So, I have two characters who seem to have (from my understanding) mechanical issues.
I have two level 12 characters (9 Druid/ 3 Rogue) who should have 4 lvl. 1 spell slots, 3 lvl 2 spell slots, 3 lvl. 3 spell slots, 3 lvl. 4 spell slots, and 1 lvl. 5 spell slot so:
4/3/3/3/1.
However, I noticed that I can prepare more than one level 5 spell for both classes. In fact. I can just have a majority of level 5 spells if I want.
Does the calculator not account for my class limitation? Or is it because I can prepare any spells I want but can only use the appropriate spell spots?
Is this a bug?
Appreciate any and all help. Homebrew content is turned off.
It is not a bug. The spells you can prepare are not very dependant on spell slots. You can't prepare spells of a level you do not have spell slots of, thats it.
So it is perfectly within the rules to prepare more spells of a level than the number of slots you have. But you can't cast a spell without slots, and you can't use a lower level slot to cast a higher level spell, so it is not a good idea to only have spells of the highest level prepared.
So, I have two characters who seem to have (from my understanding) mechanical issues.
I have two level 12 characters (9 Druid/ 3 Rogue) who should have 4 lvl. 1 spell slots, 3 lvl 2 spell slots, 3 lvl. 3 spell slots, 3 lvl. 4 spell slots, and 1 lvl. 5 spell slot so:
4/3/3/3/1.
However, I noticed that I can prepare more than one level 5 spell for both classes. In fact. I can just have a majority of level 5 spells if I want.
Does the calculator not account for my class limitation? Or is it because I can prepare any spells I want but can only use the appropriate spell spots?
Is this a bug?
Appreciate any and all help. Homebrew content is turned off.
http://www.dndbeyond.com/profile/8bitkronik/characters/11969675
https://www.dndbeyond.com/profile/8bitkronik/characters/11974064
It is not a bug. The spells you can prepare are not very dependant on spell slots. You can't prepare spells of a level you do not have spell slots of, thats it.
So it is perfectly within the rules to prepare more spells of a level than the number of slots you have. But you can't cast a spell without slots, and you can't use a lower level slot to cast a higher level spell, so it is not a good idea to only have spells of the highest level prepared.