I had several discussions with several people about the 2024 attack rules.
The rule states:
When you take the Attack action, you can make one attack roll with a weapon or an Unarmed Strike.
Equipping and Unequipping Weapons. You can either equip or unequip one weapon when you make an attack as part of this action. You do so either before or after the attack. If you equip a weapon before an attack, you don’t need to use it for that attack. Equipping a weapon includes drawing it from a sheath or picking it up. Unequipping a weapon includes sheathing, stowing, or dropping it.
Moving between Attacks. If you move on your turn and have a feature, such as Extra Attack, that gives you more than one attack as part of the Attack action, you can use some or all of that movement to move between those attacks.
Now, many people say this is a new rule of 2024 and you can have multiple weapon interactions if you have extra attacks.
As in: i attack with weapon A, i stow it away as part of the attack. I extra attack and i draw weapon B and attack with it as part of the attack.
Is this how the rule should be or we just have a single free object interaction, that we can use during any attack?
I'd really love to have some official confirmation on this.
- The Attack action lets you equip or unequip one weapon once per attack as part of the Attack action. So if you have more than one attack, you can take advantage of that. - The Ammunition property lets you draw the ammunition as part of the attack itself (you need a free hand to load a one-handed weapon). This isn't necessarily part of the Attack action, so it can also happen when making an attack as a Bonus Action or Reaction. - The Thrown property lets you draw the weapon you're using for a ranged attack as part of the attack itself. And again, not necessarily as part of the Attack action.
In addition to the previous interactions:
- The Dual Wielder feat lets you draw or stow two weapons that lack the Two-Handed property when you would normally be able to draw or stow only one. - Following the Time-Limited Object Interactions and Interacting with Things rules, you can interact with one object or feature of the environment for free, during either your move or action. The interaction could be drawing or stowing a weapon. If you want to interact with a second object, you need to take the Utilize action.
...allows you to equip or unequip one weapon with each attack
What does that mean, you can load a weapon or does it mean you can holster/draw a weapon?
According to the rules, equipping a weapon includes drawing it from a sheath or picking it up; unequipping a weapon includes sheathing, stowing, or dropping it. Loading ammunition into a weapon is something else that you do as part of making an attack.
A lot of tables do not allow weapon juggling, and regardless of what the rule now says, only allow one draw/stow per Attack Action, not per attack.
How you decide to do it, is up to you.
I'm just going to point out that while it's fair to warn about this, it's also fair to point out that this is 100% a homebrew rule if the table decides this. The only objectively RAW reading is that weapon juggling is allowed.
The updated rules (which are reflected in the online versions of all the documents) clarify that you can equip or unequip a single weapon as a part of an Attack action. But that means you only get one such interaction per attack. Meaning, if you are a fifth-level Fighter with a Longsword equipped, you can attack with it, then stow it as part of that attack, then draw a Battleaxe as part of your next attack and attack with that. However, as you only get one such interaction, if you are an 11th-level Fighter, you could only spend your third attack stowing the Battleaxe, not drawing a Club. That said, you could use your one-time object interaction to draw the Club, however if you were a 20th-level fighter, you could not stow the Club and re-equip your Longsword.
No the revised core rules let you equip or unequip one weapon when you make an attack as part of the Attack action. So if you can make 3 attacks, then you can equip or unequip up to 3 weapons.
The updated rules (which are reflected in the online versions of all the documents) clarify that you can equip or unequip a single weapon as a part of an Attack action. But that means you only get one such interaction per attack. Meaning, if you are a fifth-level Fighter with a Longsword equipped, you can attack with it, then stow it as part of that attack, then draw a Battleaxe as part of your next attack and attack with that. However, as you only get one such interaction, if you are an 11th-level Fighter, you could only spend your third attack stowing the Battleaxe, not drawing a Club. That said, you could use your one-time object interaction to draw the Club, however if you were a 20th-level fighter, you could not stow the Club and re-equip your Longsword.
Not quite correct, but that's the general gist, at least.
You could hold the battleaxe in one hand and draw the club with the other and then attack with it for your third attack.
No the revised core rules let you equip or unequip one weapon when you make an attack as part of the Attack action. So if you can make 3 attacks, then you can equip or unequip up to 3 weapons.
The point of the poster was that it's "equip OR unequip", not "equip and/or unequip". You get one of them per attack using the attack action. If you've unequipped, then you cannot also equip on that same attack.
Weapon juggling and Cleave could also be an option to gain one more extra attack.
Yeah this rampage can unfold this way ;
Take Attack action, equip Shortsword & Scimitar and attack with Shortsword [Attack action]
Take Bonus Action and attack with Scimitar [Dual Wielder]
Attack with Scimitar and unequip Shortsword & Scimitar [Nick Mastery]
Equip Greataxe and attack with Greataxe [Extra Attack]
Attack with Greataxe [Cleave]
Attack with Greataxe [Hoard Breaker]
Take Attack action and attack with Greataxe [Haste]
I lost the context for this answer. This is 7 attacks. What level and what class/subclass (if needed) is this 7 attack PC? Because of haste/hoard breaker/etc. I assume that this is a one time turn until a long rest. How many attacks are in the next turn?
