The 11th level feature allows me to store a 1st or 2nd level spell in an item. While considering which spell to use, Cure Wounds came up as a good option but it has the range of touch.
Does this mean the Spell Storing Item needs to be touching the target of Cure Wounds?
OR
Can the spell effect be produced at range? If so, what range?
It makes the most sense to me that the item would have to touch the target but wanted to try and cover my bases. (I know a conversation with my DM will be necessary, just want the best read RAW as well)
Fairly sure the STI needs to be held in one hand whilst the other is used to cast CW on the target. No idea why you'd think the STI lets you cast a touch spell at range? Similarly not sure what wording makes you think the item needs to touch the target of the casting?
The wording of Spell Storing Item is that "a creature can take an action to produce the spell's effect from it" so I think that a touch spell produced from the item would mean the item has to touch the target. However, "produce the spell's effect" is different from casting the spell and I want to make sure that mobility is considered for whoever will hold/use the item. Other posts have lauded CW as a great spell to store but it can be easily thwarted if someone gets restrained, slowed, grappled, or blocked in any way.
Spell Storing Item doesn't change the range of the spell it lets you store. Producing the effect of Cure Wounds still requires touching your target (not necessarily with the item itself).
However, the Artificer does have access to the Homunculus Servant infusion which could either deliver a spell with range touch (such as Cure Wounds) using it's Channel Magic reaction or it could itself hold the Spell Storing Item and be commanded to use the item to produce the spell's effect.
Though I suppose technically it's a DM ruling if "producing the spell's effect" is equivalent enough to "casting" to work with Channel Magic. I personally would rule it that way.
However, the Artificer does have access to the Homunculus Servant infusion which could either deliver a spell with range touch (such as Cure Wounds) using it's Channel Magic reaction or it could itself hold the Spell Storing Item and be commanded to use the item to produce the spell's effect.
Technically, RAW a Homunculus Servant wouldn't be able to use a Spell Storing Item because it specifies that a creature needs to use it, and the HS is a construct.
RAW-wise there isn't an issue. Constructs are creatures, they aren't humanoids. As others have mentioned SSI doesn't change the range of the spell it reproduces.
The 11th level feature allows me to store a 1st or 2nd level spell in an item. While considering which spell to use, Cure Wounds came up as a good option but it has the range of touch.
Does this mean the Spell Storing Item needs to be touching the target of Cure Wounds?
OR
Can the spell effect be produced at range? If so, what range?
It makes the most sense to me that the item would have to touch the target but wanted to try and cover my bases. (I know a conversation with my DM will be necessary, just want the best read RAW as well)
Fairly sure the STI needs to be held in one hand whilst the other is used to cast CW on the target. No idea why you'd think the STI lets you cast a touch spell at range? Similarly not sure what wording makes you think the item needs to touch the target of the casting?
The wording of Spell Storing Item is that "a creature can take an action to produce the spell's effect from it" so I think that a touch spell produced from the item would mean the item has to touch the target. However, "produce the spell's effect" is different from casting the spell and I want to make sure that mobility is considered for whoever will hold/use the item. Other posts have lauded CW as a great spell to store but it can be easily thwarted if someone gets restrained, slowed, grappled, or blocked in any way.
Spell Storing Item doesn't change the range of the spell it lets you store. Producing the effect of Cure Wounds still requires touching your target (not necessarily with the item itself).
However, the Artificer does have access to the Homunculus Servant infusion which could either deliver a spell with range touch (such as Cure Wounds) using it's Channel Magic reaction or it could itself hold the Spell Storing Item and be commanded to use the item to produce the spell's effect.
Though I suppose technically it's a DM ruling if "producing the spell's effect" is equivalent enough to "casting" to work with Channel Magic. I personally would rule it that way.
Technically, RAW a Homunculus Servant wouldn't be able to use a Spell Storing Item because it specifies that a creature needs to use it, and the HS is a construct.
RAW-wise there isn't an issue. Constructs are creatures, they aren't humanoids. As others have mentioned SSI doesn't change the range of the spell it reproduces.
Huh, TIL! Thanks!