Wondering how holding breath works between bodies, whether that be through wild shape, polymorph or similar effect. For example, if a bear (con +3) is polymorphed into a cat (con +0) then drowned, would the bear be drowning when it reverts back to bear form? I see 3 possibilities:
A1) It has 4 minutes of breath (swapping bodies resets the timer)
A2) 3 minutes (Use breath of base form, minus breath used by other form)
A3) It is drowning (once you are drowning, you are drowning, regardless of body change).
Secondary question. If you shape-change in a space that doesn't fit you (in a bag underwater, or in a space underground) what happens? Given the example before, if a bear (large) is changed in a cat (small) then put into a bag or some other confined space, what would happen when it reverts to bear form?
B1) Would it be shunted into the nearest space that would fit the form it is going into (if so, would that take damage)?
B2) Would a strength check against the confines need to be made (if so, what would happen on a failed check)?
B3) Some other outcome?
I don't know how I would rule these situations myself. Prefer RAW or sage-advice answer, but how you would rule with explanation is also much appreciated.
I have seen forums for both of these questions. Basically there is no RAW answer and it is totally up to DM, but I can give my opinions:
A3, but to be clear, they are only out of breath and starting the "can survive for a number of rounds equal to its Constitution modifier" phase.
B1 usually, to prevent shenanigans, unless it would be funny and not game breaking for something else to happen. For example, no changing something big into something small to be swallowed to try and pop it; both take damage and put in 2 different spaces, 'cause magic. But a container ending up stuck on a head or shredded into a tight fitting shirt might happen.
Seeing as the other form hasn't been drowning, I would say the breath resets.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
Hollow unbreakable arrows are the most OP common magic item, and my current method of coming up with insane combat shenanigans.
if you make a steel pipe with one end closed and a nozzle on the other, you can enlarge it, fill with any liquid, and then drop concentration, creating a high pressure squirt gun. (or a pipe bomb, depending if it holds)
HP loss does not transfer over, I would say that oxygen deprivation does not either.
Shapechanging with size constraints is not well thought out. I generally say spells do not do 'extra' beneficial stuff unless the spell states it. As such, I would rule that you can not be shunted over, nor would the spell itself aid you in as strength check to break the container. I would rule you have to make strength check or be crushed. Bags break easily, stones do not. Hopefully you are just in a bag and not buried alive.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
Wondering how holding breath works between bodies, whether that be through wild shape, polymorph or similar effect. For example, if a bear (con +3) is polymorphed into a cat (con +0) then drowned, would the bear be drowning when it reverts back to bear form? I see 3 possibilities:
A1) It has 4 minutes of breath (swapping bodies resets the timer)
A2) 3 minutes (Use breath of base form, minus breath used by other form)
A3) It is drowning (once you are drowning, you are drowning, regardless of body change).
Secondary question. If you shape-change in a space that doesn't fit you (in a bag underwater, or in a space underground) what happens? Given the example before, if a bear (large) is changed in a cat (small) then put into a bag or some other confined space, what would happen when it reverts to bear form?
B1) Would it be shunted into the nearest space that would fit the form it is going into (if so, would that take damage)?
B2) Would a strength check against the confines need to be made (if so, what would happen on a failed check)?
B3) Some other outcome?
I don't know how I would rule these situations myself. Prefer RAW or sage-advice answer, but how you would rule with explanation is also much appreciated.
I have seen forums for both of these questions. Basically there is no RAW answer and it is totally up to DM, but I can give my opinions:
A3, but to be clear, they are only out of breath and starting the "can survive for a number of rounds equal to its Constitution modifier" phase.
B1 usually, to prevent shenanigans, unless it would be funny and not game breaking for something else to happen. For example, no changing something big into something small to be swallowed to try and pop it; both take damage and put in 2 different spaces, 'cause magic. But a container ending up stuck on a head or shredded into a tight fitting shirt might happen.
Seeing as the other form hasn't been drowning, I would say the breath resets.
Hollow unbreakable arrows are the most OP common magic item, and my current method of coming up with insane combat shenanigans.
if you make a steel pipe with one end closed and a nozzle on the other, you can enlarge it, fill with any liquid, and then drop concentration, creating a high pressure squirt gun. (or a pipe bomb, depending if it holds)
HP loss does not transfer over, I would say that oxygen deprivation does not either.
Shapechanging with size constraints is not well thought out. I generally say spells do not do 'extra' beneficial stuff unless the spell states it. As such, I would rule that you can not be shunted over, nor would the spell itself aid you in as strength check to break the container. I would rule you have to make strength check or be crushed. Bags break easily, stones do not. Hopefully you are just in a bag and not buried alive.