the whole point is an attack that does a modified damage die for its normal, non-magical, base damage.
For example: IF a magic missile could crit (yes, I know, MM cannot crit because it's an auto hit), the MM damage is 2~5 per missile (1d4+1). My read is that the +1 is part of the base damage die. Therefore a critical should be double the 2~5.
Same idea with a physical weapon. For example if a weapon does 1d6+1 for normal 2~7 damage, that +1 is NOT a modifier but part of the base weapon damage. It's not magic nor an ability modifier modifier.
I understood what you were saying, but that is explicitly not the rule.
Since it is for homebrew, that homebrew can have an alternative crit rule. There are other official content that does that.
the whole point is an attack that does a modified damage die for its normal, non-magical, base damage.
For example: IF a magic missile could crit (yes, I know, MM cannot crit because it's an auto hit), the MM damage is 2~5 per missile (1d4+1). My read is that the +1 is part of the base damage die. Therefore a critical should be double the 2~5.
Same idea with a physical weapon. For example if a weapon does 1d6+1 for normal 2~7 damage, that +1 is NOT a modifier but part of the base weapon damage. It's not magic nor an ability modifier modifier.
I understood what you were saying, but that is explicitly not the rule.
DxjxC is 100% correct. The die is, well: the die. The thing that is rolled. Dice. You cannot roll a +1. The +1 is modifying the roll of the die. So, it is: a modifier.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
I'm probably laughing.
It is apparently so hard to program Aberrant Mind and Clockwork Soul spell-swapping into dndbeyond they had to remake the game without it rather than implement it.
So then as long as it's phrased differently so that I do 1d8 drop 1's and 8's instead of 1d6+1, I get the 2~7 base damage doubled on a crit.
That seems to be the takeaway from everyone saying "only the DIE is doubled."
I just feel that most people have missed the point of my question, but thank you for your input.
If you want a crit for this homebrew situation to be doubled 2-7 damage, then just make it so. You are the DM. The rule is that you roll twice the number of dice, but you as the DM can override that.
You just have to say something like "when you score a critical hit with this weapon, the weapon damage for the attack is 2d6+4 instead of rolling an extra die." Or "On a critical hit, this weapon deals an extra 2 damage." Both work.
I understood what you were saying, but that is explicitly not the rule.
Since it is for homebrew, that homebrew can have an alternative crit rule. There are other official content that does that.
DxjxC is 100% correct. The die is, well: the die. The thing that is rolled. Dice. You cannot roll a +1. The +1 is modifying the roll of the die. So, it is: a modifier.
I'm probably laughing.
It is apparently so hard to program Aberrant Mind and Clockwork Soul spell-swapping into dndbeyond they had to remake the game without it rather than implement it.
So then as long as it's phrased differently so that I do 1d8 drop 1's and 8's instead of 1d6+1, I get the 2~7 base damage doubled on a crit.
That seems to be the takeaway from everyone saying "only the DIE is doubled."
I just feel that most people have missed the point of my question, but thank you for your input.
If you want a crit for this homebrew situation to be doubled 2-7 damage, then just make it so. You are the DM. The rule is that you roll twice the number of dice, but you as the DM can override that.
That is a very odd way to go about it. Like I said, since it is for homebrew you can just have the homebrew say crits work differently.
Jim's magic missile and blade of disaster are some spells that already do that. The piercer feat also adds extra damage to crits.
You just have to say something like "when you score a critical hit with this weapon, the weapon damage for the attack is 2d6+4 instead of rolling an extra die." Or "On a critical hit, this weapon deals an extra 2 damage." Both work.
Let me use this topic to ask a (possibly) silly question, but I would like to confirm with you.
For instance, in the case of a Drider, the bite has two different types of damages.
So, if I understand correctly, after a critical hit, the DM should roll 2d4 + 4d8, am I right?
Yup.
"Sooner or later, your Players are going to smash your railroad into a sandbox."
-Vedexent
"real life is a super high CR."
-OboeLauren
"............anybody got any potatoes? We could drop a potato in each hole an' see which ones get viciously mauled by horrible monsters?"
-Ilyara Thundertale