Unarmed strikes are special types of melee weapon attacks, so they would qualify for both 1 and 2.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
Look at what you've done. You spoiled it. You have nobody to blame but yourself. Go sit and think about your actions.
Don't be mean. Rudeness is a vicious cycle, and it has to stop somewhere. Exceptions for things that are funny. Go to the current Competition of the Finest 'Brews! It's a cool place where cool people make cool things.
How I'm posting based on text formatting: Mod Hat Off - Mod Hat Also Off (I'm not a mod)
As already stated, an unarmed strike qualifies as a melee weapon attack. However, if there is something that specifically requires the use of a weapon then an unarmed strike would not qualify. Here is the rule:
Instead of using a weapon to make a melee weapon attack, you can use an unarmed strike: a punch, kick, head-butt, or similar forceful blow (none of which count as weapons).
Most Battle Master maneuvers should work with unarmed strikes except for ones like Brace which requires you are wielding a melee weapon (though would work with a monk weapon). If it says when you make a weapon attack or melee weapon attack it works.
Most Battle Master maneuvers should work with unarmed strikes except for ones like Brace which requires you are wielding a melee weapon (though would work with a monk weapon). If it says when you make a weapon attack or melee weapon attack it works.
Well no, the rules are bit more stupid than that unfortunately. An unarmed strike is not a weapon. So for anything that says "weapon attack" or "attack with a weapon" then an unarmed strike will not qualify. However unarmed strikes are specifically called out to qualify as a "melee weapon attack".
However for most things that is a flavour/lore choice from the designers and not a balance issue so if a DM want to houserule it differently then go right ahead.
Most Battle Master maneuvers should work with unarmed strikes except for ones like Brace which requires you are wielding a melee weapon (though would work with a monk weapon). If it says when you make a weapon attack or melee weapon attack it works.
Well no, the rules are bit more stupid than that unfortunately. An unarmed strike is not a weapon. So for anything that says "weapon attack" or "attack with a weapon" then an unarmed strike will not qualify. However unarmed strikes are specifically called out to qualify as a "melee weapon attack".
However for most things that is a flavour/lore choice from the designers and not a balance issue so if a DM want to houserule it differently then go right ahead.
Since unarmed strikes are melee weapon attacks, and melee weapon attack is a subcategory of weapon attack, they actually do qualify for things that say "weapon attack". As you said, though, they don't qualify for something that says "attack with a weapon". Thri-Kreen was right.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
Look at what you've done. You spoiled it. You have nobody to blame but yourself. Go sit and think about your actions.
Don't be mean. Rudeness is a vicious cycle, and it has to stop somewhere. Exceptions for things that are funny. Go to the current Competition of the Finest 'Brews! It's a cool place where cool people make cool things.
How I'm posting based on text formatting: Mod Hat Off - Mod Hat Also Off (I'm not a mod)
Some maneuvers state
1) Requires a weapon attack.
2) Requires a Melee weapon attack.
Using Unarmed Fighting Style or a Monk's Martial Arts. Can I use option 1 and 2 or Just Option 1
Are unnamed attacks considered weapon attacks or melee weapon attacks?
Unarmed strikes are special types of melee weapon attacks, so they would qualify for both 1 and 2.
Look at what you've done. You spoiled it. You have nobody to blame but yourself. Go sit and think about your actions.
Don't be mean. Rudeness is a vicious cycle, and it has to stop somewhere. Exceptions for things that are funny.
Go to the current Competition of the Finest 'Brews! It's a cool place where cool people make cool things.
How I'm posting based on text formatting: Mod Hat Off - Mod Hat Also Off (I'm not a mod)
As already stated, an unarmed strike qualifies as a melee weapon attack. However, if there is something that specifically requires the use of a weapon then an unarmed strike would not qualify. Here is the rule:
Thank you.
Basically the "weapon" in "weapon attack" exists to distinguish if from a "magic attack". Any attack roll is either a weapon attack or a magic attack.
Most Battle Master maneuvers should work with unarmed strikes except for ones like Brace which requires you are wielding a melee weapon (though would work with a monk weapon). If it says when you make a weapon attack or melee weapon attack it works.
EZD6 by DM Scotty
https://www.drivethrurpg.com/en/product/397599/EZD6-Core-Rulebook?
Well no, the rules are bit more stupid than that unfortunately.
An unarmed strike is not a weapon. So for anything that says "weapon attack" or "attack with a weapon" then an unarmed strike will not qualify.
However unarmed strikes are specifically called out to qualify as a "melee weapon attack".
However for most things that is a flavour/lore choice from the designers and not a balance issue so if a DM want to houserule it differently then go right ahead.
Since unarmed strikes are melee weapon attacks, and melee weapon attack is a subcategory of weapon attack, they actually do qualify for things that say "weapon attack". As you said, though, they don't qualify for something that says "attack with a weapon". Thri-Kreen was right.
Look at what you've done. You spoiled it. You have nobody to blame but yourself. Go sit and think about your actions.
Don't be mean. Rudeness is a vicious cycle, and it has to stop somewhere. Exceptions for things that are funny.
Go to the current Competition of the Finest 'Brews! It's a cool place where cool people make cool things.
How I'm posting based on text formatting: Mod Hat Off - Mod Hat Also Off (I'm not a mod)
It says weapon attack because they apply to both melee and ranged weapon attacks.
The “attack with a melee weapon” phrase would not qualify and I don’t recall if there are any maneuvers that have that wording.
EZD6 by DM Scotty
https://www.drivethrurpg.com/en/product/397599/EZD6-Core-Rulebook?