. Obviously Empowered Evocation depends if you rule Magic Missile has one damage roll or several (RAW is yes it would apply to all missile, rules as balanced is screaming no).
Hexblades curse: You gain a bonus to damage rolls against the cursed target. The bonus equals your proficiency bonus.
no matter what it applies to all missiles hitting the target the question is does it also apply to all other targets?
Empowered Evocation
Beginning at 10th level, you can add your Intelligence modifier to onedamage roll of any wizard evocation spell you cast.
if it is only on roll (when hitting/targeting more than 2 enemies) as some here have stated... How would hexblades curse then apply? it states that it add prof. bonus to the damage roll when hitting the cursed target.
I might be a little off here so excuse me if this isn't totally accurate, but what I'm picking up on, RAW, is that MM is almost like an AOE spell where the caster is simply allowed to disperse the individual instances of damage however they want. So if a Hexblade were to cast Fireball on their Cursed target, the target would take one single additional damage of the Hexblade's Charisma modifier. Similarly, if multiple bolts of Magic Missile were to hit a Cursed Target, it's still technically a single Damage Roll, thus it only adds a single instance of the Hexblade's Charisma modifier regardless of how many bolts are fired at the Cursed Target.
I hope I'm interpreting that correctly, but I believe that's how it's meant to work based on the discussion we've been having.
so a level 17 evocation wizard + lvl 1 hexblade warlock can use hexblades curse on someone, and as long as at least 1 missile hit that target they deal 13-15 dmg per missile. making a 9th lvl magic missile deal as much dmg as an average meteorswarm??? (about 120)
Sorry, no, I was trying to say the opposite of that... I think I wasn't very clear. The bonus applied from Hexblade's Curse only applies a single time, regardless of how many darts the target gets hit by. So in the situation with a high level Evocation Wizard/Hexblade multiclass targeting all the darts of Magic Missile at a single target, they would only roll Max damage on the d4+1 force damage if they were casting at 5th level or lower, plus a single instance of their INT mod, plus a single instance of their Proficiency modifier. So it ends up being 5x7 +6 +5, or simply 46 flat damage. If they do cast at 9th level they'll still need to roll their d4 to determine damage dealt, but even if they roll a 4 it still only adds up to 71 Force Damage. That's a lot of damage that ignores AC and Saving Throws, but it's not nearly as devastating as it sounded like when those class features seemed like they would apply to every single dart.
but people in this tread is arguing that there is only 1 roll that would mean that the int and the proficiency modifier is applied to EVERY missile no matter what....
Hexblades curse: You gain a bonus to damage rolls against the cursed target. The bonus equals your proficiency bonus.
no matter what it applies to all missiles hitting the target the question is does it also apply to all other targets?
Empowered Evocation
Beginning at 10th level, you can add your Intelligence modifier to onedamage roll of any wizard evocation spell you cast.
now does that apply to 1 missile or all?
Well then, for Empowered Evocation: "Obviously Empowered Evocation depends if you rule Magic Missile has one damage roll or several (RAW is yes it would apply to all missile, rules as balanced is screaming no)."
Same for Hexblade's Curse, although I'm thinking it's a little more iffy cause Empowered Evocation applies a bonus to any (one) damage roll, while Hexblade's Curse applies a bonus to only rolls towards a single target... but at the same time I can't think of anything to back that up. Pretty sure both of these apply to AoEs as well, not just Magic Missile.
Again, yeah wouldn't allow this to happen at my table. (I roll separately for Magic Missile and I say Hexblade's Curse applies to only that one target regardless of the rules)
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
if I edit a message, most of the time it's because of grammar. The rest of the time I'll put "Edit:" at the bottom.
Hexblade's Curse works the same regardless of how many dice you roll - every missile adds your proficiency bonus to its damage.
For Empowered Evocation, we already covered this, but somehow this thread continues, so I'll recap:
There are 3 meaningfully different ways to cast Magic Missile. Here is their RAW:
All of your target creatures are targeted by the same number of missiles, and the number of target creatures is 1. RAW, you roll multiple dice equal to the number of missiles per target, because no rule says otherwise (the rule on p196 of the PHB does not apply), and that's how damage works.
