I created a character with 1 level in Artificer and 6 levels in Wizard. My wizard does have a 4th level spell slot, but I don't have the option to actually add any fourth level spells to their spellbook! I am assuming this is not correct.
I created a character with 1 level in Artificer and 6 levels in Wizard. My wizard does have a 4th level spell slot, but I don't have the option to actually add any fourth level spells to their spellbook! I am assuming this is not correct.
This is the rules that explain that.
Spell Slots. You determine your available spell slots by adding together all your levels in the bard, cleric, druid, sorcerer, and wizard classes, half your levels (rounded down) in the paladin and ranger classes, and a third of your fighter or rogue levels (rounded down) if you have the Eldritch Knight or the Arcane Trickster feature. Use this total to determine your spell slots by consulting the Multiclass Spellcaster table.
If you have more than one spellcasting class, this table might give you spell slots of a level that is higher than the spells you know or can prepare. You can use those slots, but only to cast your lower-level spells. If a lower-level spell that you cast, like burning hands, has an enhanced effect when cast using a higher-level slot, you can use the enhanced effect, even though you don't have any spells of that higher level.
For example, if you are the aforementioned ranger 4/wizard 3, you count as a 5th-level character when determining your spell slots: you have four 1st-level slots, three 2nd-level slots, and two 3rd-level slots. However, you don't know any 3rd-level spells, nor do you know any 2nd-level ranger spells. You can use the spell slots of those levels to cast the spells you do know — and potentially enhance their effects.
I created a character with 1 level in Artificer and 6 levels in Wizard. My wizard does have a 4th level spell slot, but I don't have the option to actually add any fourth level spells to their spellbook! I am assuming this is not correct.
It is correct. You will get access to 4th level spells when you have 7 levels of wizard
This is the rules that explain that.
Oh, weird! I thought this specific kind of multiclass bypassed that, but apparently I misread the section on the Artificer. My bad!
However the problem with restricting this is the rules for copying spells to your spellbook.