My questions are related to the Sorcerer Class specifically to the Subclass Draconic Bloodline in the 2024 rules. Like its a bit confusing for what actually counts to trigger the conditions in that case for my Character.
Let's start with the "Armor". Because at Level 3 I get the Class Feature "Draconic Resilience" thanks to my subclass. As the description says "While you aren’t wearing armor" I only get the benefits if I don't have any Armor on me. Like if I search for Armor on this side it shows me for example "Bark Armor", "Chain Armor" or "Powered Armor" what in my eyes would be obviously wearing armor if I have them equipped so I can't use anything like that. But what about Shields? I mean unlike for the Monk Shields are not listed next to Armor and they also have their own proficiency even I would say they are also armor? So can I basically use a Shield and not wear anything else? Like (item names because I watch a DnD video about them) can I wear a "Goggles of Night", "Boots of Elven Kind", "Hat of Disguise", "Cloak of Protection" or "Gauntlets of Ogre Power"? I would assume out of them I would say only the Gauntlets would count? I just want to understand what I can wear without losing my Draconic Resilience benefits.
Now to the "Weapons". Also at Level 3 I get access to "Draconic Spells", the one that matters for me right now would be the Level 2 Spell "Alter Self". Since we are in the Weapon part of my question you surely know it's about the last section "Natural Weapon". I can use it to turn my hands in for example Claws. Now I have some cases in mind and wonder if they work together with that spell.
Case 1: I make 1 Level into Monk for the "Unarmed Strikes". "Unarmed Strikes" says "Instead of using a weapon to make a melee attack, you can use a punch, kick, headbutt, or similar forceful blow", so would I be able to make a Bonus attack while the Spell is still active or would a hit with claws not qualify for an equal force? Or can it even be considered as an "unarmed attack"? Like I don't have a Weapon in my hand I just use my claws so from my understanding I am unarmed?
Case 2: I make 1 Level into Warlock for the "Eldritch Invocations" where I choose "Pact of the Blade". From what I found online, according to something called "sage advice" it's stated I can use Natural Weapons like I get from my Spell as my Pact Weapon making me use Cha if I use Natural Weapons. So can I now use "Alter Self" through "Pact of the Blade" as a Bonus Action without using Spell Slot? Because I can just conjure my pact weapon? And what proficiency would that be I get through the Pact?
Case 3: I take the "Rune Shaper" Feat. What allows me to "inscribe each rune you know onto one nonmagical Weapon". So can I now put Runes on my hands? I mean according to the Pact ruling they would be seen as a weapon and they are not magical right? So I would put the Storm Rune on them so I am able to Cast the first Level Spell "Thudnerwave" from it without any Spell Slots used.
Case 4: I take 8 Levels into Cleric and take the Tempest Domain subclasse. I can "infuse my Weapon with divine Energy" so as soon as I hit them with my weapon they get extra Thunder Damage from "Divine Strike".
Case 5: An Artificer using there infusions to use "Enhanced Weapon" to grant me a +1 on attack roles for my Weapon. That should work right?
Case 6: I take the Feat "Dual Wielder". Do Claws on each Hand from "Alter Self" as 2 separate melee weapons giving me the +1 on AC or would they count as one single Weapon? And if not would it then count as a 2 handed weapon and benefit from Great Weapon Mastery?
I really hope someone can help me clarify how these things work together.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
My questions are related to the Sorcerer Class specifically to the Subclass Draconic Bloodline in the 2024 rules. Like its a bit confusing for what actually counts to trigger the conditions in that case for my Character.
Let's start with the "Armor". Because at Level 3 I get the Class Feature "Draconic Resilience" thanks to my subclass. As the description says "While you aren’t wearing armor" I only get the benefits if I don't have any Armor on me. Like if I search for Armor on this side it shows me for example "Bark Armor", "Chain Armor" or "Powered Armor" what in my eyes would be obviously wearing armor if I have them equipped so I can't use anything like that. But what about Shields? I mean unlike for the Monk Shields are not listed next to Armor and they also have their own proficiency even I would say they are also armor? So can I basically use a Shield and not wear anything else? Like (item names because I watch a DnD video about them) can I wear a "Goggles of Night", "Boots of Elven Kind", "Hat of Disguise", "Cloak of Protection" or "Gauntlets of Ogre Power"? I would assume out of them I would say only the Gauntlets would count? I just want to understand what I can wear without losing my Draconic Resilience benefits.
Now to the "Weapons". Also at Level 3 I get access to "Draconic Spells", the one that matters for me right now would be the Level 2 Spell "Alter Self". Since we are in the Weapon part of my question you surely know it's about the last section "Natural Weapon". I can use it to turn my hands in for example Claws. Now I have some cases in mind and wonder if they work together with that spell.
Case 1: I make 1 Level into Monk for the "Unarmed Strikes". "Unarmed Strikes" says "Instead of using a weapon to make a melee attack, you can use a punch, kick, headbutt, or similar forceful blow", so would I be able to make a Bonus attack while the Spell is still active or would a hit with claws not qualify for an equal force? Or can it even be considered as an "unarmed attack"? Like I don't have a Weapon in my hand I just use my claws so from my understanding I am unarmed?
Case 2: I make 1 Level into Warlock for the "Eldritch Invocations" where I choose "Pact of the Blade". From what I found online, according to something called "sage advice" it's stated I can use Natural Weapons like I get from my Spell as my Pact Weapon making me use Cha if I use Natural Weapons. So can I now use "Alter Self" through "Pact of the Blade" as a Bonus Action without using Spell Slot? Because I can just conjure my pact weapon? And what proficiency would that be I get through the Pact?
Case 3: I take the "Rune Shaper" Feat. What allows me to "inscribe each rune you know onto one nonmagical Weapon". So can I now put Runes on my hands? I mean according to the Pact ruling they would be seen as a weapon and they are not magical right? So I would put the Storm Rune on them so I am able to Cast the first Level Spell "Thudnerwave" from it without any Spell Slots used.
Case 4: I take 8 Levels into Cleric and take the Tempest Domain subclasse. I can "infuse my Weapon with divine Energy" so as soon as I hit them with my weapon they get extra Thunder Damage from "Divine Strike".
Case 5: An Artificer using there infusions to use "Enhanced Weapon" to grant me a +1 on attack roles for my Weapon. That should work right?
Case 6: I take the Feat "Dual Wielder". Do Claws on each Hand from "Alter Self" as 2 separate melee weapons giving me the +1 on AC or would they count as one single Weapon? And if not would it then count as a 2 handed weapon and benefit from Great Weapon Mastery?
I really hope someone can help me clarify how these things work together.