I'm playing a ranger character using a longbow as the main weapon and am looking to get a rapier as a sidearm. The rules as written states that a player can interact with the world around them (such as drawing a weapon) once for free before using an action is required. I'm wondering if, since I'm not drawing two weapons and rather drawing one and holstering the other, could I both holster the bow and draw the rapier as a free action?
You could, for example, stow your longbow using the Time-Limited Object Interactions/Interacting with Things rules. Then, as part of the Attack Action, you could draw your rapier before the attack.
When time is short, such as in combat, interactions with objects are limited: one free interaction per turn. That interaction must occur during a creature’s movement or action. Any additional interactions require the Utilize action, as explained in “Combat” later in this chapter.
Interacting with Things.You can interact with one object or feature of the environment for free, during either your move or action. For example, you could open a door during your move as you stride toward a foe.
If you want to interact with a second object, you need to take the Utilize action. Some magic items and other special objects always require an action to use, as stated in their descriptions.
Attack [Action]
When you take the Attack action, you can make one attack roll with a weapon or an Unarmed Strike.
Equipping and Unequipping Weapons. You can either equip or unequip one weapon when you make an attack as part of this action. You do so either before or after the attack. If you equip a weapon before an attack, you don’t need to use it for that attack. Equipping a weapon includes drawing it from a sheath or picking it up. Unequipping a weapon includes sheathing, stowing, or dropping it.
Also, since a Rapier is a one handed weapon you could wield that in one hand and still hold the Longbow in the other hand (that only requires two hands when attacking with it). Of course that would mess with your ability to cast S and M spells but still.
I'm playing a ranger character using a longbow as the main weapon and am looking to get a rapier as a sidearm. The rules as written states that a player can interact with the world around them (such as drawing a weapon) once for free before using an action is required. I'm wondering if, since I'm not drawing two weapons and rather drawing one and holstering the other, could I both holster the bow and draw the rapier as a free action?
You could, for example, stow your longbow using the Time-Limited Object Interactions/Interacting with Things rules. Then, as part of the Attack Action, you could draw your rapier before the attack.
Thank you so much!
Also, since a Rapier is a one handed weapon you could wield that in one hand and still hold the Longbow in the other hand (that only requires two hands when attacking with it). Of course that would mess with your ability to cast S and M spells but still.
I didn't think of that, and honestly that sounds way cooler.