Generally a player gets one action. The action may be to attack, cast a spell (or cantrip), disengage, dash, drink a potion, and a few other things. There is a great graphic that explains the whole thing. The second attack allowed by a players action is only available if you first take the attack action, and then you may attack a second time.
If a player is holding a second weapon in their off hand, under some conditions depending on the feats the player has, they may also attack as their bonus action within the rules of two weapon fighting (TWF).
My party often gets their options confused. After we reached level five where many classes obtain their "second attack", our rogue wished to cast a spell and then attack in the same round. I had to explain that once you choose the Cast action, you are not going to attack with a melee weapon on that turn unless you are allowed as a reaction.
Action economy is difficult to sort out, but I am getting better at it. I hope I stumble across the graphic that shows the options and the flow of things.
I believe the major components of a players round include: Move, Action, Bonus Action, Reaction and Interact with an Object.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
Cum catapultae proscriptae erunt tum soli proscript catapultas habebunt
The way I look at it is thus: You get one Action, one Bonus Action, and one Reaction per round. You can choose any one thing that fits in each slot, but for the rest of the round, that action is active in that slot, no matter how many times it is triggered. This is most clearly represented by the Dodge action (and the least likely to be argued). When you choose to dodge, you are dodging every attack that comes at you that round, not just the first one. You are not taking multiple dodge actions, it is one selection to dodge everything for that round.
If you have an off-and weapon, and you have multiple attacks with your Attack action, then for every attack you make, you can make another attack with your off-hand weapon. This is not making another bonus action, it is a multiple trigger of the same bonus action. The bonus action is to "use the offhand weapon" when attacking for that round, instead of doing other bonus actions like the rogues disengage bonus action.
By the same token, if you select disengage as your bonus action (as a rogue) then you are disengaging for the entire round, no matter how many creatures you pass in your movement.
If you select "opportunity attack" as your reaction, then you are giving up your opportunity for other reactions like warding maneuvers, but you may continue to opportunity attack everything that triggers it for the rest of that round. "Opportunity attack" is what you have selected to do for the remainder of that round. It is one choice as a reaction, triggered multiple times.
Likewise, if you are a Monk and use your bonus action to spend a Ki and do "Flurry of Blows," then you continue to Flurry for the remainder of that round, against anything that triggers another attack (i.e. opportunity attacks). Just like attacking with an off-hand weapon, any attack that you make triggers the bonus action, and you continue to flurry without having to spend another Ki for the remainder of that round.
There may be people who would argue about this, it is fully supported by all of the new material (new classes and features) that have come out, which supports viewing the actions as a slot filled by an action type for the entire round, rather than multiple triggers translating into "multiple actions."
If you choose a warding reaction, you continue to ward everything around you until the beginning of your next turn, wherever it applies. If you are a Warcaster and cast a cantrip as an opportunity attack, you can continue to cast them at anything that triggers another opportunity attack for the rest of that round. "Opportunity attack" is what you have chosen as your reaction for the entire round. Obviously you wouldn't want to burn your spell slots for this, but cantrips would work fine.
Basically, you choose what to use in each slot, and you continue to use it in that slot as often as it applies for the remainder of the turn. As long as you don't try to use another action type in that same slot in the same turn, then it is fine to continue using the same action as long as it occurs. Some actions have restrictions, like spell casting... to cast multiple spells, your main action can only be a cantrip if your bonus action is a bonus action spell. However, a reaction spell (as a Warcaster) can be either an action spell or an action cantrip, and can be cast multiple times if triggered.
With regard to extra attacks, you can think of it as multiple triggers for the attack action, and so you only use one action "Attack" but it is triggered multiple times, up to the limit of your number of attacks. Since you can move in between each attack, this makes maneuvers like the Ranger's Whirlwind attack very effective. If they have Two Weapon Fighting Style, have Longstrider active, (and perhaps the Mobile feat), then they can continue to move and attack twice on each opponent up to half of their movement with their first attack (bonus action with second weapon) and then spin back the other way to hit them all twice again with their second action. Mobility means that they do not provoke opportunity attacks from anything that they attack that round (whether they hit or miss), so they can move freely through the battle line, and if they have "Guardian of Nature" spell going also, then they are doing 2 dice + full bonuses with each hit and and making 4 hits on every creature in their 60 movement range... two hits going out and 2 hits coming back.
I had a question similar to his: under the new rules for monks, they are no longer restricted in having to do their attack action(s) before they can do their unarmed bonus action. Now that may not matter when it comes to my questions:
1) The rules say you can take one Bonus action with another action, such as Dash. Does that apply to classes who get multiple bonus action attacks like the Monk?
2) Also would said Monk also be able to Dodge and take a bonus action attack?
I know things are up to a DM, but I am asking RAW or if there is a general consensus.
I had a question similar to his: under the new rules for monks, they are no longer restricted in having to do their attack action(s) before they can do their unarmed bonus action. Now that may not matter when it comes to my questions:
1) The rules say you can take one Bonus action with another action, such as Dash. Does that apply to classes who get multiple bonus action attacks like the Monk?
2) Also would said Monk also be able to Dodge and take a bonus action attack?
I know things are up to a DM, but I am asking RAW or if there is a general consensus.
You don't get multiple Bonus Attacks. You can have multiple options for your Bonus Action, but you can only perform one Bonus Action.
I haven't read the UA rules for Monks, but for 5e, you have to take the Attack Action in order to get the Bonus Action option of doing an Unarmed Strike as your Bonus Action.
So with that, perhaps it answers question 1. It definitely answers question 2 though - if you take the Dash Action, then you don't qualify for the unarmed strike as a Bonus Action as part of the Martial Arts feature.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
If you're not willing or able to to discuss in good faith, then don't be surprised if I don't respond, there are better things in life for me to do than humour you. This signature is that response.
