I've heard multiple rulings on this from different DMs so I figured I'd pose it here:
Can you cast spells with no material components without an arcane focus? Like say I'm a wizard and my wand was taken from me, can I cast spells whose components are only VS or M? What about cantrips?
I've had a DM say that a spellcaster needs a focus to cast any spells, but that doesn't necessarily make sense if you're using a component pouch, since the going assumption with the pouch is that you're drawing the non-costly materials from it and not channeling magic through the bag itself. By that reasoning, if a spell had no material components then you couldn't cast it if you *just* had the pouch, right?
An Arcane Focus or Component Pouch is used to replace the material component in spells where the material component does not have a GP value. Material components that have a GP value are still needed. An Arcane Focus, a Component Pouch, or a material component is not required for spells like Fire Bolt that don't have a material component.
Tell your DM that if he wants to "disarm" your spellcaster, tying your hands up and/or gagging you will do just as fine (but may require spells like Silence or several grapple checks).
The PHB gives clear guidance on how to prevent someone from casting a spell, based on the components required. (Ch. 10, under "Casting A Spell")
* If the spell has a Verbal component, gag them or put them in the area of a Silence spell.
* If the spell has a Somatic component, make sure they don't have a free hand
* If the spell has a Material component, take away their component pouch, arcane focus, or make sure the required components are out of reach(some spells only need simple things you could find lying around, like a cup of water, a rock, etc)
If the spell only has Somatic and Material components, silencing them won't stop the casting of the spell. If it only has Verbal and Somatic, taking away their focus or component pouch won't stop them. Etc.
Now, if your DM wants to deviate from those rules that's fine, but they should tell you ahead of time.
Disclaimer: This signature is a badge of membership in the Forum Loudmouth Club. We are all friends. We are not attacking each other. We are engaging in spirited, friendly debate with one another. We may get snarky, but these are not attacks. Thank you for not reporting us.
An Arcane Focus replaces non-valuable material spell components.
In the absence of non-valuable material spell components, an Arcane Focus is not required, RAW.
I believe the focus can replace the valuable component(one with a price attached) during casting, as long as you actually have the component. In other words, you don't need to drop your focus so you can grab that ruby dust to cast Forcecage, as long as you HAVE the ruby dust.
An Arcane Focus replaces non-valuable material spell components.
In the absence of non-valuable material spell components, an Arcane Focus is not required, RAW.
I believe the focus can replace the valuable component(one with a price attached) during casting, as long as you actually have the component. In other words, you don't need to drop your focus so you can grab that ruby dust to cast Forcecage, as long as you HAVE the ruby dust.
That gets a little tricky with consumable components, though. The component should still vanish - which could happen, I guess, but it seems like a little more of a stretch. I mean, I have a bag of the component in my backpack, and I can rattle off a string of the spell, and they mystically vanish out of the backpack?
I'd still allow it - but it seems a little more iffy.
Disclaimer: This signature is a badge of membership in the Forum Loudmouth Club. We are all friends. We are not attacking each other. We are engaging in spirited, friendly debate with one another. We may get snarky, but these are not attacks. Thank you for not reporting us.
To throw another complication into the mix, many spells require a material component with a GP value and specify that the component is consumed in the course of casting the spell. The rest of the spells that require a material component with a GP value don’t consume the component when the spell is cast so you can use the same material component, for example a 50 GP diamond, forever for that one spell.
I've heard multiple rulings on this from different DMs so I figured I'd pose it here:
Can you cast spells with no material components without an arcane focus? Like say I'm a wizard and my wand was taken from me, can I cast spells whose components are only VS or M? What about cantrips?
I've had a DM say that a spellcaster needs a focus to cast any spells, but that doesn't necessarily make sense if you're using a component pouch, since the going assumption with the pouch is that you're drawing the non-costly materials from it and not channeling magic through the bag itself. By that reasoning, if a spell had no material components then you couldn't cast it if you *just* had the pouch, right?
An Arcane Focus or Component Pouch is used to replace the material component in spells where the material component does not have a GP value. Material components that have a GP value are still needed. An Arcane Focus, a Component Pouch, or a material component is not required for spells like Fire Bolt that don't have a material component.
Professional computer geek
And that goes the same for higher level spells that don't use material components? Just to clarify since your example is a cantrip
It doesn't matter what the level is. The requirements outlined above are exactly the same.
Cool, just clarifying. That was exactly my argument and they said I couldn't do anything without my wand. *grumble grumble*
Tell your DM that if he wants to "disarm" your spellcaster, tying your hands up and/or gagging you will do just as fine (but may require spells like Silence or several grapple checks).
I am one with the Force. The Force is with me.
Just disarming you won't do it, but as an all powerful DM, he could create an antimagic field or a restraint that mimicked one's effect.
The PHB gives clear guidance on how to prevent someone from casting a spell, based on the components required. (Ch. 10, under "Casting A Spell")
* If the spell has a Verbal component, gag them or put them in the area of a Silence spell.
* If the spell has a Somatic component, make sure they don't have a free hand
* If the spell has a Material component, take away their component pouch, arcane focus, or make sure the required components are out of reach(some spells only need simple things you could find lying around, like a cup of water, a rock, etc)
If the spell only has Somatic and Material components, silencing them won't stop the casting of the spell. If it only has Verbal and Somatic, taking away their focus or component pouch won't stop them. Etc.
Now, if your DM wants to deviate from those rules that's fine, but they should tell you ahead of time.
I have to agree with everyone so far.
An Arcane Focus replaces non-valuable material spell components.
In the absence of non-valuable material spell components, an Arcane Focus is not required, RAW.
My DM Philosophy, as summed up by other people: https://drive.google.com/file/d/1rN5w4-azTq3Kbn0Yvk9nfqQhwQ1R5by1/view
Disclaimer: This signature is a badge of membership in the Forum Loudmouth Club. We are all friends. We are not attacking each other. We are engaging in spirited, friendly debate with one another. We may get snarky, but these are not attacks. Thank you for not reporting us.
I believe the focus can replace the valuable component(one with a price attached) during casting, as long as you actually have the component. In other words, you don't need to drop your focus so you can grab that ruby dust to cast Forcecage, as long as you HAVE the ruby dust.
That gets a little tricky with consumable components, though. The component should still vanish - which could happen, I guess, but it seems like a little more of a stretch. I mean, I have a bag of the component in my backpack, and I can rattle off a string of the spell, and they mystically vanish out of the backpack?
I'd still allow it - but it seems a little more iffy.
My DM Philosophy, as summed up by other people: https://drive.google.com/file/d/1rN5w4-azTq3Kbn0Yvk9nfqQhwQ1R5by1/view
Disclaimer: This signature is a badge of membership in the Forum Loudmouth Club. We are all friends. We are not attacking each other. We are engaging in spirited, friendly debate with one another. We may get snarky, but these are not attacks. Thank you for not reporting us.
To throw another complication into the mix, many spells require a material component with a GP value and specify that the component is consumed in the course of casting the spell. The rest of the spells that require a material component with a GP value don’t consume the component when the spell is cast so you can use the same material component, for example a 50 GP diamond, forever for that one spell.
Professional computer geek