(Update: my next post, just below this one, frames my questions around the newer Unearthed Arcana: Artificer. Skip ahead if you want)
Original post: Artificer Infusion Confusion
Let's say I'm a level 2 artificer that wants to support my party. At level 2 I can choose 4 "maximum infusions" and I can infuse 2 "maximum objects" after every long rest. BUT "each infusion can be in only one object at a time".
==SCENARIO 1: PERMANENT BUFFS, THEN WHAT?== I choose: 1. Enhance Defense (+1 AC to armor or shield) 2. Enhance Weapon (+1 to weapon attack and damage) 3. Repeating Shot (+1 to ranged weapons attack and damage, ignore loading, ignore ammunition) 4. Returning Weapon (+1 to thrown weapon attack and damage, weapon returns to attacker)
SO after long rest 1, I use the Enhance Weapon for my Paladin's greatsword and Repeating Shot to my Rogue's light crossbow (or whatever)
After long rest 2, I use the Enhance Defense to my Fighter's armor and Returning Weapon on my monk's dagger (or whatever)
==QUESTION 1== Since I've now used my "maximum Infusions" to create permanent buffs in this way (for me or my party) am I now done with Infusions and can't really do anything with them until I go from Level 2 all the way to Level 6 where I then get to pick two more? I know I can switch them up as I level up, but "The infusion vanishes if you replace your knowledge of the infusion" if I don't keep the original 4 choices, right (and in this scenario I don't want my allies to lose their buffed equipment) and in most cases, "you can't learn an infusion more than once"?
==QUESTION 2a== Does replicate mean "create" or "copy"? Do I first need a magic item in order to replicate it and now I have two of them? Or do I create a magic item from thin air, thereby replicating it and I don't need the original magic item to copy?
==QUESTION 2b== If replicate means "copy", can I, for example, use Enhance Defense to make +1 Scale Mail medium armor and then use Replicate Magic Item to make a copy of that armor. And the next long rest, can I make 2 more copies of that Armor so my party of 4 all get +1 Scale Mail medium armor (assuming they all have proficiency)?
==QUESTION 2c== If it doesn't mean "copy" can I just create unlimited magic items from the Replicable Items table (2 "maximum objects" per night)? Or are they like other infusions where I can only create 4 "maximum infusions" until level 6 when I can now create 2 more, etc. (even though I'm not infusing anything and just creating something from nothing)?
==QUESTION 2d== With Replicate Magic Item, can I create more than one of the same item (like 4 sets of Winged Boots for my level 10 party) or just each magic item once even though it says "You can learn this infusion multiple times"?
==QUESTION 2e== At level 2 with one Replicate Magic Item infusion in my slots, can I create 2 Goggles of Night on Monday, 2 bags of holding on Tuesday, 2 Alchemy Jugs on Wed (at which point the goggles disappear), or would I need to fill all 4 of my "maximum infusion" slots (similar to the above Scenario 2) with the Replicate Magic Item infusion in order to do this?
I'm obviously confused how this works. Any help would be appreciated!
Q1 - ok you made mne re-read it. I have always thought it said that the Infused Items column on the table was the maximum number you can infuse at one time. So you have 4 options available but can only have 2 of them in effect at once. BUT the way it is worded could be much clearer, and the table explained better. Likewise the revised Artificer in the Unearthed Arcana could still have the wording tweaked to be clearer.
RAW it could be read as you suggest as it mentions the max limit as per long rest, however I am not sure if that is the RAI explanation.
TCoE Artificer:
You can infuse more than one nonmagical object at the end of a long rest; the maximum number of objects appears in the Infused Items column of the Artificer table. You must touch each of the objects, and each of your infusions can be in only one object at a time. Moreover, no object can bear more than one of your infusions at a time. If you try to exceed your maximum number of infusions, the oldest infusion immediately ends, and then the new infusion applies.
2025 UA Artificer:
Creating an Item. When you finish a Long Rest, you can create one or two different magic items if you have Tinker’s Tools in hand. Each item is based on one of the plans you know for this feature. If a created item requires Attunement, you can attune yourself to it the instant you create it. If you decide to attune to the item later, you must do so using the normal process for Attunement. When you reach certain Artificer levels specified in the Magic Items column of the Artificer Features table, the number of magic items you can create at the end of a Long Rest increases. Each item you create must be based on a different plan you know. If you try to exceed your maximum number of magic items for this feature, the oldest item vanishes, and then the new item appears.
Q2a - This is make a prototype from scratch. You don't need an item to copy as some of the options are only available to Artificers with this feature and do not appear in treasure lists.
Q2b - No.
Q2c - No. They are like other infusions and are part of the same max limit (which is I assume 2 at level 2)
Q2d - No. Each "option" in the replicate magic item table can only be used once.
Q2e - No. As above you can only create 1 of each named item. ie ONE bag of holding, and ONE goggles of night etc.
Haha thanks (I like your formatting by the way)! I'm not even asking about the max number of items, lol. But that seems to be what everyone is worried about: 2 or 4 max items... I don't really care. I read it as 4, but apparently most people (<cough> DMs) read it as 2. Ok. I'll go with that for now.
