This feat came from the humble wood tales book, basically, if you have wizard or druid levels, you can take the feat and learn two spells from either class (as long as it's of a spell level from the respective list that you could cast at the time of taking the feat). It also lets you chose to bump up either your Int or Wis by one. My issue is that the spells you take will assume the stat usage of either intelligence or wisdom automatically regardless of the stat boost you choose. Is this by design, or is it a technical shortcoming? Does the stat you choose for the feat designate what stat the spells are supposed to use?
I don't own that book but the feat really should say. If Humblewood counts as legacy then it is likely that they default to the casting stat of whichever spell list it comes from because the 2014 rules usually did.
"The Tenders value diversity among ideas, and although they began as a purely druidic order, they have since learned to accept many different ways of thinking about the natural world, especially regarding the application of magic. You are either a wizard who has learned to temper your arcane research with an eye to maintaining the delicate balance of natural forces, or you are a druid who has learned a new understanding of natural magic through study and experimentation. You gain the following benefits:
Increase your Intelligence or Wisdom score by 1, to a maximum of 20.
You can use your choice of Intelligence or Wisdom to make Animal Handling, Arcana, Nature, or Survival checks.
You can choose to learn two spells from either the druid or wizard spell list. Spells you choose must be of a level you can cast. The chosen spells count as spells of your class and are added to your spellbook if you are a wizard or your spells known if you are a druid."
I suppose the snippet of "they count of spells of your class" could imply they are supposed to use the casting mode of the class you took the feat in and the dndB just doesn't account for it now that I look at it...
I suppose the snippet of "they count of spells of your class" could imply they are supposed to use the casting mode of the class you took the feat in and the dndB just doesn't account for it now that I look at it...
That means that it is meant to use your normal casting stat.
I'd suggest you head over to the Bug forum and report it/see if it is a known issue.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
This feat came from the humble wood tales book, basically, if you have wizard or druid levels, you can take the feat and learn two spells from either class (as long as it's of a spell level from the respective list that you could cast at the time of taking the feat). It also lets you chose to bump up either your Int or Wis by one. My issue is that the spells you take will assume the stat usage of either intelligence or wisdom automatically regardless of the stat boost you choose. Is this by design, or is it a technical shortcoming? Does the stat you choose for the feat designate what stat the spells are supposed to use?
I don't own that book but the feat really should say. If Humblewood counts as legacy then it is likely that they default to the casting stat of whichever spell list it comes from because the 2014 rules usually did.
"The Tenders value diversity among ideas, and although they began as a purely druidic order, they have since learned to accept many different ways of thinking about the natural world, especially regarding the application of magic. You are either a wizard who has learned to temper your arcane research with an eye to maintaining the delicate balance of natural forces, or you are a druid who has learned a new understanding of natural magic through study and experimentation. You gain the following benefits:
Increase your Intelligence or Wisdom score by 1, to a maximum of 20.
You can use your choice of Intelligence or Wisdom to make Animal Handling, Arcana, Nature, or Survival checks.
You can choose to learn two spells from either the druid or wizard spell list. Spells you choose must be of a level you can cast. The chosen spells count as spells of your class and are added to your spellbook if you are a wizard or your spells known if you are a druid."
I suppose the snippet of "they count of spells of your class" could imply they are supposed to use the casting mode of the class you took the feat in and the dndB just doesn't account for it now that I look at it...
That means that it is meant to use your normal casting stat.
I'd suggest you head over to the Bug forum and report it/see if it is a known issue.