Hi, I'm a little confused about the wording of the spell-storing item:
While holding the object, a creature can take an action to produce the spell’s effect from it, using your spellcasting ability modifier. If the spell requires concentration, the creature must concentrate. The spell stays in the object until it’s been used a number of times equal to twice your Intelligence modifier (minimum of twice) or until you use this feature again to store a spell in an object.
How exactly does another player/creature calculate the to hit bonus or save dc of a spell that's stored in an item. Is it just the spellcasting ability modifier? So of the artificer has 18 INT, it's +4 to hit and a DC 12 save?
My understanding of the RAW is that it would use your spellcasting mod (Int) for the spell, but it may use the creature's proficiency bonus by implication (from the general rules for spell attack and DC calculations). However, I don't know anyone who runs it this way - typically tables I run and play at use your Artificer spell attack and save DC.
Hi, I'm a little confused about the wording of the spell-storing item:
How exactly does another player/creature calculate the to hit bonus or save dc of a spell that's stored in an item. Is it just the spellcasting ability modifier? So of the artificer has 18 INT, it's +4 to hit and a DC 12 save?
My understanding of the RAW is that it would use your spellcasting mod (Int) for the spell, but it may use the creature's proficiency bonus by implication (from the general rules for spell attack and DC calculations). However, I don't know anyone who runs it this way - typically tables I run and play at use your Artificer spell attack and save DC.
Partway through the quest for absolute truth.
by the way, RAW, you can give the item to your homonculus servant and it can cast the spell.