I am a DM that has a player using a Gnome Artificer Battle Smith riding his Steel Defender companion and he wants to cast Enlarge on the Steel Defender. He believes it would Enlarge him as well because the Steel Defender is carrying him. I know in the end this is going to be my decision, but I'd like to hear what the community thinks and why?
These are the 2 lines that have me guessing "For the duration, the spell enlarges or reduces a creature" and "Everything that a targeted creature is wearing and carrying changes size with it."
I say based on the line - spell only enlarges a creature. A creature to me means only 1.
Secondly, to me carrying doesn't really mean the rider but only the items and objects the Steel Defender is carrying.
At the time of the request, I did not allow them to both be enlarged but I'd like to hear what you all think?
Also, what are your thoughts on the artificer still being able to ride the Steel Defender if its enlarge and the Artificer is not?
I'm divided about whether it works on both(I would also go with a no), but I would put forth this: Even IF the rider of an enlarged mount would get the size up, to - they wouldn't get the benefits on the weapon attacks or strength stuff.
I am a DM that has a player using a Gnome Artificer Battle Smith riding his Steel Defender companion and he wants to cast Enlarge on the Steel Defender. He believes it would Enlarge him as well because the Steel Defender is carrying him. I know in the end this is going to be my decision, but I'd like to hear what the community thinks and why?
These are the 2 lines that have me guessing "For the duration, the spell enlarges or reduces a creature" and "Everything that a targeted creature is wearing and carrying changes size with it."
I say based on the line - spell only enlarges a creature. A creature to me means only 1.
Secondly, to me carrying doesn't really mean the rider but only the items and objects the Steel Defender is carrying.
At the time of the request, I did not allow them to both be enlarged but I'd like to hear what you all think?
Also, what are your thoughts on the artificer still being able to ride the Steel Defender if its enlarge and the Artificer is not?
I would agree that under the rules as written, it doesn't work that way; the spell targets a single creature and the rider does not count as something that the mount "is carrying" in that context.
As a DM, if it's something the player is really excited about and it seems like it wouldn't be too ridiculously overpowered in context, I might rule that they could do this if they cast Enlarge/Reduce using a higher level spell slot. As written, this spell does not have any upcasting benefits, but it's common for buff/debuff spells like this to be able to affect additional targets when upcast, so it's probably fine to let them do it that way.
As for your last question, the rules on mounted combat say that you can ride "a willing creature that is at least one size larger than you and that has an appropriate anatomy". There's no rule saying it can't be more than one size larger than you, and since the Steel Defender was built by that character we can safely assume it has the appropriate anatomy. So there's no problem with a Small-sized character riding a Steel Defender that's been bumped up to Large size.
Thanks for the input. He is excited about being able to enlarge both, so, I think I will allow the character to do it if he up casts it using lvl 3 spell slot. I guess he will have to wait until he is level 9 before he can do it though.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
I am a DM that has a player using a Gnome Artificer Battle Smith riding his Steel Defender companion and he wants to cast Enlarge on the Steel Defender. He believes it would Enlarge him as well because the Steel Defender is carrying him. I know in the end this is going to be my decision, but I'd like to hear what the community thinks and why?
https://www.dndbeyond.com/spells/2619170-enlarge-reduce
These are the 2 lines that have me guessing "For the duration, the spell enlarges or reduces a creature" and "Everything that a targeted creature is wearing and carrying changes size with it."
I say based on the line - spell only enlarges a creature. A creature to me means only 1.
Secondly, to me carrying doesn't really mean the rider but only the items and objects the Steel Defender is carrying.
At the time of the request, I did not allow them to both be enlarged but I'd like to hear what you all think?
Also, what are your thoughts on the artificer still being able to ride the Steel Defender if its enlarge and the Artificer is not?
I'm divided about whether it works on both(I would also go with a no), but I would put forth this: Even IF the rider of an enlarged mount would get the size up, to - they wouldn't get the benefits on the weapon attacks or strength stuff.
I would agree that under the rules as written, it doesn't work that way; the spell targets a single creature and the rider does not count as something that the mount "is carrying" in that context.
As a DM, if it's something the player is really excited about and it seems like it wouldn't be too ridiculously overpowered in context, I might rule that they could do this if they cast Enlarge/Reduce using a higher level spell slot. As written, this spell does not have any upcasting benefits, but it's common for buff/debuff spells like this to be able to affect additional targets when upcast, so it's probably fine to let them do it that way.
As for your last question, the rules on mounted combat say that you can ride "a willing creature that is at least one size larger than you and that has an appropriate anatomy". There's no rule saying it can't be more than one size larger than you, and since the Steel Defender was built by that character we can safely assume it has the appropriate anatomy. So there's no problem with a Small-sized character riding a Steel Defender that's been bumped up to Large size.
pronouns: he/she/they
Thanks for the input. He is excited about being able to enlarge both, so, I think I will allow the character to do it if he up casts it using lvl 3 spell slot. I guess he will have to wait until he is level 9 before he can do it though.