As a bonus action, you can extrude a pseudopod that is up to 6 inches wide and 10 feet long or reabsorb it into your body. As part of the same bonus action, you can use this pseudopod to manipulate an object, open or close a door or container, or pick up or set down a Tiny object. The pseudopod contains no sensory organs and can't attack, activate magic items, or lift more than 10 pounds.
The question I have is, using the pseudopod to manipulate an object.... does this mean you can Manipulate a potion of healing?
You can open the potion, pick it up, set it down. You can even pour it into your 'mouth'. But that is not activating it. To actually activate the magic item, you must absorb the liquid, which means you must activate the magic item, which takes an action for you to do.
As a bonus action, you can extrude a pseudopod that is up to 6 inches wide and 10 feet long or reabsorb it into your body. As part of the same bonus action, you can use this pseudopod to manipulate an object, open or close a door or container, or pick up or set down a Tiny object. The pseudopod contains no sensory organs and can't attack, activate magic items, or lift more than 10 pounds.
The question I have is, using the pseudopod to manipulate an object.... does this mean you can Manipulate a potion of healing?
Mog is correct - you can do things like pick the potion bottle up, put it down, etc. Ask your DM how much control you have given that the pseudopod is explicitly completely numb (in the real world this makes you incredibly clumsy, because you need proprioception to track where your limbs are relative to themselves and to you).
so tempting now to have vials, floating inside my plasmoid, and all I have to do is "activate" them, (not trying to get around the action rule, just wondering)
As a DM, I would let you have things floating around inside you. I would also rule that a) Your amorpheous is now limited and b) if you take damage, there is a chance they would be damaged.
For potions of healing, I would rule that they would break and leak out, but you could as a reaction, attempt to activate them for half normal healing, as half of it would leak out of the wound.
I also have a question. It seems odd that the pseudopod you can extend has "no sensory organs" when plasmoids have no sensory organs in the first place.
Plasmoids don’t have internal organs of the usual sort. Their bodies are composed of cells, fibers, plasma-like ooze, and clusters of nerves. These nerves enable a plasmoid to detect light, heat, texture, sound, pain, and vibrations.
So, I don't have eyes in the first place, so my entire body works like my "eyes."
As a bonus action, you can extrude a pseudopod that is up to 6 inches wide and 10 feet long or reabsorb it into your body. As part of the same bonus action, you can use this pseudopod to manipulate an object, open or close a door or container, or pick up or set down a Tiny object. The pseudopod contains no sensory organs and can’t attack, activate magic items, or lift more than 10 pounds.
Since they make a point to say my pseudopod has "no sensory organs" ... It seems like they intend it to be unable to see, but it just feels weird.
Like this is the ONLY part of my body that's not made up of the nerves that I use for my senses.
You could interpret it like a human growing a 10ft long prehensile fingernail. The psuedopod is a part of you, but it's made of material that is better suited for that particular task.
As such, I'd also rule that no damage is caused if the psuedopod is severed. It's simply trimmed.
So the psuedopod can’t attack but could you make an arm on it to do an unarmed strike? (I figure since the psuedopod is attached to your body and you can make and destroy limbs anywhere on your body as long as you only have 2 from what I read.) Correct me if I’m wrong.
Combat mechanics are typically spelled out explicitly. If the race entry doesn't specifically say that you get extended reach, then you don't. You can flavor it however you want, but you won't benefit.
Would a plasmoid's pseudopod be able to cast Touch based spells? If so that is sort of like having Reach for touch-based spells from classes or Magic Initiate
No. The feature specifically outlines what can be done with the appendage, and it does not increase your reach the way a bugbear’s traits do, therefore in the absence of other effects your touch range remains 5 ft.
The Psuedopod specifies what you can and can't do with it, but fails to mention spells in any way. Basically it depends in your DM. It only gives you ten feet of reach, and the spell CANNOT be an attack spell, but it most likely is allowed if it's say, a touch heal. This is mainly because the spell specifies the psuedopod IS still a part of you (up to 6 inches wide and 10 feet long) so think of it as a extendable appendage. Again, speak to the DM beforehand. It would definitely be a main action though if you attempted to do so.
It's a part of the plasmoid, so yes in general, although for combat purposes you'd be getting into DM's call for if they could claim to be stretching the appendage out beyond their space.
And when I cast a touch spell, do I need to touch the target with my hand or can I use my foot? If they have their hand on my shoulder, am I touching them?
