Hello! My group and I were playing today and one of the people in my group is a Monk. She used her action to attack then bonus action for Flurry of Blows. Can she still spend a KI for stunning strike or is using a KI a bonus action? Stunning Strike doesn't clarify and even my DM couldn't figure it out we spent about 5 minutes trying to figure it out before we just let her do it and continue with the game but some clarification would be nice. Pretty please :D thank you
continuing this Question. If the monk used fury of blows, and the attack lands - the monk gets to choose an additional affect. (chance to shove, knock prone, can't make AOO..) What order do you resolve a Fury of blow affect vs stunning strike ?
AKA do you do the Con save stunning strike first, or the str/dex save for shove|prone ?
continuing this Question. If the monk used fury of blows, and the attack lands - the monk gets to choose an additional affect. (chance to shove, knock prone, can't make AOO..) What order do you resolve a Fury of blow affect vs stunning strike ?
AKA do you do the Con save stunning strike first, or the str/dex save for shove|prone ?
If multiple effects would "fire" from the same trigger, the player in control of the creature whose turn it is decides the order.
The Monk gets to decide the order in which these things happen.
Since a successful imposition of the Stunned Condition causes automatic failures on STR/DEX saves, I generally opt to attempt the Stunning Strike first, and since the Stun lasts until the start of the monk's next Turn (2024) or the end of the monk's next turn (2014), I'd probably recommend using Stunning Strike as early in the Monk's turn as circumstances allow, to get Advantage on as many subsequent attacks as possible.
(I'd probably recommend starting a new thread, for new questions, rather than dredging up an old one to tack on an additional question, especially in a situation like this, where the old questions are potentially predicated on a different ruleset.)
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
🎵I'm on top of the world, looking down on creation, wreaking death and devastation with my mind.
As the power that I've found erupts freely from the ground, I will cackle from the top of the world.🎵
If two or more things happen at the same time on a turn, the person at the game table—player or DM—whose turn it is decides the order in which those things happen. For example, if two effects occur at the start of a player character’s turn, the player decides which of the effects happens first.
Thank you all for the answers. (even though stunning strike and rules updates in 2014<>2024 , the change is irrelevant to the interaction between it and fury of blows.) I do understand the feedback to make it a different thread... and if I had known how to phrase the question in terms of simultaneous affects I would have made a different thread. as I didn't know to phrase it as such, I did search for "stunning strike and furry of blows interactions" -- and found this thread so I posted here.
I am wondering if people should put 2024 or 2014 in their titles, so we can make sure we know how to answer correctly. In this case it didn't matter. Or perhaps the mods should start a new discussion titling it 2024?
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
Hello! My group and I were playing today and one of the people in my group is a Monk. She used her action to attack then bonus action for Flurry of Blows. Can she still spend a KI for stunning strike or is using a KI a bonus action? Stunning Strike doesn't clarify and even my DM couldn't figure it out we spent about 5 minutes trying to figure it out before we just let her do it and continue with the game but some clarification would be nice. Pretty please :D thank you
Yes, she can spend that KI for the Stunning Strike. Here's the relevant language:
"When you hit another creature with a melee weapon attack, you can spend 1 ki point to attempt a stunning strike"
The hit allows the spend of the KI strike. So when she hit with Flurry of Blows she can also trigger a Stunning Strike.
https://www.dndbeyond.com/sources/basic-rules/classes#StunningStrike
Stunning Strike (and it’s Ki use) uses no action economy. They can use it whenever they hit, as Agile_DM pointed out.
EZD6 by DM Scotty
https://www.drivethrurpg.com/en/product/397599/EZD6-Core-Rulebook?
continuing this Question.
If the monk used fury of blows, and the attack lands - the monk gets to choose an additional affect. (chance to shove, knock prone, can't make AOO..)
What order do you resolve a Fury of blow affect vs stunning strike ?
AKA do you do the Con save stunning strike first, or the str/dex save for shove|prone ?
If multiple effects would "fire" from the same trigger, the player in control of the creature whose turn it is decides the order.
Find my D&D Beyond articles here
The Monk gets to decide the order in which these things happen.
Since a successful imposition of the Stunned Condition causes automatic failures on STR/DEX saves, I generally opt to attempt the Stunning Strike first, and since the Stun lasts until the start of the monk's next Turn (2024) or the end of the monk's next turn (2014), I'd probably recommend using Stunning Strike as early in the Monk's turn as circumstances allow, to get Advantage on as many subsequent attacks as possible.
(I'd probably recommend starting a new thread, for new questions, rather than dredging up an old one to tack on an additional question, especially in a situation like this, where the old questions are potentially predicated on a different ruleset.)
🎵I'm on top of the world, looking down on creation, wreaking death and devastation with my mind.
As the power that I've found erupts freely from the ground, I will cackle from the top of the world.🎵
Charisma Saving Throw: DC 18, Failure: 20d6 Psychic Damage, Success: Half damage
The player decides which happens first in this case: https://www.dndbeyond.com/sources/dnd/phb-2024/rules-glossary#SimultaneousEffects
Simultaneous Effects
If two or more things happen at the same time on a turn, the person at the game table—player or DM—whose turn it is decides the order in which those things happen. For example, if two effects occur at the start of a player character’s turn, the player decides which of the effects happens first.
Thank you all for the answers. (even though stunning strike and rules updates in 2014<>2024 , the change is irrelevant to the interaction between it and fury of blows.)
I do understand the feedback to make it a different thread... and if I had known how to phrase the question in terms of simultaneous affects I would have made a different thread. as I didn't know to phrase it as such, I did search for "stunning strike and furry of blows interactions" -- and found this thread so I posted here.
I am wondering if people should put 2024 or 2014 in their titles, so we can make sure we know how to answer correctly. In this case it didn't matter. Or perhaps the mods should start a new discussion titling it 2024?