I have a pretty boss half-orc cleric. This guy casts Inflict Wounds then proceeds to swan dives into a trap pit with three other characters already in it!
I had a little debate with my DM over this put didn't care too much about it.
My question is...
Since it's a touch spell, if I touch multiple people at the same time would it affect them all? Or only one?
The only exception I know of is 3 levels of Sorcerer for the metamagic ability Twin Spell. For the spell's level in sorcery point cost, the caster can twin it against two targets in range.
There's also the higher level version of a Death Cleric's Reaper which allows multiple targets of a spell. Not sure if it applies to touch spells, though.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
Characters:
Grishkar Darkmoor, Necromancer of Nerull the Despiser Kelvin Rabbitfoot, Diviner, con artist, always hunting for a good sale Bründir Halfshield, Valor Bard, three-time Sheercleft Drinking Competition Champion, Hometown hero
Mechanically. The spell targets one creature.Even if you touched all of the targets it no different than saying you pointed a crossbow at two other targets after firing. It doesn't make more bolts fly out of it.
Touch spells are basically the same thematically .You load up the spell then discharge it on touch. It doesn't matter if you play duck duck goose with every bad guy after casting it, it already went off on the first attempt.
Think of it like static electricity, you build it up and zap someone, now (unless you are a sorcerer) you have used that charge and can touch whoever you want and they won't get a zap from you.
Public Mod Note
(MellieDM):
Please do not revive threads that have concluded so long ago, as per our Thread Necromancy rules. Thank you!
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
I have a pretty boss half-orc cleric. This guy casts Inflict Wounds then proceeds to swan dives into a trap pit with three other characters already in it!
I had a little debate with my DM over this put didn't care too much about it.
My question is...
Since it's a touch spell, if I touch multiple people at the same time would it affect them all? Or only one?
Only one. The spell description does say " you touch a creature. " (emphasis mine)
The only exception I know of is 3 levels of Sorcerer for the metamagic ability Twin Spell. For the spell's level in sorcery point cost, the caster can twin it against two targets in range.
There's also the higher level version of a Death Cleric's Reaper which allows multiple targets of a spell. Not sure if it applies to touch spells, though.
Characters:
Grishkar Darkmoor, Necromancer of Nerull the Despiser
Kelvin Rabbitfoot, Diviner, con artist, always hunting for a good sale
Bründir Halfshield, Valor Bard, three-time Sheercleft Drinking Competition Champion, Hometown hero
Mechanically. The spell targets one creature.Even if you touched all of the targets it no different than saying you pointed a crossbow at two other targets after firing. It doesn't make more bolts fly out of it.
Touch spells are basically the same thematically .You load up the spell then discharge it on touch. It doesn't matter if you play duck duck goose with every bad guy after casting it, it already went off on the first attempt.
Think of it like static electricity, you build it up and zap someone, now (unless you are a sorcerer) you have used that charge and can touch whoever you want and they won't get a zap from you.