For combat, they need to be within your character's reach, whatever that is. Out of combat, the exact definition is between you and your DM. If you're asking as a DM, make a call. If you're asking as a player, ask your DM because you're not gonna find an official or definitive answer for odd scenarios like this.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
As a bonus action, you can extrude a pseudopod that is up to 6 inches wide and 10 feet long or reabsorb it into your body. As part of the same bonus action, you can use this pseudopod to manipulate an object, open or close a door or container, or pick up or set down a Tiny object. The pseudopod contains no sensory organs and can't attack, activate magic items, or lift more than 10 pounds.
The question I have is, using the pseudopod to manipulate an object.... does this mean you can Manipulate a potion of healing?
A potion inside a vial? Yes.
You can open the potion, pick it up, set it down. You can even pour it into your 'mouth'. But that is not activating it. To actually activate the magic item, you must absorb the liquid, which means you must activate the magic item, which takes an action for you to do.
Mog is correct - you can do things like pick the potion bottle up, put it down, etc. Ask your DM how much control you have given that the pseudopod is explicitly completely numb (in the real world this makes you incredibly clumsy, because you need proprioception to track where your limbs are relative to themselves and to you).
so tempting now to have vials, floating inside my plasmoid, and all I have to do is "activate" them, (not trying to get around the action rule, just wondering)
As a DM, I would let you have things floating around inside you. I would also rule that a) Your amorpheous is now limited and b) if you take damage, there is a chance they would be damaged.
For potions of healing, I would rule that they would break and leak out, but you could as a reaction, attempt to activate them for half normal healing, as half of it would leak out of the wound.
I also have a question. It seems odd that the pseudopod you can extend has "no sensory organs" when plasmoids have no sensory organs in the first place.
So, I don't have eyes in the first place, so my entire body works like my "eyes."
Since they make a point to say my pseudopod has "no sensory organs" ... It seems like they intend it to be unable to see, but it just feels weird.
Like this is the ONLY part of my body that's not made up of the nerves that I use for my senses.
It's basically a short range Mage Hand.
You could interpret it like a human growing a 10ft long prehensile fingernail. The psuedopod is a part of you, but it's made of material that is better suited for that particular task.
As such, I'd also rule that no damage is caused if the psuedopod is severed. It's simply trimmed.
So the psuedopod can’t attack but could you make an arm on it to do an unarmed strike? (I figure since the psuedopod is attached to your body and you can make and destroy limbs anywhere on your body as long as you only have 2 from what I read.) Correct me if I’m wrong.
Only if you want to get slapped by the DM.
Combat mechanics are typically spelled out explicitly. If the race entry doesn't specifically say that you get extended reach, then you don't. You can flavor it however you want, but you won't benefit.
Would a plasmoid's pseudopod be able to cast Touch based spells?
If so that is sort of like having Reach for touch-based spells from classes or Magic Initiate
No. The feature specifically outlines what can be done with the appendage, and it does not increase your reach the way a bugbear’s traits do, therefore in the absence of other effects your touch range remains 5 ft.
Getting serious That time I got Reincarnated as a Slime vibes here.
It could be long range Mage hand if you use it together with catapult, 'cause it never states a limit on the distance you can control it from
The Psuedopod specifies what you can and can't do with it, but fails to mention spells in any way. Basically it depends in your DM. It only gives you ten feet of reach, and the spell CANNOT be an attack spell, but it most likely is allowed if it's say, a touch heal. This is mainly because the spell specifies the psuedopod IS still a part of you (up to 6 inches wide and 10 feet long) so think of it as a extendable appendage. Again, speak to the DM beforehand. It would definitely be a main action though if you attempted to do so.
Can I cast a Touch ranged spells on the Pseudopod to affect the Plasmoid?
How to add Tooltips.
You can always touch yourself for a touch spell, unless it has specific language like "touch one other friendly creature".
I am not asking about casting on myself. Can a caster touch a plasmoid pseudopod to affect the plasmoid with a touch spell?
How to add Tooltips.
It's a part of the plasmoid, so yes in general, although for combat purposes you'd be getting into DM's call for if they could claim to be stretching the appendage out beyond their space.
And when I cast a touch spell, do I need to touch the target with my hand or can I use my foot? If they have their hand on my shoulder, am I touching them?
How to add Tooltips.
For combat, they need to be within your character's reach, whatever that is. Out of combat, the exact definition is between you and your DM. If you're asking as a DM, make a call. If you're asking as a player, ask your DM because you're not gonna find an official or definitive answer for odd scenarios like this.