I'm about to run a very well-known low-level adventure and after reading up on the Grell encounter, was after a bit of clarification on the Grell's attack, please.
The Grell attack wording has changed somewhat between the 2014 and 2024 entries. Previously, I understand that the Grell could only grapple one target at a time. "While grappling the target, the grell has advantage on attack rolls against it and can't use this attack against other targets."
But the 2024 entry completely omits this wording and instead contains the line 'it has the Grappled condition (escape DC 12) from two of ten tentacles.' This would seem to indicate that with successful tentacle attacks, the Grell could grapple a different target on each the next four rounds, potentially holding five targets at once, albeit only able to bite one of them per round. There seems absolutely no reason to use this wording unless it is intended.
It makes quite a big difference to it's tactics and lethality. Thoughts?
I think you're right. This information from the Rules Glossary can help:
One Grapple per Hand. A creature must have a hand free to grapple another creature. Some stat blocks and game effects allow a creature to grapple using a tentacle, a maw, or another body part. Whatever part a grappler uses, it can grapple only one creature at a time with that part, and the grappler can’t use that part to target another creature unless it ends the grapple.
Indeed, the Grell uses two tentacles per Grappled creature, and has a total of ten tentacles, so they can grapple up to five creatures at a time (one per turn, to a total of five that is).
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
I'm about to run a very well-known low-level adventure and after reading up on the Grell encounter, was after a bit of clarification on the Grell's attack, please.
The Grell attack wording has changed somewhat between the 2014 and 2024 entries. Previously, I understand that the Grell could only grapple one target at a time. "While grappling the target, the grell has advantage on attack rolls against it and can't use this attack against other targets."
But the 2024 entry completely omits this wording and instead contains the line 'it has the Grappled condition (escape DC 12) from two of ten tentacles.' This would seem to indicate that with successful tentacle attacks, the Grell could grapple a different target on each the next four rounds, potentially holding five targets at once, albeit only able to bite one of them per round. There seems absolutely no reason to use this wording unless it is intended.
It makes quite a big difference to it's tactics and lethality. Thoughts?
I think you're right. This information from the Rules Glossary can help:
Yup, that would seem to back it up. Many thanks!
Indeed, the Grell uses two tentacles per Grappled creature, and has a total of ten tentacles, so they can grapple up to five creatures at a time (one per turn, to a total of five that is).