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
Does the character fighter in lv5 can make 2 actions per turn? example, 1st action dash, 2nd attack and extra attack
No, any character with Extra Attack gets one action. If they pick Attack for their action, they get an extra one.
Generally a player gets one action. The action may be to attack, cast a spell (or cantrip), disengage, dash, drink a potion, and a few other things. There is a great graphic that explains the whole thing. The second attack allowed by a players action is only available if you first take the attack action, and then you may attack a second time.
If a player is holding a second weapon in their off hand, under some conditions depending on the feats the player has, they may also attack as their bonus action within the rules of two weapon fighting (TWF).
My party often gets their options confused. After we reached level five where many classes obtain their "second attack", our rogue wished to cast a spell and then attack in the same round. I had to explain that once you choose the Cast action, you are not going to attack with a melee weapon on that turn unless you are allowed as a reaction.
Action economy is difficult to sort out, but I am getting better at it. I hope I stumble across the graphic that shows the options and the flow of things.
I believe the major components of a players round include: Move, Action, Bonus Action, Reaction and Interact with an Object.
Cum catapultae proscriptae erunt tum soli proscript catapultas habebunt
The way I look at it is thus: You get one Action, one Bonus Action, and one Reaction per round. You can choose any one thing that fits in each slot, but for the rest of the round, that action is active in that slot, no matter how many times it is triggered. This is most clearly represented by the Dodge action (and the least likely to be argued). When you choose to dodge, you are dodging every attack that comes at you that round, not just the first one. You are not taking multiple dodge actions, it is one selection to dodge everything for that round.
If you have an off-and weapon, and you have multiple attacks with your Attack action, then for every attack you make, you can make another attack with your off-hand weapon. This is not making another bonus action, it is a multiple trigger of the same bonus action. The bonus action is to "use the offhand weapon" when attacking for that round, instead of doing other bonus actions like the rogues disengage bonus action.
By the same token, if you select disengage as your bonus action (as a rogue) then you are disengaging for the entire round, no matter how many creatures you pass in your movement.
If you select "opportunity attack" as your reaction, then you are giving up your opportunity for other reactions like warding maneuvers, but you may continue to opportunity attack everything that triggers it for the rest of that round. "Opportunity attack" is what you have selected to do for the remainder of that round. It is one choice as a reaction, triggered multiple times.
Likewise, if you are a Monk and use your bonus action to spend a Ki and do "Flurry of Blows," then you continue to Flurry for the remainder of that round, against anything that triggers another attack (i.e. opportunity attacks). Just like attacking with an off-hand weapon, any attack that you make triggers the bonus action, and you continue to flurry without having to spend another Ki for the remainder of that round.
There may be people who would argue about this, it is fully supported by all of the new material (new classes and features) that have come out, which supports viewing the actions as a slot filled by an action type for the entire round, rather than multiple triggers translating into "multiple actions."
If you choose a warding reaction, you continue to ward everything around you until the beginning of your next turn, wherever it applies. If you are a Warcaster and cast a cantrip as an opportunity attack, you can continue to cast them at anything that triggers another opportunity attack for the rest of that round. "Opportunity attack" is what you have chosen as your reaction for the entire round. Obviously you wouldn't want to burn your spell slots for this, but cantrips would work fine.
Basically, you choose what to use in each slot, and you continue to use it in that slot as often as it applies for the remainder of the turn. As long as you don't try to use another action type in that same slot in the same turn, then it is fine to continue using the same action as long as it occurs. Some actions have restrictions, like spell casting... to cast multiple spells, your main action can only be a cantrip if your bonus action is a bonus action spell. However, a reaction spell (as a Warcaster) can be either an action spell or an action cantrip, and can be cast multiple times if triggered.
With regard to extra attacks, you can think of it as multiple triggers for the attack action, and so you only use one action "Attack" but it is triggered multiple times, up to the limit of your number of attacks. Since you can move in between each attack, this makes maneuvers like the Ranger's Whirlwind attack very effective. If they have Two Weapon Fighting Style, have Longstrider active, (and perhaps the Mobile feat), then they can continue to move and attack twice on each opponent up to half of their movement with their first attack (bonus action with second weapon) and then spin back the other way to hit them all twice again with their second action. Mobility means that they do not provoke opportunity attacks from anything that they attack that round (whether they hit or miss), so they can move freely through the battle line, and if they have "Guardian of Nature" spell going also, then they are doing 2 dice + full bonuses with each hit and and making 4 hits on every creature in their 60 movement range... two hits going out and 2 hits coming back.
I had a question similar to his: under the new rules for monks, they are no longer restricted in having to do their attack action(s) before they can do their unarmed bonus action. Now that may not matter when it comes to my questions:
1) The rules say you can take one Bonus action with another action, such as Dash. Does that apply to classes who get multiple bonus action attacks like the Monk?
2) Also would said Monk also be able to Dodge and take a bonus action attack?
I know things are up to a DM, but I am asking RAW or if there is a general consensus.
You don't get multiple Bonus Attacks. You can have multiple options for your Bonus Action, but you can only perform one Bonus Action.
I haven't read the UA rules for Monks, but for 5e, you have to take the Attack Action in order to get the Bonus Action option of doing an Unarmed Strike as your Bonus Action.
So with that, perhaps it answers question 1. It definitely answers question 2 though - if you take the Dash Action, then you don't qualify for the unarmed strike as a Bonus Action as part of the Martial Arts feature.
If you're not willing or able to to discuss in good faith, then don't be surprised if I don't respond, there are better things in life for me to do than humour you. This signature is that response.