Search Results
All Results
Characters
Compendium
Spells
Items
Monsters
Vehicles
Forums
Returning 35 results for 'creature can will'.
Other Suggestions:
creature can with
creature can wall
creature can while
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Sage Advice & Errata
Can a Blinded creature make an Opportunity Attack? An Opportunity Attack is triggered when a creature that you can see leaves your reach. If you can’t see an enemy, you can’t make an Opportunity
Magic Items
Dungeon Master’s Guide
or remove the Ersatz Eye as a Magic action, and it can’t be removed against your will while you are alive.
This magical eye replaces a real one that was lost or removed. While the Ersatz Eye is embedded in your eye socket, you can see through the tiny orb as though it were your natural eye. You can insert
Magic Items
Dungeon Master’s Guide
While wearing this armor, you gain a +2 bonus to Armor Class. In addition, if an effect moves you against your will along the ground, you can take a Reaction to reduce the distance you are moved by up to 10 feet.
Spells
Player’s Handbook
command any of them at the same time, issuing the same command to them). You decide what action the creature will take and where it will move on its next turn, or you can issue a general command, such as to
).
As a Bonus Action on each of your turns, you can mentally command any creature you animated with this spell if the creature is within 120 feet of you (if you control multiple creatures, you can
Spells
Player’s Handbook
at the same time, issuing the same command to each one). You decide what action the creature will take and where it will move on its next turn, or you can issue a general command, such as to guard a
turns, you can take a Bonus Action to mentally command any creature you made with this spell if the creature is within 60 feet of you (if you control multiple creatures, you can command any of them
Species
Player’s Handbook
ancestors’ great travels and travails. Inspired by those tales, many of those orcs wonder when Gruumsh will call on them to match the heroic deeds of old and if they will prove worthy of his favor
. Other orcs are happy to leave old tales in the past and find their own way.
Orc Traits
Creature Type: HumanoidSize: Medium (about 6–7 feet tall)Speed: 30 feet
Magic Items
Dungeon Master’s Guide
This magic item replaces a lost limb—a hand, an arm, a foot, a leg, or a similar body part. While the prosthetic is attached, it functions identically to the part it replaces. You can detach or reattach it as a Magic action, and it can’t be removed against your will while you are alive.
Spells
Player’s Handbook
You gain the ability to move or manipulate creatures or objects by thought. When you cast the spell and as a Magic action on your later turns before the spell ends, you can exert your will on one
creature or object that you can see within range, causing the appropriate effect below. You can affect the same target round after round or choose a new one at any time. If you switch targets, the prior
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Sage Advice & Errata
Can a creature that burrows grapple a target and drag them into the ground by burrowing? No. A burrowing creature can drag another creature with them only if they have the ability to leave a tunnel
. For example, a Purple Worm has the Tunneler trait, so it can drag a Grappled creature into a tunnel it creates when burrowing. Conversely, an Earth Elemental can’t drag a creature into the ground with it.
Spells
Player’s Handbook
another creature. Then speak the message, which must be 25 words or fewer, though it can be delivered over as long as 10 minutes. Finally, determine the circumstance that will trigger the spell to deliver
You implant a message within an object in range—a message that is uttered when a trigger condition is met. Choose an object that you can see and that isn’t being worn or carried by
Equipment
As a Utilize action, you can tie a knot with Rope if you succeed on a DC 10 Dexterity (Sleight of Hand) check. The Rope can be burst with a successful DC 20 Strength (Athletics) check.
You can bind
an unwilling creature with the Rope only if the creature has the Grappled, Incapacitated, or Restrained condition. If the creature’s legs are bound, the creature has the Restrained condition
Equipment
You can douse a creature, object, or space with Oil or use it as fuel, as detailed below.
Dousing a Creature or an Object. When you take the Attack action, you can replace one of your attacks with
damage to any creature that enters the area or ends its turn there. A creature can take this damage only once per turn.
Fuel. Oil serves as fuel for Lamps and Lanterns. Once lit, a flask of Oil
Equipment
, you must have a feature that lets you use it.
Topple. If you hit a creature with this weapon, you can force the creature to make a Constitution saving throw (DC 8 plus the ability modifier used to
make the attack roll and your Proficiency Bonus). On a failed save, the creature has the Prone condition.
Equipment
must have a feature that lets you use it.
Topple. If you hit a creature with this weapon, you can force the creature to make a Constitution saving throw (DC 8 plus the ability modifier used to make the attack roll and your Proficiency Bonus). On a failed save, the creature has the Prone condition.
Equipment
the save every 24 hours, taking 3 (1d6) Poison damage on a failed save. The damage the poison deals can’t be healed by any means while the creature remains Poisoned. After seven successful saves against the poison, the creature is no longer Poisoned.
Ingested Poison
A creature subjected to Pale Tincture must succeed on a DC 16 Constitution saving throw or take 3 (1d6) Poison damage and have the Poisoned condition. The Poisoned creature repeats
Net
Legacy
This doesn't reflect the latest rules and lore.
Learn More
Equipment
has no effect on creatures that are formless, or creatures that are Huge or larger. A creature can use its action to make a DC 10 Strength check, freeing itself or another creature within its reach on a
Proficiency with a net allows you to add your proficiency bonus to the attack roll for any attack you make with it.
A Large or smaller creature hit by a net is restrained until it is freed. A net
Equipment
must have a feature that lets you use it.
