Actually, you do indeed roll damage for that attack roll and that damage can be altered by the rules for a critical hit. But the 10d10 from the Feature would be unchanged.
Making an Attack
3. Resolve the attack. You make the attack roll. On a hit, you roll damage, unless the particular attack has rules that specify otherwise. Some attacks cause special effects in addition to or instead of damage.
Then:
Hurl Through Hell
Starting at 14th level, when you hit a creature with an attack, you can use this feature
So, the damage roll is made as part of the hit while the attack is being resolved. Once that hit is resolved, that hit creates a trigger which gives the character an opportunity to use this Feature.
But do i roll damage for that attack roll?, or i simply hit and subject is teleported and dony recieve dmg from my atk?
Yes, you do your usual damage from the attack (which in this case involves the dice being doubled for the crit), but the Hurl Through Hell damage is separate and remains 10d10
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
Active characters:
Carric Aquissar, elven wannabe artist in his deconstructionist period (Archfey warlock) Lan Kidogo, mapach archaeologist and treasure hunter (Knowledge cleric) Mardan Ferres, elven private investigator obsessed with that one unsolved murder (Assassin rogue) Xhekhetiel, halfling survivor of a Betrayer Gods cult (Runechild sorcerer/fighter)
I think the 2024 PHB changed when the damage happens. It now just says that the target takes 8d10 Psychic damage, but it doesn't say WHEN the damage happens. Specifically it says: "The target takes 8d10 Psychic damage if it isn't a Fiend, and it has the Incapacitated condition until the end of your next turn, when it returns...."
Does this mean the damage is immediate? Does it mean the damage happens during the target's lost turn? Or has it not changed?
If the damage happens immediately doesn't that mean it can Crit now?
Good day people,
Hurl through hell is activated on attack roll, lets say on that attack roll i rolled nat 20,
As i understand i dont do the dmg calculations for that roll and target is teleported, when returned take 10d10 dmg.
But what if atrack role that triggered teleportation was nat 20, nothing changes?
No. I'd say no because the damage isn't directly part of the attack unlike divine smite. And the damage doesn't occur at the same time of the attack.
Also sage advice has a similar ruling because the damage is dealt through a saving throw, not directly part of the attack: https://www.sageadvice.eu/critical-poison-damage/
Yeah, because it isn't attack damage, SappyLumberjack is right. It doesn't crit.
But do i roll damage for that attack roll?, or i simply hit and subject is teleported and dony recieve dmg from my atk?
Actually, you do indeed roll damage for that attack roll and that damage can be altered by the rules for a critical hit. But the 10d10 from the Feature would be unchanged.
Then:
So, the damage roll is made as part of the hit while the attack is being resolved. Once that hit is resolved, that hit creates a trigger which gives the character an opportunity to use this Feature.
Yes, you do your usual damage from the attack (which in this case involves the dice being doubled for the crit), but the Hurl Through Hell damage is separate and remains 10d10
Active characters:
Carric Aquissar, elven wannabe artist in his deconstructionist period (Archfey warlock)
Lan Kidogo, mapach archaeologist and treasure hunter (Knowledge cleric)
Mardan Ferres, elven private investigator obsessed with that one unsolved murder (Assassin rogue)
Xhekhetiel, halfling survivor of a Betrayer Gods cult (Runechild sorcerer/fighter)
Thank you very much my friends for clarification!
Wait wait wait.
I think the 2024 PHB changed when the damage happens. It now just says that the target takes 8d10 Psychic damage, but it doesn't say WHEN the damage happens. Specifically it says: "The target takes 8d10 Psychic damage if it isn't a Fiend, and it has the Incapacitated condition until the end of your next turn, when it returns...."
Does this mean the damage is immediate? Does it mean the damage happens during the target's lost turn? Or has it not changed?
If the damage happens immediately doesn't that mean it can Crit now?
Could you please quote the entire updated feature? I feel like we're getting an incomplete picture from the section you've quoted.
Can confirm that it still doesn't benefit from a crit. I don't have the exact wording in front of me, but I saw the feature.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9_6mQYBnKZ4&t=1095s
I don't have the exact language of the book to show you but this guy does. Go to 28:00 in the video to see the new language of the Feature.