I have a totem barb that wields an ancestral two handed battle ax. Other than raging I don't really have a use for my bonus action. Any suggestions? I've thought about an unarmed strike, like a kick, but don't think it complies with the RAW requiring a "light" weapon. Any other bonus actions out there?
Yeah, we're using the Ancestoral Weapon rules that level the weapon as you level. So im not going pole arm master. Still have to pick up gwm at lvl 8, we're at six now.
I'd say great weapon master. Focus your attacks on enemies that are closer to death and you'll be able to get a bonus action fairly regularly. Also you can move between the attack that triggers the GWM bonus attack and making the attack.
You can try multi-classing for more bonus action options if you want. You can get a lot of options by taking 3 levels of rogue or monk.
there are also some interesting feats out there that use bonus actions aside from PAM. I think Xanathar’s has some that are usually race locked, but if they don’t match up perfectly you can ask your DM about adjusting their pre-requisites.
Ok I have a serious question. Say I play a MInotaur which Gorging rush after DASHING gives me a bonus action to use the horns. Now lets so I play a Barbarian and go spirt of the totem. I go rage and choose the EAGLE. WHICH now gives me the DASH as a bonus rather than an ACtion. So hear me out tell me Im dumb, but can I bonus action DASH, go 20 feet to then inable GORGING RUSH to give me another bonus action to use the horns. THEN I have my main action left to swing my weapon. Am I crazy?
Ok I have a serious question. Say I play a MInotaur which Gorging rush after DASHING gives me a bonus action to use the horns. Now lets so I play a Barbarian and go spirt of the totem. I go rage and choose the EAGLE. WHICH now gives me the DASH as a bonus rather than an ACtion. So hear me out tell me Im dumb, but can I bonus action DASH, go 20 feet to then inable GORGING RUSH to give me another bonus action to use the horns. THEN I have my main action left to swing my weapon. Am I crazy?
Sadly this doesn't work. Once you use your Bonus Action to Dash, you would no longer have a Bonus Action on that turn to use Gorging Rush. Both require the use of your bonus action, so you can only use one or the other in a given turn.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
I have a totem barb that wields an ancestral two handed battle ax. Other than raging I don't really have a use for my bonus action. Any suggestions? I've thought about an unarmed strike, like a kick, but don't think it complies with the RAW requiring a "light" weapon. Any other bonus actions out there?
Telekinesis is always fun.
GWM can trigger enough times to make it useful.
One reason I took tavern brawler, rounded out my str and with the use of a melee attack adds a bonus action and I can grapple.
GWM gives you the extra attack if an enemy is killed
Pole Arm master gives you the but end of the weapon attack as 1d4
proably the 3 quick ez ones
Yeah, we're using the Ancestoral Weapon rules that level the weapon as you level. So im not going pole arm master. Still have to pick up gwm at lvl 8, we're at six now.
Think I just have suck it up until 12th or 14th
im. fan of Polearm Master Barbarian.
I'd say great weapon master. Focus your attacks on enemies that are closer to death and you'll be able to get a bonus action fairly regularly. Also you can move between the attack that triggers the GWM bonus attack and making the attack.
You can try multi-classing for more bonus action options if you want. You can get a lot of options by taking 3 levels of rogue or monk.
there are also some interesting feats out there that use bonus actions aside from PAM. I think Xanathar’s has some that are usually race locked, but if they don’t match up perfectly you can ask your DM about adjusting their pre-requisites.
Ok I have a serious question. Say I play a MInotaur which Gorging rush after DASHING gives me a bonus action to use the horns. Now lets so I play a Barbarian and go spirt of the totem. I go rage and choose the EAGLE. WHICH now gives me the DASH as a bonus rather than an ACtion. So hear me out tell me Im dumb, but can I bonus action DASH, go 20 feet to then inable GORGING RUSH to give me another bonus action to use the horns. THEN I have my main action left to swing my weapon. Am I crazy?
Sadly this doesn't work. Once you use your Bonus Action to Dash, you would no longer have a Bonus Action on that turn to use Gorging Rush. Both require the use of your bonus action, so you can only use one or the other in a given turn.