All of your target creatures are targeted by the same number of missiles, and the number of target creatures is more than 1. RAW, you roll "damage once" for all creatures (page 196, PHB), but since multiple dice equal to the number of missiles per target suffices, and no rule says otherwise, that's what you should do, since that's how damage works. Note that damage once does not mean one die (see e.g. Fireball, where you roll multiple dice for one damage roll, which p196 always applies to), it means you roll the amount for one target and apply it to all of them.
Not all target creatures are targeted by the same number of missiles (which by definition means you have at least two targets). The RAW is physically impossible to obey - you must roll once for all targets, but no possible roll is valid for all targets. You have entered a rules paradox. Ask your DM for help.
So Empowered Evocation applies to any one target if you're in scenario 1 or 2, above. In scenario 3, well, you need a house rule, because there's no way to follow the RAW.
Your confusing Empowered Evocation with Hexblade's Curse. Hexblade's Curse is one that makes it so no possible roll is valid for all targets.
Empowered Evocation has no such wording. It just adds damage to a single damage roll and has no statements on who can take that damage. If you cast a AoE then the added damage would apply to everyone involved. Hexblade's Curse on the other hand states that the added damage can only be done to the cursed target, which has the awkward bit of "no possible roll is valid for all targets" which you talked about.
Warlocky McWarlockFace (who has a proficiency bonus of +4) has used Hexblade's Curse on Fighty McFightFace. Warlocky casts a level 1 magic missile spell, directing 2 missiles at FIghty and one at Roguey McRogueFace
If you roll one d4: Warlocky's player rolls 1d4 and gets 3. Fighty takes 3 (first bolt) + 3 (second bolt) + 4 (curse) = 10 force damage. Roguey takes 3 force damage.
If you roll multiple d4s: Fighty takes 2d4 + 4 force damage and Roguey takes 1d4 force damage.
Just because Warlocky took 2 die rolls of damage doesn't mean that the curse damage is applied twice. After all, if Warlocky hit Fighty with a greatsword, the damage would 2d6 + 4, not 1d6 + 4 + 1d6 + 4.
Warlocky McWarlockFace (who has a proficiency bonus of +4) has used Hexblade's Curse on Fighty McFightFace. Warlocky casts a level 1 magic missile spell, directing 2 missiles at FIghty and one at Roguey McRogueFace
If you roll one d4: Warlocky's player rolls 1d4 and gets 3. Fighty takes 3 (first bolt) + 3 (second bolt) + 4 (curse) = 10 force damage. Roguey takes 3 force damage.
If you roll multiple d4s: Fighty takes 2d4 + 4 force damage and Roguey takes 1d4 force damage.
Just because Warlocky took 2 die rolls of damage doesn't mean that the curse damage is applied twice. After all, if Warlocky hit Fighty with a greatsword, the damage would 2d6 + 4, not 1d6 + 4 + 1d6 + 4.
If warlocky hit fighty twice with a greatsword, the damage would be 2d6+4 both times. Similarly, if warlocky hit a fighty twice with magic missile, the damage is 1d4+1+4 (MM damage is d4+1) both times, whether you roll the damage once or separately.
Hexblade's Curse adds to damage rolls and says nothing about attack, so the bonus is applied to the three magic missiles.
Hexblade’s CurseXGtE, pg. 55
Once per short rest, as a bonus action, choose one creature you can see within 30 ft. to curse it for 1 minute (or until the target dies, you die, or you are incapacitated). Against the cursed target, you gain a +2 bonus to damage rolls, score a critical hit on a roll of 19 or 20, and you regain 4 HP if it dies.
Another thread I was in got nearly derailed by a discussion about Magic Missile, and I've got a few questions about the spell and how it works, or at least, how you all choose to play, since I kind of feel like it's mostly a personal decision, since the difference between the options doesn't have a major impact on gameplay.
