So, interesting question. Today our low level group came up against a ghost. Most of us would be able to deal with it pretty easily, but we had a fighter with us, who didn't have a proper way of damaging it. I offered to give them my pact weapon,so he can deal some damage with it, but would that work? We weren't sure, so we didn't go through with it, but I'm curious to see if it would have worked or not.
Thanks for reading and a wonderful day to all of you^^
It doesn't say someone else can't use it but it does say:
Your pact weapon disappears if it is more than 5 feet away from you for 1 minute or more. It also disappears if you use this feature again, if you dismiss the weapon (no action required), or if you die.
So as long as the Fighter didn't mind only having it for a minute or staying by your side - seems fine.
It seems like a bit of a gray area if you performed the ritual to convert an existing magical weapon into your pact weapon, since that weapon does maintain a physical existence outside of just being the summoned pact weapon (as evidenced by the fact that the weapon reappears if the bond is broken for any reason.) In that situation a DM could maybe make an argument that it wouldn't disappear based on distance/time like a "created" pact weapon would (behaving more like an Eldritch Knight's bonded weapon in that case) but that's not specifically addressed in the rules as written.
It seems like a bit of a gray area if you performed the ritual to convert an existing magical weapon into your pact weapon, since that weapon does maintain a physical existence outside of just being the summoned pact weapon (as evidenced by the fact that the weapon reappears if the bond is broken for any reason.) In that situation a DM could maybe make an argument that it wouldn't disappear based on distance/time like a "created" pact weapon would (behaving more like an Eldritch Knight's bonded weapon in that case) but that's not specifically addressed in the rules as written.
I also concur that it would have worked, but I don't think a "real" magical pact weapon would function any differently in this scenario... it would just pop back to the Warlock's pocket dimension until summoned again.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
You don't know what fear is until you've witnessed a drunk bird divebombing you while carrying a screaming Kobold throwing fire anywhere and everywhere.
It seems like a bit of a gray area if you performed the ritual to convert an existing magical weapon into your pact weapon, since that weapon does maintain a physical existence outside of just being the summoned pact weapon (as evidenced by the fact that the weapon reappears if the bond is broken for any reason.) In that situation a DM could maybe make an argument that it wouldn't disappear based on distance/time like a "created" pact weapon would (behaving more like an Eldritch Knight's bonded weapon in that case) but that's not specifically addressed in the rules as written.
I also concur that it would have worked, but I don't think a "real" magical pact weapon would function any differently in this scenario... it would just pop back to the Warlock's pocket dimension until summoned again.
Yeah, rules as written, I agree. (Though had *I* written that section of the rules, I would have written in the exception.... It's not like you can seriously abuse it, since it leaves your warlock without a weapon.)
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
So, interesting question. Today our low level group came up against a ghost. Most of us would be able to deal with it pretty easily, but we had a fighter with us, who didn't have a proper way of damaging it. I offered to give them my pact weapon,so he can deal some damage with it, but would that work? We weren't sure, so we didn't go through with it, but I'm curious to see if it would have worked or not.
Thanks for reading and a wonderful day to all of you^^
It doesn't say someone else can't use it but it does say:
So as long as the Fighter didn't mind only having it for a minute or staying by your side - seems fine.
Mega Yahtzee Thread:
Highest 41: brocker2001 (#11,285).
Yahtzee of 2's: Emmber (#36,161).
Lowest 9: JoeltheWalrus (#312), Emmber (#12,505) and Dertinus (#20,953).
Yeah, I think that would have worked.
Concur.
It seems like a bit of a gray area if you performed the ritual to convert an existing magical weapon into your pact weapon, since that weapon does maintain a physical existence outside of just being the summoned pact weapon (as evidenced by the fact that the weapon reappears if the bond is broken for any reason.) In that situation a DM could maybe make an argument that it wouldn't disappear based on distance/time like a "created" pact weapon would (behaving more like an Eldritch Knight's bonded weapon in that case) but that's not specifically addressed in the rules as written.
I also concur that it would have worked, but I don't think a "real" magical pact weapon would function any differently in this scenario... it would just pop back to the Warlock's pocket dimension until summoned again.
You don't know what fear is until you've witnessed a drunk bird divebombing you while carrying a screaming Kobold throwing fire anywhere and everywhere.
Yeah, rules as written, I agree. (Though had *I* written that section of the rules, I would have written in the exception.... It's not like you can seriously abuse it, since it leaves your warlock without a weapon.)