I wanted to see if there was a ruling on the interaction between Bladesinger extra attack and Polearm master
Primarily the following scenario:
Primary action: Attack
Chill touch+quaterstaff
Bonus action: ???
PAM mentions that the bonus action attack with the weapon in question can only be done if "you attack only with (feat related weapon here)". If that is the case, would that imply that if one of those attacks is a non-weapon cantrip (booming blade or green flame blade) the player cannot use the bonus action attack granted by PAM?
It isn't even that you must attack with the feat related weapon, it is that you must use the attack action and attack only with that weapon. If you are using Bladesinger's Extra Attack and make one attack and cast one cantrip (BB or GFB included, or even chill touch -- some saving throw cantrip) you could then still use the BA given by the feat.
You need to do that though, you couldn't cast GFB *and* chill touch, regardless of the feat. The bladesinger's version of Extra Attack lets you replace one attack with a cantrip, not both.
I'm not sure, but some people might say that attack cantrips like firebolt (or chill touch) don't work with PAM, since the type of attack isn't specified in the feat.
While most of this looks correct, Chill Touch falls under the same category as Fire Bolt as an attack spell. There's not a save involved with it.
But yeah, attack spells seem to disqualify the BA attack. I'd argue that BB and GFB, because they still have you attack with the designated weapon, don't disqualify it.
GFB and BB should work for PAM. You are still attacking only with that weapon, per the feat, and is part of the Attack Action also required. The rider damage, to me, would be no different if you had a Flametongue version of an appropriate weapon.
At 6th level, bladesingers can attack twice whenever they take the Attack action. They can cast a cantrip in place of one of the attacks, which is another handy addition that the Tasha’s Cauldron of Everything version of this subclass instituted. Not only does this change tie in with the image of a magus using one hand to sling spells as the other slashes away, it also ups the bladesinger’s flexibility. No longer do bladesingers need to choose between making two attacks or casting booming blade — now they can do both.
Dram began his magic journey by secretly studying spellbooks while transporting them to Candlekeep years ago. Zannan has since helped him learn more spells, and the half-orc has the War Caster feat to supplement his spellcasting in combat. Dram’s preferred cantrips, which he’ll often use in place of his Extra Attack, are blade ward, booming blade, green-flame blade, sword burst, and true strike.
Though that list recommends true strike, which is still a useless cantrip that is inferior to any other cantrip you could take..
A: Whether that's the case or not is irrelevant for the example they're trying to set. B: It's a little less useless when you can use it to set up your attack for the next turn on the same turn you also attack with the last turn's benefit.
As a continuous cycle it's less effective than two weapon attacks; when trying to alternate between casting 1 round and attacking twice the next it's a little more effective against high AC enemies, but combat rarely runs long enough for it to show. And that's before you consider the part where it takes up your Concentration slot and if you lose Concentration then you just lost one of your attacks.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
I wanted to see if there was a ruling on the interaction between Bladesinger extra attack and Polearm master
Primarily the following scenario:
Primary action: Attack
Chill touch+quaterstaff
Bonus action: ???
PAM mentions that the bonus action attack with the weapon in question can only be done if "you attack only with (feat related weapon here)". If that is the case, would that imply that if one of those attacks is a non-weapon cantrip (booming blade or green flame blade) the player cannot use the bonus action attack granted by PAM?
It isn't even that you must attack with the feat related weapon, it is that you must use the attack action and attack only with that weapon. If you are using Bladesinger's Extra Attack and make one attack and cast one cantrip (BB or GFB included, or even
chill touch-- some saving throw cantrip) you could then still use the BA given by the feat.You need to do that though, you couldn't cast GFB *and* chill touch, regardless of the feat. The bladesinger's version of Extra Attack lets you replace one attack with a cantrip, not both.
I'm not sure, but some people might say that attack cantrips like firebolt (or chill touch) don't work with PAM, since the type of attack isn't specified in the feat.
While most of this looks correct, Chill Touch falls under the same category as Fire Bolt as an attack spell. There's not a save involved with it.
But yeah, attack spells seem to disqualify the BA attack. I'd argue that BB and GFB, because they still have you attack with the designated weapon, don't disqualify it.
oops. My memory is poor.
GFB and BB should work for PAM. You are still attacking only with that weapon, per the feat, and is part of the Attack Action also required. The rider damage, to me, would be no different if you had a Flametongue version of an appropriate weapon.
EZD6 by DM Scotty
https://www.drivethrurpg.com/en/product/397599/EZD6-Core-Rulebook?
Just for the record, this article Wizard 101: Bladesinging From Tasha's Cauldron of Everything with the following texts about BB and GFB:
Though that list recommends true strike, which is still a useless cantrip that is inferior to any other cantrip you could take..
Find your own truth, choose your enemies carefully, and never deal with a dragon.
"Canon" is what's factual to D&D lore. "Cannon" is what you're going to be shot with if you keep getting the word wrong.
A: Whether that's the case or not is irrelevant for the example they're trying to set.
B: It's a little less useless when you can use it to set up your attack for the next turn on the same turn you also attack with the last turn's benefit.
As a continuous cycle it's less effective than two weapon attacks; when trying to alternate between casting 1 round and attacking twice the next it's a little more effective against high AC enemies, but combat rarely runs long enough for it to show. And that's before you consider the part where it takes up your Concentration slot and if you lose Concentration then you just lost one of your attacks.