As the poll posits, do you roll once and apply that same damage to each dart of magic missile, or do you roll separately for the damage of each dart? In my own games we always rolled for each different dart... it wasn't really a conscious decision,that was just how my friends and I thought the spell was supposed to work. It wasn't until I got into Adventurer's League that I realized there was any debate on the subject.
Also, as a bit of a side... how do you treat magic missile in regards to spells and abilities that deals extra damage or tacks on other effects to the spell? I can see some people trying to use Hex with Magic Missile, although Hex specifically ties to an attack roll, and there's no attack involved with Magic Missile. But something like a goblin's Fury of the Small can be tied to either an Attack, or just any "damage" from a "spell". There's probably more things that could be potentially attached to Magic Missile, but I'm not familiar with more off the top of my head.
Magic Missile is a really unique spell, since it's one of an extremely small number of spells that has no saving throw or attack roll tied to it. I'd be curious to see if anyone has any interesting RAW tactics that would apply to the spell.
Unless they changed the wording of Hex since this post, Hex doesn't specify an attack roll. It just specifies hitting.
Hex says; "You place a curse on a creature that you can see within range. Until the spell ends, you deal an extra 1d6 necrotic damage to the target whenever you hit it with an attack." MM says; "You create three glowing darts of magical force. Each dart hits a creature of your choice that you can see within range."
RAW Hex's 1d6 necrotic would apply to MM as well as it is an attack that hits. It just hits automatically.
You not only need to hit for hex to take effect, but you must hit with an attack. That is the part that makes MM not work with hex, as MM doesn’t make an attack.
You not only need to hit for hex to take effect, but you must hit with an attack. That is the part that makes MM not work with hex, as MM doesn’t make an attack.
The common use language of the word "attack" includes MM. if you cast MM at someone, killed them, and then tried to argue in court you never attacked them, you'd still get locked up.
5e uses plain English. So unless there is black and white text that specifically says MM isn't an attack, then it is one. Because if you launch darts of force at someone, by any reasonable common English usage of the word, you have absolutely "attacked" them.
Hex cares if you "hit" them.
Edit/PS: Strictly speaking, magic missile only says one of the darts does damage.
It is apparently so hard to program Aberrant Mind and Clockwork Soul spell-swapping into dndbeyond they had to remake the game without it rather than implement it.
As WolfOfTheBees stated, an attack as defined by the rules requires an attack roll to be made:
If there's ever any question whether something you're doing counts as an attack, the rule is simple: if you're making an attack roll, you're making an attack.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
How I'm posting based on text formatting: Mod Hat On - Mod Hat Off
As WolfOfTheBees stated, an attack as defined by the rules requires an attack roll to be made:
If there's ever any question whether something you're doing counts as an attack, the rule is simple: if you're making an attack roll, you're making an attack.
That is inclusive wording, not exclusive wording. That says that if you are doing an attack roll, then you for sure are doing an attack. It doesn't say that only that is an attack. Besides, it shouldn't even be a question that launching darts of energy that hits someone is... an attack.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
I'm probably laughing.
It is apparently so hard to program Aberrant Mind and Clockwork Soul spell-swapping into dndbeyond they had to remake the game without it rather than implement it.
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
if it is only on roll (when hitting/targeting more than 2 enemies) as some here have stated...
How would hexblades curse then apply?
it states that it add prof. bonus to the damage roll when hitting the cursed target.
I might be a little off here so excuse me if this isn't totally accurate, but what I'm picking up on, RAW, is that MM is almost like an AOE spell where the caster is simply allowed to disperse the individual instances of damage however they want. So if a Hexblade were to cast Fireball on their Cursed target, the target would take one single additional damage of the Hexblade's Charisma modifier. Similarly, if multiple bolts of Magic Missile were to hit a Cursed Target, it's still technically a single Damage Roll, thus it only adds a single instance of the Hexblade's Charisma modifier regardless of how many bolts are fired at the Cursed Target.
I hope I'm interpreting that correctly, but I believe that's how it's meant to work based on the discussion we've been having.