Cleave. If you hit a creature with a melee attack roll using this weapon, you can make a melee attack roll with the weapon against a second creature within 5
feet of the first that is also within your reach. On a hit, the second creature takes the weapon’s damage, but don’t add your ability modifier to that damage unless that modifier is negative. You can make this extra attack only once per turn.
Magic Items
Dungeon Master’s Guide
You have a +2 bonus to attack rolls and damage rolls made with this magic weapon.
While holding this weapon, you can cause it to emit green Dim Light out to 10 feet, either as a Bonus Action or
after you roll Initiative, or you can extinguish the light as a Bonus Action.
While holding this weapon, you can take a Bonus Action to alter its form, turning it into a 6-inch rod (for ease of storage
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Sage Advice & Errata
If a creature is Grappled, can it still attack and use its special abilities? The Grappled condition limits movement, not attacks, spellcasting, and the like. That said, many grappling abilities, such as a Giant Octopus’s Tentacles attack, also deliver effects like the Restrained condition.
Equipment
have a feature that lets you use it.
Topple. If you hit a creature with this weapon, you can force the creature to make a Constitution saving throw (DC 8 plus the ability modifier used to make the attack roll and your Proficiency Bonus). On a failed save, the creature has the Prone condition.
Equipment
must have a feature that lets you use it.
Topple. If you hit a creature with this weapon, you can force the creature to make a Constitution saving throw (DC 8 plus the ability modifier used to make the attack roll and your Proficiency Bonus). On a failed save, the creature has the Prone condition.
Equipment
A Healer’s Kit has ten uses. As a Utilize action, you can expend one of its uses to stabilize an Unconscious creature that has 0 Hit Points without needing to make a Wisdom (Medicine) check.
Equipment
As a Utilize action, you can use Manacles to bind an unwilling Small or Medium creature within 5 feet of yourself that has the Grappled, Incapacitated, or Restrained condition if you succeed on a DC
Manacles comes with a key. Without the key, a creature can use Thieves' Tools to pick the Manacles’ lock with a successful DC 15 Dexterity (Sleight of Hand) check.
Equipment
must have a feature that lets you use it.
Push. If you hit a creature with this weapon, you can push the creature up to 10 feet straight away from yourself if it is Large or smaller.
Equipment
Ingested Poison
A creature subjected to Truth Serum must succeed on a DC 11 Constitution saving throw or have the Poisoned condition for 1 hour. The Poisoned creature can’t knowingly communicate a lie.
Equipment
When you take the Attack action, you can replace one of your attacks with throwing a Net. Target a creature you can see within 15 feet of yourself. The target must succeed on a Dexterity saving throw
creature within 5 feet of it must take an action to make a DC 10 Strength (Athletics) check, freeing the Restrained creature on a success. Destroying the Net (AC 10; 5 HP; Immunity to Bludgeoning, Poison, and Psychic damage) also frees the target, ending the effect.
Species
Player’s Handbook
Created by the god Corellon, the first elves could change their forms at will. They lost this ability when Corellon cursed them for plotting with the deity Lolth, who tried and failed to usurp
to shape-shift at will, the elves retreated to the Feywild, where their sorrow was deepened by that plane’s influence. Over time, curiosity led many of them to explore other planes of existence
Equipment
When you take the Attack action, you can replace one of your attacks with throwing a flask of Alchemist’s Fire. Target one creature or object you can see within 20 feet of yourself. The target
Equipment
As a Utilize action, you can wrap a Chain around an unwilling creature within 5 feet of yourself that has the Grappled, Incapacitated, or Restrained condition if you succeed on a DC 13 Strength
(Athletics) check. If the creature’s legs are bound, the creature has the Restrained condition until it escapes. Escaping the Chain requires the creature to make a successful DC 18 Dexterity
Equipment
As a Utilize action, you can set a Hunting Trap, which is a sawtooth steel ring that snaps shut when a creature steps on a pressure plate in the center. The trap is affixed by a heavy chain to an
to 0 until the start of its next turn. Thereafter, until the creature breaks free of the trap, its movement is limited by the length of the chain (typically 3 feet). A creature can use its action to
Equipment
It’s up to you to decide whether a character has proficiency with a firearm. Characters in most D&D worlds wouldn’t have such proficiency. During their downtime, characters can use
following mastery property. To use this property, you must have a feature that lets you use it.
Vex. If you hit a creature with this weapon and deal damage to the creature, you have Advantage on your next attack roll against that creature before the end of your next turn.
Equipment
have a feature that lets you use it.
Push. If you hit a creature with this weapon, you can push the creature up to 10 feet straight away from yourself if it is Large or smaller.
Equipment
, you must have a feature that lets you use it.
Push. If you hit a creature with this weapon, you can push the creature up to 10 feet straight away from yourself if it is Large or smaller.
Equipment
must have a feature that lets you use it.
Graze. If your attack roll with this weapon misses a creature, you can deal damage to that creature equal to the ability modifier you used to make the
attack roll. This damage is the same type dealt by the weapon, and the damage can be increased only by increasing the ability modifier.
Equipment
must have a feature that lets you use it.
Graze. If your attack roll with this weapon misses a creature, you can deal damage to that creature equal to the ability modifier you used to make the attack
roll. This damage is the same type dealt by the weapon, and the damage can be increased only by increasing the ability modifier.