Anyway... it's the rest of the mechanics I'm trying to figure out.
So, let's move on to Unearthed Arcana, Artificer because it's more recent and shows where WoTC might be going:
So, for example, I'm just levelling up to level 2 so I get to pick 4 Replicate Magic Items.
==QUESTION 1== Do I have to specify at the moment I level up what they are for? Or can I wait until I actually encounter a lake or a dark cave to decide whether I want to replicate a Cap of Water Breathing or Goggles of Night? Seems silly if I have to predict the future.
If I do have to pick, let's say I take: 1. Cap of Water Breathing 2. Weapon +1 3. Bag of Holding 4. Shield +1
So at the next long rest, I create a Greatsword +1 for the Paladin and a Shield +1 for my Fighter.
Now let's say on our adventures, we discover a dungeon with an underground river with underwater caves. I want to explore these underwater caves, so we take a long rest and I make a Cap of Water Breathing. So now my Paladin's Greatsword disappears!! And they don't even have a plain old greatsword to fight with.
==QUESTION 2== Are my allies (or myself) supposed to carry around extra plain old greatswords, shields, armor, etc. to fight with for when their Artificer items ultimately disappear?
==QUESTION 3== Can I never ever create another +1 weapon again?? All because the rules simply state: "Each item you create must be based on a different plan you know."? Or can I create these 4 items over and over as long as only 2 exist simultaneously? Because the rules actually say "...magic items you can create at the end of a Long Rest... must be based on a different plan you know". So I can't make 2 bags of holding on the same night. But it doesn't say each plan can only ever be used once. Note also they REMOVED the language stating "You can't learn an infusion more than once". So I should be able to swap back into previously used Replicate Magic Items whenever I level up.
So either: Option A: I can only use each plan once ever (which it never says anywhere). -or- Option B: I can make a bag of holding after long rest 1 and I can make another bag of holding after long rest 2.
If it is option A, then once I make a +1 greatsword for my Paladin and then make other items where the weapon disappears, then I can NEVER EVER create a +1 weapon ever again. Seems kind of useless and, in fact, VERY inconvenient for everyone involved that has to carry replacement equipment.
==QUESTION 4== Is Option A the intent? I don't think so. I think the intent is for the Artificer to be able to make various items throughout the campaign as needed as long as they have the plans. I think the intent is for them to create a Cap of Water Breathing when needed and then when they are done, make their +1 weapon for their fighters again, especially since they REMOVED the language saying "you can't learn an infusion more than once". Which means option B must also be true. If the Artificer can make a +1 weapon, a cap, goggles and then a +1 weapon again, they can make a bag of holding and then another bag of holding on another long rest.
Q1 - In TCoE the item loses it's infusion and reverts to a non magical greatsword. In UA then yes and you don't have to be near them even to do that. I suggest the other chars have normal items for emergency or when you die. Which begs the point of "I create a Greatsword +1 for the Paladin and a Shield +1 for my Fighter" becoming "I rent a Greatsword +1 to the Paladin and a Shield +1 to the Fighter" LOL
Q2 - TCoE No, UA Yes. That is what starting equipment is for at character creation, I mean what did the Paladin do until you got to level 2, he used something to smash villains with right?
Q3 - Option C all the way. Option C: Each infusion/replicate-magic-item-plan can only be in existence once. So you can create it, destroy it to create something else, create it again etc, but it can only be in use in one item at a time. TCoE "and each of your infusions can be in only one object at a time", UA "Each item you create must be based on a different plan you know", so in both cases you are limited to ONE weapon+1 at a time, ONE bag of holding at a time etc.
Q4 - The bit about they REMOVED the language saying "you can't learn an infusion more than once" is misleading. In TCoE they listed custom artificer infusions, and also they had an infusion called replicate-magic-item (RMI). You could take RMI multiple times with each time being counted as a different item/infusion/plan. In UA they have changed it so there are no infusions and everything is a RMI plan which are clearly (clearer?) itemised in the lists. So that wording is no longer required. This does not (IMHO) make option B valid.
Q1 - I suggest the other chars have normal items for emergency or when you die. Which begs the point of "I create a Greatsword +1 for the Paladin and a Shield +1 for my Fighter" becoming "I rent a Greatsword +1 to the Paladin and a Shield +1 to the Fighter" LOL
Q2 - what did the Paladin do until you got to level 2, he used something to smash villains with right?
Q3 - Option C all the way. Option C: Each infusion/replicate-magic-item-plan can only be in existence once. So you can create it, destroy it to create something else, create it again etc, but it can only be in use in one item at a time. "Each item you create must be based on a different plan you know", so you are limited to ONE weapon+1 at a time, ONE bag of holding at a time etc.
Q4 - The bit about they REMOVED the language saying "you can't learn an infusion more than once" is misleading. In UA they have changed it so there are no infusions and everything is a RMI plan which are clearly (clearer?) itemised in the lists. So that wording is no longer required. This does not (IMHO) make option B valid.
Any help?