Watch Crits for Breakfast, an adults-only RP-Heavy Roll20 Livestream at twitch.tv/afterdisbooty
And now you too can play with the amazing art and assets we use in Roll20 for our campaign at Hazel's Emporium
It dies not matter if you roll a die or dice. It seems to me that it is a matter of personal preference or Dungeon Master decision. It could be a matter of personalization of the Magic User's use of arcane force.
so a level 17 evocation wizard + lvl 1 hexblade warlock can use hexblades curse on someone, and as long as at least 1 missile hit that target they deal 13-15 dmg per missile.
making a 9th lvl magic missile deal as much dmg as an average meteorswarm??? (about 120)
Sorry, no, I was trying to say the opposite of that... I think I wasn't very clear. The bonus applied from Hexblade's Curse only applies a single time, regardless of how many darts the target gets hit by. So in the situation with a high level Evocation Wizard/Hexblade multiclass targeting all the darts of Magic Missile at a single target, they would only roll Max damage on the d4+1 force damage if they were casting at 5th level or lower, plus a single instance of their INT mod, plus a single instance of their Proficiency modifier. So it ends up being 5x7 +6 +5, or simply 46 flat damage. If they do cast at 9th level they'll still need to roll their d4 to determine damage dealt, but even if they roll a 4 it still only adds up to 71 Force Damage. That's a lot of damage that ignores AC and Saving Throws, but it's not nearly as devastating as it sounded like when those class features seemed like they would apply to every single dart.
Watch Crits for Breakfast, an adults-only RP-Heavy Roll20 Livestream at twitch.tv/afterdisbooty
And now you too can play with the amazing art and assets we use in Roll20 for our campaign at Hazel's Emporium
I'm pretty sure Hexblade's Curse applies to every damage roll, it doesn't just apply to the first one.
Pretty sure it just says something like "You gain a bonus to damage rolls" not "you gain a bonus to the first damage roll you make a turn".
So no matter how you rule Magic Missile Hexblade's Curse applies to all missiles, if you rule as separate rolls, still applies to each damage roll. Rule as a single damage roll, still applies to all missiles.
Same with overchannel. Obviously Empowered Evocation depends if you rule Magic Missile has one damage roll or several (RAW is yes it would apply to all missile, rules as balanced is screaming no).
if I edit a message, most of the time it's because of grammar. The rest of the time I'll put "Edit:" at the bottom.
Hexblades curse:
You gain a bonus to damage rolls against the cursed target. The bonus equals your proficiency bonus.
no matter what it applies to all missiles hitting the target the question is does it also apply to all other targets?
Empowered Evocation
Beginning at 10th level, you can add your Intelligence modifier to one damage roll of any wizard evocation spell you cast.
now does that apply to 1 missile or all?
but people in this tread is arguing that there is only 1 roll that would mean that the int and the proficiency modifier is applied to EVERY missile no matter what....
Well then, for Empowered Evocation: "Obviously Empowered Evocation depends if you rule Magic Missile has one damage roll or several (RAW is yes it would apply to all missile, rules as balanced is screaming no)."
Same for Hexblade's Curse, although I'm thinking it's a little more iffy cause Empowered Evocation applies a bonus to any (one) damage roll, while Hexblade's Curse applies a bonus to only rolls towards a single target... but at the same time I can't think of anything to back that up. Pretty sure both of these apply to AoEs as well, not just Magic Missile.
Again, yeah wouldn't allow this to happen at my table. (I roll separately for Magic Missile and I say Hexblade's Curse applies to only that one target regardless of the rules)
if I edit a message, most of the time it's because of grammar. The rest of the time I'll put "Edit:" at the bottom.
Hexblade's Curse works the same regardless of how many dice you roll - every missile adds your proficiency bonus to its damage.
For Empowered Evocation, we already covered this, but somehow this thread continues, so I'll recap:
There are 3 meaningfully different ways to cast Magic Missile. Here is their RAW:
So Empowered Evocation applies to any one target if you're in scenario 1 or 2, above. In scenario 3, well, you need a house rule, because there's no way to follow the RAW.
