In creating an Aasimar Barbarian i had the thought of using the action and bonus action to activate Celestial Revelation and Rage in the same turn, would the damage caused by desert aura keep the rage going or does it have to be a direct attack/damage take?
Technically no, but I'd ask your DM if they'd rule otherwise because it seems silly for it not to.
Normally the only things that count as attacks are anything that involves an attack roll, or explicitly defined special attacks such as Grapple or Shove.
But Storm Herald is a somewhat weak sub-class for barbarian so letting the aura effect count as an attack would hardly be overpowered.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
Former D&D Beyond Customer of six years: With the axing of piecemeal purchasing, lack of meaningful development, and toxic moderation the site isn't worth paying for anymore. I remain a free user only until my groups are done migrating from DDB, and if necessary D&D, after which I'm done. There are better systems owned by better companies out there.
I have unsubscribed from all topics and will not reply to messages. My homebrew is now 100% unsupported.
I believe that this question would also be applicable to the Wild Magic Barbarian. Some of the random effects caused by going into rage as a WM Barb do non-weapon damage round after round.
Effects that deal damage such as those from Path of the Storm Hearld do not count as attack unless noted otherwise because they don't involve an attack roll.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
In creating an Aasimar Barbarian i had the thought of using the action and bonus action to activate Celestial Revelation and Rage in the same turn, would the damage caused by desert aura keep the rage going or does it have to be a direct attack/damage take?
Technically no, but I'd ask your DM if they'd rule otherwise because it seems silly for it not to.
Normally the only things that count as attacks are anything that involves an attack roll, or explicitly defined special attacks such as Grapple or Shove.
But Storm Herald is a somewhat weak sub-class for barbarian so letting the aura effect count as an attack would hardly be overpowered.
Former D&D Beyond Customer of six years: With the axing of piecemeal purchasing, lack of meaningful development, and toxic moderation the site isn't worth paying for anymore. I remain a free user only until my groups are done migrating from DDB, and if necessary D&D, after which I'm done. There are better systems owned by better companies out there.
I have unsubscribed from all topics and will not reply to messages. My homebrew is now 100% unsupported.
I believe that this question would also be applicable to the Wild Magic Barbarian. Some of the random effects caused by going into rage as a WM Barb do non-weapon damage round after round.
Effects that deal damage such as those from Path of the Storm Hearld do not count as attack unless noted otherwise because they don't involve an attack roll.