If I am a cleric who throws sanctuary on myself DC 15 and a Bugbear saves to be able to attempt to attack me, then does actually hit me in round one, when round two starts does he need to save against the sanctuary again to attempt to try and hit me, or once you save to get through the sanctuary do you no longer have to save any longer? Thanks
Nothing in the spell's description implies that succeeding once ends the effect on you forever. So I would rule that they have to make the save every turn.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
All stars fade. Some stars forever fall. ------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- Homebrew (Mostly Outdated):Magic Items,Monsters,Spells,Subclasses ------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- If there was no light, people wouldn't fear the dark.
"You ward a creature within range against attack. Until the spell ends, any creature who targets the warded creature with an attack or a harmful spell must first make a Wisdom saving throw. On a failed save, the creature must choose a new target or lose the attack or spell. This spell doesn't protect the warded creature from area effects, such as the explosion of a fireball.
If the warded creature makes an attack, casts a spell that affects an enemy, or deals damage to another creature, this spell ends."
Once the creature (in this case the bugbear) lands an attack, no matter against who, the spell ends. It only takes one successful saving throw to end the spell.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
"The D&D rules help you and the other players have a good time, but the rules aren't in charge. You're the DM, and you are in charge of the game" - Dungeon Masters Guide
"You ward a creature within range against attack. Until the spell ends, any creature who targets the warded creature with an attack or a harmful spell must first make a Wisdom saving throw. On a failed save, the creature must choose a new target or lose the attack or spell. This spell doesn't protect the warded creature from area effects, such as the explosion of a fireball.
If the warded creature makes an attack, casts a spell that affects an enemy, or deals damage to another creature, this spell ends."
Once the creature (in this case the bugbear) lands an attack, no matter against who, the spell ends. It only takes one successful saving throw to end the spell.
You're reading the spell wrong. It only ends if the creature it was cast on makes an attack.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
All stars fade. Some stars forever fall. ------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- Homebrew (Mostly Outdated):Magic Items,Monsters,Spells,Subclasses ------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- If there was no light, people wouldn't fear the dark.
"You ward a creature within range against attack. Until the spell ends, any creature who targets the warded creature with an attack or a harmful spell must first make a Wisdom saving throw. On a failed save, the creature must choose a new target or lose the attack or spell. This spell doesn't protect the warded creature from area effects, such as the explosion of a fireball.
If the warded creature makes an attack, casts a spell that affects an enemy, or deals damage to another creature, this spell ends."
Once the creature (in this case the bugbear) lands an attack, no matter against who, the spell ends. It only takes one successful saving throw to end the spell.
You've got it backwards. The Cleric is not the Bugbear. If the Cleric attacks - certainly the Sanctuary will be lost. But the Bugbear is attacking the Cleric in this instance.
Anybody attacking a character that has Sanctuary on them - must make a saving throw - every - single - time - they try to make an attack against them.
If I am a cleric who throws sanctuary on myself DC 15 and a Bugbear saves to be able to attempt to attack me, then does actually hit me in round one, when round two starts does he need to save against the sanctuary again to attempt to try and hit me, or once you save to get through the sanctuary do you no longer have to save any longer? Thanks
Very Respectfully,
Not only would it work round to round but also attack to attack. It says "targets the warded creature with an attack" so if it has multi attack and wants to go ham on you each attack is going to require a save (which is why it's nice it doesn't require concentration)
If I am a cleric who throws sanctuary on myself DC 15 and a Bugbear saves to be able to attempt to attack me, then does actually hit me in round one, when round two starts does he need to save against the sanctuary again to attempt to try and hit me, or once you save to get through the sanctuary do you no longer have to save any longer? Thanks
Very Respectfully,
The Sanctuary spell establishes two things:
1. If a creature targets the warded creature with an attack or harmful spell(this allows them to benefit from helpful spells like Cure Wounds, Bless, etc. even if Sanctuary is up), they must make a Wisdom save. If they fail, they have to either choose a new target or lose the attack/spell. Nothing in the wording of this part limits it to one attack per turn, or says if a creature succeeds once they don't have to make the save the next time they target you. As long as the spell is up, targeting the warded creature requires a Wis save. Period.
2. In addition to the normal ways a spell like this can end(the duration running out, Dispel Magic, etc), an additional trigger to end the spell is established, if the person you cast the spell on attacks, casts a spell affecting(which is different from targeting, so AoE spells count) an enemy, or deals damage to another creature(meaning things like a Scourge Aasimar's Radiant Consumption aura would trigger it too), the spell ends. So basically, the warded creature loses the protection if they do anything hostile.
If I am a cleric who throws sanctuary on myself DC 15 and a Bugbear saves to be able to attempt to attack me, then does actually hit me in round one, when round two starts does he need to save against the sanctuary again to attempt to try and hit me, or once you save to get through the sanctuary do you no longer have to save any longer? Thanks
Very Respectfully,
Not only would it work round to round but also attack to attack. It says "targets the warded creature with an attack" so if it has multi attack and wants to go ham on you each attack is going to require a save (which is why it's nice it doesn't require concentration)
If it fails the saving through the entire action is lost or spent on another target. Multi-attack won't trigger multiple saves. If one attack fails, they all fail.
