I need some opinions on how they would let this silly bit of shenanigans play out. Because I somehow don't see a big enough flaw by RAW for this so I came here for some extra perspectives and opinions.
So let's start off with a Wild Magic Barbarian and this little feature as part of their Rage: "Magic infuses one weapon of your choice that you are holding. Until your rage ends, the weapon’s damage type changes to force, and it gains the light and thrown properties, with a normal range of 20 feet and a long range of 60 feet. If the weapon leaves your hand, the weapon reappears in your hand at the end of the current turn."
Next up let us have a look at Gurt's Greataxe and how it is already sized up stat-wise for a Huge creature because it is 325 pounds of Giant's gear (3d12 or 5d12 vs. Humans).
Finally, let us look at the Potion of Giant Size and this little tidbit here that states "Everything you are carrying and wearing also increases in size for the duration. When rolling damage for weapons enlarged in this manner, roll three times the normal number of dice; for example, an enlarged longsword would deal 3d8 slashing damage (instead of 1d8), or 3d10 slashing damage (instead of 1d10) when used with two hands."
This means that there is a chance if you get that Wild Magic effect from the Barbarian while touching that Greataxe it will become a Light, Thrown, and Returning. On top of that as a Medium or smaller creature it would also scale up with you because the potion doesn't actually state that everything enlarges to Huge, just that the creature does and the equipment increases in size to accommodate.
So would you allow a player to goof off in this manner and have a shining moment of having an axe that could technically level a battlefield but by RAW only hits one thing still and hits for 9d12 or 15d12 vs Humans or do you see flaws that I've overlooked that should be taken into consideration for disallowing this to play out? After all the potion is only for 24 hours anyways.
Thanks for any and all input that you guys might have on this situation and I'm excited to see what you guys have to say.
The thing you seem to have overlooked is that the axe is sized for a frost giant - a medium creature can't wield it without GM permission, and even if you let them somehow hoist a weapon significantly larger than they are (roughly quadruple their size), you should at a bare minimum inflict disadvantage on the attack.
I would flat-ban any player from wielding the axe unless they drank the potion before picking it up, at which point it would deal base damage.
The main thing I've taken into account is the Wild Magic effect that gives it the light property which is very much unusual and unruly but I now also have to consider if the character can't wield it do I allow him to fly above his enemies and allow the axe to keep teleporting back to his hand as per the Wild Magic ability and dropping onto the enemies below? How would that become ruled? Just a big chunk of falling/crushing damage?
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
I need some opinions on how they would let this silly bit of shenanigans play out. Because I somehow don't see a big enough flaw by RAW for this so I came here for some extra perspectives and opinions.
So let's start off with a Wild Magic Barbarian and this little feature as part of their Rage: "Magic infuses one weapon of your choice that you are holding. Until your rage ends, the weapon’s damage type changes to force, and it gains the light and thrown properties, with a normal range of 20 feet and a long range of 60 feet. If the weapon leaves your hand, the weapon reappears in your hand at the end of the current turn."
Next up let us have a look at Gurt's Greataxe and how it is already sized up stat-wise for a Huge creature because it is 325 pounds of Giant's gear (3d12 or 5d12 vs. Humans).
Finally, let us look at the Potion of Giant Size and this little tidbit here that states "Everything you are carrying and wearing also increases in size for the duration. When rolling damage for weapons enlarged in this manner, roll three times the normal number of dice; for example, an enlarged longsword would deal 3d8 slashing damage (instead of 1d8), or 3d10 slashing damage (instead of 1d10) when used with two hands."
This means that there is a chance if you get that Wild Magic effect from the Barbarian while touching that Greataxe it will become a Light, Thrown, and Returning. On top of that as a Medium or smaller creature it would also scale up with you because the potion doesn't actually state that everything enlarges to Huge, just that the creature does and the equipment increases in size to accommodate.
So would you allow a player to goof off in this manner and have a shining moment of having an axe that could technically level a battlefield but by RAW only hits one thing still and hits for 9d12 or 15d12 vs Humans or do you see flaws that I've overlooked that should be taken into consideration for disallowing this to play out? After all the potion is only for 24 hours anyways.
Thanks for any and all input that you guys might have on this situation and I'm excited to see what you guys have to say.
The thing you seem to have overlooked is that the axe is sized for a frost giant - a medium creature can't wield it without GM permission, and even if you let them somehow hoist a weapon significantly larger than they are (roughly quadruple their size), you should at a bare minimum inflict disadvantage on the attack.
I would flat-ban any player from wielding the axe unless they drank the potion before picking it up, at which point it would deal base damage.
The main thing I've taken into account is the Wild Magic effect that gives it the light property which is very much unusual and unruly but I now also have to consider if the character can't wield it do I allow him to fly above his enemies and allow the axe to keep teleporting back to his hand as per the Wild Magic ability and dropping onto the enemies below? How would that become ruled? Just a big chunk of falling/crushing damage?