Would the Bards college of lore ability "cutting words" negate a crit roll? It says you can subtract the number you roll from the creature's roll. But does that reduce the total roll or dice roll. For example a goblin rolls a 20 with a +3 to hit for a total of 23 and I roll a 4 that drops the total to 19.
Would the Bards college of lore ability "cutting words" negate a crit roll? It says you can subtract the number you roll from the creature's roll. But does that reduce the total roll or dice roll. For example a goblin rolls a 20 with a +3 to hit for a total of 23 and I roll a 4 that drops the total to 19.
That is a good question. It should probably treated as a modifier (and natural 20 attack rolls supersede modifiers).
A DM can rule how they like, but I would still hit/crit.