Your Constitution Saving throw is 0, it should be 2. All the skills and saving throws you are proficient in seem to be high. And your passive Perception is high as well. e.g. your perception skill is 6, it should be 5 (3 from your Wisdom mod and +2 from your proficiency mod). Unless I am missing something. Your passive Perception should be 10 + your perception to equal 15 (since your perception is currently high). Your proficient skills and saving throws should be your Stat modifier plus your proficiency modifier. It seems you added 3 instead of 2 to your trained skills.
- Registered Users
Member for 1 year, 6 months, and 30 days
Last active Wed, Oct, 31 2018 09:14:08
- 0 Followers
- 15 Total Posts
- 4 Thanks
Dec 11, 2017Posted in: Rules & Game Mechanics
In Volo's Guide to Monsters, there is a creature called a Korred. I was looking at its Innate Spellcasting trait and noticed that it can cast some spells "requiring no components." There are creatures in the Monster Manual that have Innate Spellcasting as well that state they can cast certain spells "requiring no material components." I looked at Volo's errata and haven't noticed a change in there.
My question is, Can the Korred cast it's Innate Spellcasting spells requiring no verbal, semantic, or material components? Or is it simply a misprint and meant to be that no material components are required when casting its innate spells?
Nov 29, 2017Posted in: Rules & Game Mechanics
My friend and I are currently having a conflict with how Charm Person works. The spell description states that the charmed creature regards the caster as a friendly acquaintance. Since the spell description also says that the spell ends if you or your companions do anything harmful to it, my friend believes that the creature under the effect of Charm Person regards the whole party as friendly acquaintances. But I see it as it only regards the caster as a friendly acquaintance and will attack the rest of the party since the rest of the party did not cast Charm Person on the target.
Nov 27, 2017Posted in: Unearthed Arcana
So I'm making a Revised Ranger at level 4 for a campaign my friends hosting. I've chosen the Beast Conclave. Under Companions Bond in the last paragraph it states "Your animal companion gains the benefits of your Favored Enemy feature, and of your Greater Favored Enemy feature when you gain that feature at 6th level. It uses the favored enemies you selected for those features."
When I look at the Favored Enemy it states "When you gain this feature, you also learn one language of your choice, typically one spoken by your favored enemy or creatures associated with it. However, you are free to pick any language you wish to learn."
Does this mean that my animal companion can speak a language?
Nov 17, 2017Posted in: Tips & Tactics
I'm DMing a game of Lost Mines of Phandelver with my friends and they don't really like it. They don't like how slow combat is, and how many combat encounters there are in LMOP. So I've decided to try another module but don't know which. Which WoTC adventure module is the most NPC interaction heavy. It doesn't have to be devoid of combat or anything, just more interaction focused as opposed to combat focused.
Nov 13, 2017Posted in: Rules & Game Mechanics
I have a house rule for this since the spell is already placed on a scroll.
1. If the spell is on the character's class spell list, and it is a level they can cast, they can cast it with no problems.
2. If the spell is on a character's class spell list, but is a higher level than they can cast, they can attempt to cast it by making an Arcana or Religion check (obviously corresponding to the type of spell it is) vs DC of 10 + the spell's level.
3. If the character is not a spell caster, they can attempt to cast the spell from the scroll with an Arcana or Religion check vs DC 10 + the spell's level with disadvantage. If the check fails, the spell fails and they must make a scroll mishap check as per the variant rule in the DMG. (DC 10 Int Save). On a failed save they roll on the mishap table in the DMG.
4. If the character is a spell caster, but the spell is not on their class spell list, they can attempt to cast the spell by making an Arcana or Religion check vs DC 10 + the spells level. If the check fails, the spell fails and they must make a scroll mishap check as per the variant rule in the DMG. (DC 10 Int Save). On a failed save they roll on the mishap table in the DMG.
Oct 14, 2017Posted in: Rules & Game Mechanics
So my DM is using sanity and madness in his campaign. If I cast Protection from Evil and Good on myself, would that make me immune to a creatures maddening effect if it was one of the types listed?
Sep 25, 2017Posted in: General Discussion
So I have this character I'm making. He is kind and polite to civilized races, such as elves, humans, dwarves. But to any race that would harm or are known to harm these civilized races, he will kill them. It doesn't matter to him if these evil races are children or elderly. He wants them gone from the world. I'm guessing he is chaotic, but I don't know where he is between the evil-good spectrum.
He's 47, and for the last 30ish years he has been a town guard. Every so often a monster would come in and kill a civilian or two. He took these deaths personally as he felt he failed his job. Then his best friend of 20 years, was killed by a werewolf. And he snapped. Now he sees anything evil as having no place in the world and wants them all eradicated. And he will do it himself. He isn't actively looking for them. But if he were to come across a settlement or camp. He would find some way to destroy it. He treats the civilized races with fairness, equality ,and kindness.
Sep 23, 2017HEATSEEKER911 posted a message on Can a Melee Weapon Ever Double as an Arcane Focus?Posted in: Rules & Game Mechanics
Also if they do have a weapon as a focus or have the focus in it, they need the War Caster feat.
Sep 22, 2017HEATSEEKER911 posted a message on Can a Melee Weapon Ever Double as an Arcane Focus?Posted in: Rules & Game Mechanics
I think it's a neat idea to have a weapon that can be used as an arcane focus. I always thought that the important thing about arcane focuses in these sort of discussions is if the focus is removable. I'd say it's important that an arcane focus has the ability to be taken away or disarmed. So thing's like magical tattoos I would regard as inappropriate. But you can disarm or remove a weapon, usually, from a character. Therefore a weapon that is a focus or has a focus attached to it is fine.
Sep 22, 2017Posted in: D&D Adventurers League
So I'm going to start playing AL and I made a wizard. I read the player's guide and a small portion of the dungeon master's guide. My question is, can I buy or keep gems? This is mostly in relation to the spell chromatic orb which requires a 50 gp diamond. The player's guide says I can buy equipment from the player's handbook and I believe the dungeon master's guide says that all gems and treasure are converted into gp for the party. I haven't come across anything saying that I can purchase those types of material components.
Sep 11, 2017Posted in: Rules & Game Mechanics
I use the rule that is used for Dungeons and Dragons Adventure League which states "A character who earns enough XP to advance a level does so at the end of a long rest or at the end of an episode or an adventure." The method of leveling up as soon as the XP crosses the level threshold or leveling during a short rest seems a tad bit game-breaking to me.
Sep 8, 2017Posted in: D&D Adventurers League
So my friend owns Volo's Guide to Monsters but I do not. If I wrote down the information I needed for a race into a notebook, could I play as that race even though I don't own the book? Or do I have to own the book in order to play a race out of it?
This is specifically for Adventures League. I didn't see any rules saying I needed to own the resource. However, I would like to know for sure.
- To post a comment, please login or register a new account.