Your confusing Empowered Evocation with Hexblade's Curse. Hexblade's Curse is one that makes it so no possible roll is valid for all targets.
Empowered Evocation has no such wording. It just adds damage to a single damage roll and has no statements on who can take that damage. If you cast a AoE then the added damage would apply to everyone involved. Hexblade's Curse on the other hand states that the added damage can only be done to the cursed target, which has the awkward bit of "no possible roll is valid for all targets" which you talked about.
But yeah other than that fully agree.
if I edit a message, most of the time it's because of grammar. The rest of the time I'll put "Edit:" at the bottom.
The way I read it is:
Warlocky McWarlockFace (who has a proficiency bonus of +4) has used Hexblade's Curse on Fighty McFightFace. Warlocky casts a level 1 magic missile spell, directing 2 missiles at FIghty and one at Roguey McRogueFace
If you roll one d4: Warlocky's player rolls 1d4 and gets 3. Fighty takes 3 (first bolt) + 3 (second bolt) + 4 (curse) = 10 force damage. Roguey takes 3 force damage.
If you roll multiple d4s: Fighty takes 2d4 + 4 force damage and Roguey takes 1d4 force damage.
Just because Warlocky took 2 die rolls of damage doesn't mean that the curse damage is applied twice. After all, if Warlocky hit Fighty with a greatsword, the damage would 2d6 + 4, not 1d6 + 4 + 1d6 + 4.
If warlocky hit fighty twice with a greatsword, the damage would be 2d6+4 both times. Similarly, if warlocky hit a fighty twice with magic missile, the damage is 1d4+1+4 (MM damage is d4+1) both times, whether you roll the damage once or separately.
Hexblade's Curse adds to damage rolls and says nothing about attack, so the bonus is applied to the three magic missiles.
Once per short rest, as a bonus action, choose one creature you can see within 30 ft. to curse it for 1 minute (or until the target dies, you die, or you are incapacitated). Against the cursed target, you gain a +2 bonus to damage rolls, score a critical hit on a roll of 19 or 20, and you regain 4 HP if it dies.
Unless they changed the wording of Hex since this post, Hex doesn't specify an attack roll. It just specifies hitting.
necrotic damage to the target whenever you hit it with an attack."
Hex says; "You place a curse on a creature that you can see within range. Until the spell ends, you deal an extra 1d6
MM says; "You create three glowing darts of magical force. Each dart hits a creature of your choice that you can see within range."
RAW Hex's 1d6 necrotic would apply to MM as well as it is an attack that hits. It just hits automatically.
You not only need to hit for hex to take effect, but you must hit with an attack. That is the part that makes MM not work with hex, as MM doesn’t make an attack.
The common use language of the word "attack" includes MM. if you cast MM at someone, killed them, and then tried to argue in court you never attacked them, you'd still get locked up.
5e uses plain English. So unless there is black and white text that specifically says MM isn't an attack, then it is one. Because if you launch darts of force at someone, by any reasonable common English usage of the word, you have absolutely "attacked" them.
Hex cares if you "hit" them.
Edit/PS: Strictly speaking, magic missile only says one of the darts does damage.
I'm probably laughing.
It is apparently so hard to program Aberrant Mind and Clockwork Soul spell-swapping into dndbeyond they had to remake the game without it rather than implement it.
The common language might, but D&D 5E doesn’t. An attack is something that makes an attack roll.
As WolfOfTheBees stated, an attack as defined by the rules requires an attack roll to be made:
Homebrew Rules || Homebrew FAQ || Snippet Codes || Tooltips
DDB Guides & FAQs, Class Guides, Character Builds, Game Guides, Useful Websites, and WOTC Resources
That is inclusive wording, not exclusive wording. That says that if you are doing an attack roll, then you for sure are doing an attack. It doesn't say that only that is an attack. Besides, it shouldn't even be a question that launching darts of energy that hits someone is... an attack.
I'm probably laughing.
It is apparently so hard to program Aberrant Mind and Clockwork Soul spell-swapping into dndbeyond they had to remake the game without it rather than implement it.