It's just an example of how you can interact with weapons, but it could be a level 5 Hunter Ranger with Extra Attack and the Dual Wielder feat. Regarding Horde Breaker:
Horde Breaker.Once on each of your turns when you make an attack with a weapon, you can make another attack with the same weapon against a different creature that is within 5 feet of the original target, that is within the weapon’s range, and that you haven’t attacked this turn.
So depending on the scenario, you could make the same number of attacks if Haste is still available and you can apply Horde Breaker again.
EDIT: you would need to unequip the Greataxe in the last step.
I had several discussions with several people about the 2024 attack rules.
The rule states:
When you take the Attack action, you can make one attack roll with a weapon or an Unarmed Strike.
Equipping and Unequipping Weapons. You can either equip or unequip one weapon when you make an attack as part of this action. You do so either before or after the attack. If you equip a weapon before an attack, you don’t need to use it for that attack. Equipping a weapon includes drawing it from a sheath or picking it up. Unequipping a weapon includes sheathing, stowing, or dropping it.
Moving between Attacks. If you move on your turn and have a feature, such as Extra Attack, that gives you more than one attack as part of the Attack action, you can use some or all of that movement to move between those attacks.
Now, many people say this is a new rule of 2024 and you can have multiple weapon interactions if you have extra attacks.
As in: i attack with weapon A, i stow it away as part of the attack. I extra attack and i draw weapon B and attack with it as part of the attack.
Is this how the rule should be or we just have a single free object interaction, that we can use during any attack?
I'd really love to have some official confirmation on this.
When you take the attack action, you get one more object interaction for each attack you can make.
No, you don't
You get to draw or stow one weapon as part of each attack, not a full object interaction.
Find my D&D Beyond articles here
As a summary:
- The Attack action lets you equip or unequip one weapon once per attack as part of the Attack action. So if you have more than one attack, you can take advantage of that.
- The Ammunition property lets you draw the ammunition as part of the attack itself (you need a free hand to load a one-handed weapon). This isn't necessarily part of the Attack action, so it can also happen when making an attack as a Bonus Action or Reaction.
- The Thrown property lets you draw the weapon you're using for a ranged attack as part of the attack itself. And again, not necessarily as part of the Attack action.
In addition to the previous interactions:
- The Dual Wielder feat lets you draw or stow two weapons that lack the Two-Handed property when you would normally be able to draw or stow only one.
- Following the Time-Limited Object Interactions and Interacting with Things rules, you can interact with one object or feature of the environment for free, during either your move or action. The interaction could be drawing or stowing a weapon. If you want to interact with a second object, you need to take the Utilize action.
The new SRD 5.2.1 has a conversion guide from SRD 5.1 to SRD 5.2.1 for creators looking to update their materials SRD v5.2.1 - System Reference Document - D&D Beyond
It contains the following text confirming that you're intended to be able to equip and unequip on each attack of the Attack action;
A lot of tables do not allow weapon juggling, and regardless of what the rule now says, only allow one draw/stow per Attack Action, not per attack.
How you decide to do it, is up to you.
Playing D&D since 1982
Have played every version of the game since Basic (original Red Box Set), except that abomination sometimes called 4e.
What does that mean, you can load a weapon or does it mean you can holster/draw a weapon?
According to the rules, equipping a weapon includes drawing it from a sheath or picking it up; unequipping a weapon includes sheathing, stowing, or dropping it. Loading ammunition into a weapon is something else that you do as part of making an attack.
pronouns: he/she/they
I'm just going to point out that while it's fair to warn about this, it's also fair to point out that this is 100% a homebrew rule if the table decides this. The only objectively RAW reading is that weapon juggling is allowed.
The updated rules (which are reflected in the online versions of all the documents) clarify that you can equip or unequip a single weapon as a part of an Attack action. But that means you only get one such interaction per attack. Meaning, if you are a fifth-level Fighter with a Longsword equipped, you can attack with it, then stow it as part of that attack, then draw a Battleaxe as part of your next attack and attack with that. However, as you only get one such interaction, if you are an 11th-level Fighter, you could only spend your third attack stowing the Battleaxe, not drawing a Club. That said, you could use your one-time object interaction to draw the Club, however if you were a 20th-level fighter, you could not stow the Club and re-equip your Longsword.
No the revised core rules let you equip or unequip one weapon when you make an attack as part of the Attack action. So if you can make 3 attacks, then you can equip or unequip up to 3 weapons.
Not quite correct, but that's the general gist, at least.
You could hold the battleaxe in one hand and draw the club with the other and then attack with it for your third attack.
The point of the poster was that it's "equip OR unequip", not "equip and/or unequip". You get one of them per attack using the attack action. If you've unequipped, then you cannot also equip on that same attack.
If the interaction repeats for every attack, i think that they are indipendent from each other. Otherwise it wouldnt make sense.
I feel now i'm getting a bit more confused, tho
If it helps, let me put an example here from a different thread (you can find more examples on page #9):
I lost the context for this answer. This is 7 attacks. What level and what class/subclass (if needed) is this 7 attack PC? Because of haste/hoard breaker/etc. I assume that this is a one time turn until a long rest. How many attacks are in the next turn?
It's just an example of how you can interact with weapons, but it could be a level 5 Hunter Ranger with Extra Attack and the Dual Wielder feat. Regarding Horde Breaker:
So depending on the scenario, you could make the same number of attacks if Haste is still available and you can apply Horde Breaker again.
EDIT: you would need to unequip the Greataxe in the last step.