I was pondering a character I wanted to make and, long story short, it wouldn't work because there's no way to get a second bonus action.
I was wondering how broken an item which allows you to activate & deactivate it using a bonus action, and whilst active allows you to take (exclsively) 2 bonus actions per round, IE replacing your action with a bonus action, would be.
I can't imagine much of an issue, as dashing and attacking would be out but utilities and such can be doubled. My original goal was t ocommand a steel defender (artificer) and an animated object (creation bard) at the same time like some construct mastermind. Needing a bonus action to turn it on or off would also give it limits.
I don’t know if it would be broken, as much as confusing since the bonus action and action is pretty deeply embedded in the game’s action economy. Could you cast a spell with a casting time of one action? Could you cast two bonus action spells? Could you make any kind of attack? Could you take the move action, or dodge or disengage? I’m sure you could sit down and figure these things out, but others will surely come up — probably in game with no time to think about it. It seems like if you’ll need a pamphlet full of detailed instructions about how to run a character using this item, it’s going to just open up lots of confusion.
I don’t know if it would be broken, as much as confusing since the bonus action and action is pretty deeply embedded in the game’s action economy. Could you cast a spell with a casting time of one action? Could you cast two bonus action spells? Could you make any kind of attack? Could you take the move action, or dodge or disengage? I’m sure you could sit down and figure these things out, but others will surely come up — probably in game with no time to think about it. It seems like if you’ll need a pamphlet full of detailed instructions about how to run a character using this item, it’s going to just open up lots of confusion.
It would be as simple as "once activated, you can no longer perform actions or anything which takes one action. You can instead perform 2 bonus actions"
I guess the ambiguity comes from spells which take minutes to cast... though they may require an action to start casting them, in which case you can't do it as it's an action, not a bonus action.
As a DM, I'd allow you to replace your action with a bonus action. But I still wouldn't allow you to cast two leveled spells in one turn.
Same, especially given that bonus actions are usually weaker than standard actions.
I agree, just don't forget to add a rule that you can't use the same bonus action twice - in order to avoid two spiritual weapon hits, two bardic inspirations, Flaming sphere... etc...
You can actually do it RAW, with only using 1 BA to command the objects.
If you read the animate objects spell it actually doesn't require you to use your BA every round.
"You decide what action the creature will take and where it will move during its next turn, or you can issue a general command, such as to guard a particular Chamber or corridor. If you issue no commands, the creature only defends itself against HostileCreatures. Once given an order, the creature continues to follow it until its task is complete."
So you can use your BA each round to command them or you can give a general command like "kill the dragon" and then "Once given an order, the creature continues to follow it until its task is complete."
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
I was pondering a character I wanted to make and, long story short, it wouldn't work because there's no way to get a second bonus action.
I was wondering how broken an item which allows you to activate & deactivate it using a bonus action, and whilst active allows you to take (exclsively) 2 bonus actions per round, IE replacing your action with a bonus action, would be.
I can't imagine much of an issue, as dashing and attacking would be out but utilities and such can be doubled. My original goal was t ocommand a steel defender (artificer) and an animated object (creation bard) at the same time like some construct mastermind. Needing a bonus action to turn it on or off would also give it limits.
Would it be broken?
Make your Artificer work with any other class with 174 Multiclassing Feats for your Artificer Multiclass Character!
DM's Guild Releases on This Thread Or check them all out on DMs Guild!
DrivethruRPG Releases on This Thread - latest release: My Character is a Werewolf: balanced rules for Lycanthropy!
I have started discussing/reviewing 3rd party D&D content on Substack - stay tuned for semi-regular posts!
I don’t know if it would be broken, as much as confusing since the bonus action and action is pretty deeply embedded in the game’s action economy.
Could you cast a spell with a casting time of one action? Could you cast two bonus action spells? Could you make any kind of attack? Could you take the move action, or dodge or disengage?
I’m sure you could sit down and figure these things out, but others will surely come up — probably in game with no time to think about it. It seems like if you’ll need a pamphlet full of detailed instructions about how to run a character using this item, it’s going to just open up lots of confusion.
It would be as simple as "once activated, you can no longer perform actions or anything which takes one action. You can instead perform 2 bonus actions"
I guess the ambiguity comes from spells which take minutes to cast... though they may require an action to start casting them, in which case you can't do it as it's an action, not a bonus action.
Make your Artificer work with any other class with 174 Multiclassing Feats for your Artificer Multiclass Character!
DM's Guild Releases on This Thread Or check them all out on DMs Guild!
DrivethruRPG Releases on This Thread - latest release: My Character is a Werewolf: balanced rules for Lycanthropy!
I have started discussing/reviewing 3rd party D&D content on Substack - stay tuned for semi-regular posts!
As a DM, I'd allow you to replace your action with a bonus action. But I still wouldn't allow you to cast two leveled spells in one turn.
Same, especially given that bonus actions are usually weaker than standard actions.
Find your own truth, choose your enemies carefully, and never deal with a dragon.
"Canon" is what's factual to D&D lore. "Cannon" is what you're going to be shot with if you keep getting the word wrong.
I agree, just don't forget to add a rule that you can't use the same bonus action twice - in order to avoid two spiritual weapon hits, two bardic inspirations, Flaming sphere... etc...
You can actually do it RAW, with only using 1 BA to command the objects.
If you read the animate objects spell it actually doesn't require you to use your BA every round.
"You decide what action the creature will take and where it will move during its next turn, or you can issue a general command, such as to guard a particular Chamber or corridor. If you issue no commands, the creature only defends itself against Hostile Creatures. Once given an order, the creature continues to follow it until its task is complete."
So you can use your BA each round to command them or you can give a general command like "kill the dragon" and then "Once given an order, the creature continues to follow it until its task is complete."