If I am a cleric who throws sanctuary on myself DC 15 and a Bugbear saves to be able to attempt to attack me, then does actually hit me in round one, when round two starts does he need to save against the sanctuary again to attempt to try and hit me, or once you save to get through the sanctuary do you no longer have to save any longer? Thanks
Very Respectfully,
Not only would it work round to round but also attack to attack. It says "targets the warded creature with an attack" so if it has multi attack and wants to go ham on you each attack is going to require a save (which is why it's nice it doesn't require concentration)
If it fails the saving through the entire action is lost or spent on another target. Multi-attack won't trigger multiple saves. If one attack fails, they all fail.
How are you getting that? The spell says "On a failed save, the creature must choose a new target or lose the attack or spell." They lose the attack, not the action. Nothing in the wording of the spell says they can't make another attack.
If I am a cleric who throws sanctuary on myself DC 15 and a Bugbear saves to be able to attempt to attack me, then does actually hit me in round one, when round two starts does he need to save against the sanctuary again to attempt to try and hit me, or once you save to get through the sanctuary do you no longer have to save any longer? Thanks
Very Respectfully,
Not only would it work round to round but also attack to attack. It says "targets the warded creature with an attack" so if it has multi attack and wants to go ham on you each attack is going to require a save (which is why it's nice it doesn't require concentration)
If it fails the saving through the entire action is lost or spent on another target. Multi-attack won't trigger multiple saves. If one attack fails, they all fail.
How are you getting that? The spell says "On a failed save, the creature must choose a new target or lose the attack or spell." They lose the attack, not the action. Nothing in the wording of the spell says they can't make another attack.
What he said, the text says they lose THE attack, not the entire attack action, just THE attack
Hello,
Can some DM's please answer a question for me?
If I am a cleric who throws sanctuary on myself DC 15 and a Bugbear saves to be able to attempt to attack me, then does actually hit me in round one, when round two starts does he need to save against the sanctuary again to attempt to try and hit me, or once you save to get through the sanctuary do you no longer have to save any longer? Thanks
Very Respectfully,
Nothing in the spell's description implies that succeeding once ends the effect on you forever. So I would rule that they have to make the save every turn.
All stars fade. Some stars forever fall.
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Homebrew (Mostly Outdated): Magic Items, Monsters, Spells, Subclasses
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
If there was no light, people wouldn't fear the dark.
"You ward a creature within range against attack. Until the spell ends, any creature who targets the warded creature with an attack or a harmful spell must first make a Wisdom saving throw. On a failed save, the creature must choose a new target or lose the attack or spell. This spell doesn't protect the warded creature from area effects, such as the explosion of a fireball.
If the warded creature makes an attack, casts a spell that affects an enemy, or deals damage to another creature, this spell ends."
Once the creature (in this case the bugbear) lands an attack, no matter against who, the spell ends. It only takes one successful saving throw to end the spell.
"The D&D rules help you and the other players have a good time, but the rules aren't in charge. You're the DM, and you are in charge of the game" - Dungeon Masters Guide
You're reading the spell wrong. It only ends if the creature it was cast on makes an attack.
All stars fade. Some stars forever fall.
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Homebrew (Mostly Outdated): Magic Items, Monsters, Spells, Subclasses
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
If there was no light, people wouldn't fear the dark.
You've got it backwards. The Cleric is not the Bugbear. If the Cleric attacks - certainly the Sanctuary will be lost. But the Bugbear is attacking the Cleric in this instance.
Anybody attacking a character that has Sanctuary on them - must make a saving throw - every - single - time - they try to make an attack against them.
Mega Yahtzee Thread:
Highest 41: brocker2001 (#11,285).
Yahtzee of 2's: Emmber (#36,161).
Lowest 9: JoeltheWalrus (#312), Emmber (#12,505) and Dertinus (#20,953).
Not only would it work round to round but also attack to attack. It says "targets the warded creature with an attack" so if it has multi attack and wants to go ham on you each attack is going to require a save (which is why it's nice it doesn't require concentration)
The Sanctuary spell establishes two things:
1. If a creature targets the warded creature with an attack or harmful spell(this allows them to benefit from helpful spells like Cure Wounds, Bless, etc. even if Sanctuary is up), they must make a Wisdom save. If they fail, they have to either choose a new target or lose the attack/spell. Nothing in the wording of this part limits it to one attack per turn, or says if a creature succeeds once they don't have to make the save the next time they target you. As long as the spell is up, targeting the warded creature requires a Wis save. Period.
2. In addition to the normal ways a spell like this can end(the duration running out, Dispel Magic, etc), an additional trigger to end the spell is established, if the person you cast the spell on attacks, casts a spell affecting(which is different from targeting, so AoE spells count) an enemy, or deals damage to another creature(meaning things like a Scourge Aasimar's Radiant Consumption aura would trigger it too), the spell ends. So basically, the warded creature loses the protection if they do anything hostile.
If it fails the saving through the entire action is lost or spent on another target. Multi-attack won't trigger multiple saves. If one attack fails, they all fail.
Altrazin Aghanes - Wizard/Fighter
Varpulis Windhowl - Fighter
Skolson Demjon - Cleric/Fighter
How are you getting that? The spell says "On a failed save, the creature must choose a new target or lose the attack or spell." They lose the attack, not the action. Nothing in the wording of the spell says they can't make another attack.
What he said, the text says they lose THE attack, not the entire attack action, just THE attack
Thank you all for your input and guidance.
Very Respectfully,
Michael