You can't make opportunity attacks with ranged weapons.
I let my players do that so it's up to the dm in every case. My players like the rule although it backfires on them as any enemy can do the same when the situation is reversed.
Yes, but house rules aren't really helpful when someone wants to know what the actual RAW is.
If the hand axe is in your hand - you should be able to make a melee attack with it. However, if you don't have any form of two weapon fighting, the off hand attack would not use your Proficiency bonus. That's how I'd rule it. Now that said, shooting a pistol with one hand while holding a hand axe in the other, does seem odd. Hand axe in the belt, seems more likely (and used in case someone comes in Melee or run out of bullets).
I think this is incorrect. Nothing in the rules says you can’t have a weapon in each hand. Only that if you want to attack with the “other weapon” as a bonus action they they need to be light, unless you have the feat, and no stat bonus to damage, unless you have the fighting style.
This was more my point (about the axe in the off hand, pistol in the main)...
I would take away the axe as it's not needed. Though how do you reload with one hand when the other is holding an axe?
^ This is why I was saying it'd be odd for pistol in one, axe in the other. If it's a sword and an axe, fine; club and axe, fine; but a pistol needs to be reloaded. So how does one reload, without putting away or dropping the axe. This is why I was saying it seemed out of place, although - in that situation, as I said, the OP should be able to make a reaction so long as the axe is in one hand.
You can't make opportunity attacks with ranged weapons.
I let my players do that so it's up to the dm in every case. My players like the rule although it backfires on them as any enemy can do the same when the situation is reversed.
This is a question about how the actual game rules work, not asking what rules you made up.
Let's also keep all keep in mind, having reread the OP, that this is all a player looking for a RAW explanation or at least sympathetic DM review to challenge their DM's no on something. On that front I'd encourage the OP not to fight for some sort of retcon. Rather present this logic and see if the DM will adjust their call going forward.
I'll also point out that this question is being floated at least for now in General Discussion not Rules and Mechanics, and traditionally, at least as long as I've been on this board articulations of rule of cool or other DM rules indulgences in RAW/RAI are very much the norm. So I don't think there's much need to call folks to task in what's more a interpretative free fire zone than other parts of the forum.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
Jander Sunstar is the thinking person's Drizzt, fight me.
Sorry if this was the wrong place to post this, I dont use the forums much! My bad.
To answer how I reload my weapon with an axe in my hand, the Pistol has Reload 4, so I only have to reload every 4 shots. At level 3, that takes me 4 turns, so having an axe in my other hand works well right now if the opportunity attack ever shows up. Once I have more attacks, it probably wont be as useful.
Also, I want to clarify this was never to retcon anything. At our table, if we cant find a quick ruling, we go forward with whatever we agreed upon at the time, until we can find one later. Nothing was retconned, and in the moment I did not get the attack, but it is okay! This was to find a RAI or a RAW clarification that we might not have been able to find, or at least hear what the community says about the interaction. Thank you all for your responses! In the end, we have agreed I can make opportunity attacks, the damage just wont add my Dexterity modifier for them.
Lastly, I did get your Lonely Island reference. A pirate so bold, on the seven seas.
A couple of thoughts from the peanut gallery before the thread dies. 1) If the question had been asked in the rules forum then just sticking to RAW would have been the proper answer. This is in the general discussion forum so more open ended responses are acceptable. Midnite covered the basic RAW - AoO are reactions not part of an action and so not bound by the rules for actions. So having the axe in hand allows for an AoO with the axe. RAI might include hitting as they leave your reach while it’s rule of cool to allow the axe (or a dagger, sword, etc) to be thrown at the retreating foe and hitting them. For the AoO. 2) Dorsay and others were clear at least to me that they felt the same way - she separated the statements - that she would agree they could take the AoO , and the statement that she (personally) would extend that to a thrown axe attack as well.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
Wisea$$ DM and Player since 1979.
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
Yes, but house rules aren't really helpful when someone wants to know what the actual RAW is.
This was more my point (about the axe in the off hand, pistol in the main)...
^ This is why I was saying it'd be odd for pistol in one, axe in the other. If it's a sword and an axe, fine; club and axe, fine; but a pistol needs to be reloaded. So how does one reload, without putting away or dropping the axe. This is why I was saying it seemed out of place, although - in that situation, as I said, the OP should be able to make a reaction so long as the axe is in one hand.
Check out my publication on DMs Guild: https://www.dmsguild.com/browse.php?author=Tawmis%20Logue
Check out my comedy web series - Neverending Nights: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8Wr4-u9-zw0&list=PLbRG7dzFI-u3EJd0usasgDrrFO3mZ1lOZ
Need a character story/background written up? I do it for free (but also take donations!) - https://forums.giantitp.com/showthread.php?591882-Need-a-character-background-written-up
This is a question about how the actual game rules work, not asking what rules you made up.
Let's also keep all keep in mind, having reread the OP, that this is all a player looking for a RAW explanation or at least sympathetic DM review to challenge their DM's no on something. On that front I'd encourage the OP not to fight for some sort of retcon. Rather present this logic and see if the DM will adjust their call going forward.
I'll also point out that this question is being floated at least for now in General Discussion not Rules and Mechanics, and traditionally, at least as long as I've been on this board articulations of rule of cool or other DM rules indulgences in RAW/RAI are very much the norm. So I don't think there's much need to call folks to task in what's more a interpretative free fire zone than other parts of the forum.
Jander Sunstar is the thinking person's Drizzt, fight me.
Thank you all for your responses! A few things:
Sorry if this was the wrong place to post this, I dont use the forums much! My bad.
To answer how I reload my weapon with an axe in my hand, the Pistol has Reload 4, so I only have to reload every 4 shots. At level 3, that takes me 4 turns, so having an axe in my other hand works well right now if the opportunity attack ever shows up. Once I have more attacks, it probably wont be as useful.
Also, I want to clarify this was never to retcon anything. At our table, if we cant find a quick ruling, we go forward with whatever we agreed upon at the time, until we can find one later. Nothing was retconned, and in the moment I did not get the attack, but it is okay! This was to find a RAI or a RAW clarification that we might not have been able to find, or at least hear what the community says about the interaction. Thank you all for your responses! In the end, we have agreed I can make opportunity attacks, the damage just wont add my Dexterity modifier for them.
Lastly, I did get your Lonely Island reference. A pirate so bold, on the seven seas.
Thanks again all!
A couple of thoughts from the peanut gallery before the thread dies.
1) If the question had been asked in the rules forum then just sticking to RAW would have been the proper answer. This is in the general discussion forum so more open ended responses are acceptable. Midnite covered the basic RAW - AoO are reactions not part of an action and so not bound by the rules for actions. So having the axe in hand allows for an AoO with the axe. RAI might include hitting as they leave your reach while it’s rule of cool to allow the axe (or a dagger, sword, etc) to be thrown at the retreating foe and hitting them. For the AoO.
2) Dorsay and others were clear at least to me that they felt the same way - she separated the statements - that she would agree they could take the AoO , and the statement that she (personally) would extend that to a thrown axe attack as well.
Wisea$$ DM and Player since 1979.