Would that work? Or would the Elemental count as a separate creature and, thus, not work with Resilient Sphere?
See, I was waffling a bit because Conjure Elemental specifically says the spirit is Intangible and that a creature can enter its space.
That made me consider that, if Conjure Elemental was cast first and then Resilient Sphere was cast at the right time (yeah, it's a fringe case) then maybe the creature (not the elemental) could be the target, thus trapping them both inside.
EDIT FOR CLARITY:
In this specific instance I'm looking at Conjure Elemental being cast via a Red Corundum Elemental Gem.
Also both spells should be the 2024 versions, not the Legacy versions.
Resilient sphere specifically only captures the target creature and disallows anything else from entering / affecting the creature within the sphere. Conjure Elemental and all other area of effect spells do not affect a creature within a resilient sphere.
But when you have more than one creature in a space (as with an intangible spirit or a swarm or a few others) how would you rule Resilient Sphere?
They're in the same physical space. Neither would be causing damage to cross the sphere barrier. They'd both be inside.
Unless you rule that the sphere cannot be cast there as it specifies a single creature. Or that one is shunted out of the sphere...which opens it up to some interesting and probably headache-inducing exploits.
But when you have more than one creature in a space (as with an intangible spirit or a swarm or a few others) how would you rule Resilient Sphere?
They're in the same physical space. Neither would be causing damage to cross the sphere barrier. They'd both be inside.
Unless you rule that the sphere cannot be cast there as it specifies a single creature. Or that one is shunted out of the sphere...which opens it up to some interesting and probably headache-inducing exploits.
The sphere is cast on a single creature not on a specific space, thus only one creature would be inside the sphere the other would be either pushed to another space or engulf the outside of the sphere depending on its abilities.
e.g. if cast on a creature engulfed in a swarm of bees the swarm of bees would still be in that space but would be coating the exterior of the sphere. But if cast on the swarm of bees that is engulfing another creature, you'd end up with the swarm of bees inside the sphere and the target that was engulfed in some position adjacent to the sphere.
Note that Conjure Elemental, Conjure Animals, Conjure Woodland Beings don't actually conjure any creatures anymore, the effects created by the spells cannot be targeted like creatures can be, they don't occupy their space, they don't provoke AoO when moved, etc... you should consider them little more than glowing spheres of magic that produce the specified magical effects and are filled with transparent illusions that happen to look like whatever creature is specified in the spell.
Unless you rule that the sphere cannot be cast there as it specifies a single creature. Or that one is shunted out of the sphere...which opens it up to some interesting and probably headache-inducing exploits.
The non-target is shunted outside of the sphere. Given that the only use case is creatures that don't fill their space, there aren't a lot of exciting exploits (can use it to separate a rider from its steed, but ... eh).
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
Would that work? Or would the Elemental count as a separate creature and, thus, not work with Resilient Sphere?
See, I was waffling a bit because Conjure Elemental specifically says the spirit is Intangible and that a creature can enter its space.
That made me consider that, if Conjure Elemental was cast first and then Resilient Sphere was cast at the right time (yeah, it's a fringe case) then maybe the creature (not the elemental) could be the target, thus trapping them both inside.
EDIT FOR CLARITY:
In this specific instance I'm looking at Conjure Elemental being cast via a Red Corundum Elemental Gem.
Also both spells should be the 2024 versions, not the Legacy versions.
The elemental isn't a creature, but would not be included within the sphere.
Resilient sphere specifically only captures the target creature and disallows anything else from entering / affecting the creature within the sphere. Conjure Elemental and all other area of effect spells do not affect a creature within a resilient sphere.
Sure.
But when you have more than one creature in a space (as with an intangible spirit or a swarm or a few others) how would you rule Resilient Sphere?
They're in the same physical space. Neither would be causing damage to cross the sphere barrier. They'd both be inside.
Unless you rule that the sphere cannot be cast there as it specifies a single creature. Or that one is shunted out of the sphere...which opens it up to some interesting and probably headache-inducing exploits.
The sphere is cast on a single creature not on a specific space, thus only one creature would be inside the sphere the other would be either pushed to another space or engulf the outside of the sphere depending on its abilities.
e.g. if cast on a creature engulfed in a swarm of bees the swarm of bees would still be in that space but would be coating the exterior of the sphere. But if cast on the swarm of bees that is engulfing another creature, you'd end up with the swarm of bees inside the sphere and the target that was engulfed in some position adjacent to the sphere.
Note that Conjure Elemental, Conjure Animals, Conjure Woodland Beings don't actually conjure any creatures anymore, the effects created by the spells cannot be targeted like creatures can be, they don't occupy their space, they don't provoke AoO when moved, etc... you should consider them little more than glowing spheres of magic that produce the specified magical effects and are filled with transparent illusions that happen to look like whatever creature is specified in the spell.
The non-target is shunted outside of the sphere. Given that the only use case is creatures that don't fill their space, there aren't a lot of exciting exploits (can use it to separate a rider from its steed, but ... eh).