Thanks for talking through it all. Good stuff.
I can live with your Option C where you can create an object multiple times but only have one in existence at a time.
I think having your weapons, armor, shields, boots and helms simply disappear and not just revert to the base item is pretty jarring for the new UA rules. But it seems to be how it's written. I wonder if they intended that. Not everyone is fully equipped with all those base items at level 1. I guess some of them revert to their street clothes, and unarmed strikes, lol.
I thought I saw various online discussions and YouTubers (under the TCoE infusions) where people said they could make multiple bags of holding and use them as portable bombs... so it must have been a thing at some point, no? Now I've seen people say you can do it under UA but you'd need 2 artificers, lol.
I think you missed my first question about whether or not the Artificer has to specifically choose what Replicate Magic Items they will take when they level up, but before actually knowing what the future holds. I'd like to be able to go through my adventure and as an issue arises, be able to "expend or lock in a Replicate Magic Item slot" at that time in order to create what the party needs at that moment. What do you think?
Ahh missed that. But alas - lock em in at the time and hope you have a good set, else you can add new plans/infusions at certain levels or replace one per level up.
TCoE - Whenever you gain a level in this class, you can replace one of the artificer infusions you learned with a new one.
UA - Whenever you gain an Artificer level, you can replace one of the plans you know with a new plan for which you qualify.
I thought I saw various online discussions and YouTubers (under the TCoE infusions) where people said they could make multiple bags of holding and use them as portable bombs... so it must have been a thing at some point, no? Now I've seen people say you can do it under UA but you'd need 2 artificers, lol.
That was...hotly debated, at best. The most common reading was "only one at a time" for any infusion, including specific replications. The new UA made that more explicit.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
(Update: my next post, just below this one, frames my questions around the newer Unearthed Arcana: Artificer. Skip ahead if you want)
Original post:
Artificer Infusion Confusion
Let's say I'm a level 2 artificer that wants to support my party. At level 2 I can choose 4 "maximum infusions" and I can infuse 2 "maximum objects" after every long rest. BUT "each infusion can be in only one object at a time".
==SCENARIO 1: PERMANENT BUFFS, THEN WHAT?==
I choose:
1. Enhance Defense (+1 AC to armor or shield)
2. Enhance Weapon (+1 to weapon attack and damage)
3. Repeating Shot (+1 to ranged weapons attack and damage, ignore loading, ignore ammunition)
4. Returning Weapon (+1 to thrown weapon attack and damage, weapon returns to attacker)
SO after long rest 1, I use the Enhance Weapon for my Paladin's greatsword and Repeating Shot to my Rogue's light crossbow (or whatever)
After long rest 2, I use the Enhance Defense to my Fighter's armor and Returning Weapon on my monk's dagger (or whatever)
==QUESTION 1==
Since I've now used my "maximum Infusions" to create permanent buffs in this way (for me or my party) am I now done with Infusions and can't really do anything with them until I go from Level 2 all the way to Level 6 where I then get to pick two more? I know I can switch them up as I level up, but "The infusion vanishes if you replace your knowledge of the infusion" if I don't keep the original 4 choices, right (and in this scenario I don't want my allies to lose their buffed equipment) and in most cases, "you can't learn an infusion more than once"?
==SCENARIO 2: REPLICATE MAGIC ITEM==
If I instead choose:
1. Enhance Defense
2. Replicate Magic Item #1
3. Replicate Magic Item #2
4. Replicate Magic Item #3
==QUESTION 2a==
Does replicate mean "create" or "copy"? Do I first need a magic item in order to replicate it and now I have two of them? Or do I create a magic item from thin air, thereby replicating it and I don't need the original magic item to copy?
==QUESTION 2b==
If replicate means "copy", can I, for example, use Enhance Defense to make +1 Scale Mail medium armor and then use Replicate Magic Item to make a copy of that armor. And the next long rest, can I make 2 more copies of that Armor so my party of 4 all get +1 Scale Mail medium armor (assuming they all have proficiency)?
==QUESTION 2c==
If it doesn't mean "copy" can I just create unlimited magic items from the Replicable Items table (2 "maximum objects" per night)? Or are they like other infusions where I can only create 4 "maximum infusions" until level 6 when I can now create 2 more, etc. (even though I'm not infusing anything and just creating something from nothing)?
==QUESTION 2d==
With Replicate Magic Item, can I create more than one of the same item (like 4 sets of Winged Boots for my level 10 party) or just each magic item once even though it says "You can learn this infusion multiple times"?
==QUESTION 2e==
At level 2 with one Replicate Magic Item infusion in my slots, can I create 2 Goggles of Night on Monday, 2 bags of holding on Tuesday, 2 Alchemy Jugs on Wed (at which point the goggles disappear), or would I need to fill all 4 of my "maximum infusion" slots (similar to the above Scenario 2) with the Replicate Magic Item infusion in order to do this?
I'm obviously confused how this works. Any help would be appreciated!
Q1 - ok you made mne re-read it. I have always thought it said that the Infused Items column on the table was the maximum number you can infuse at one time. So you have 4 options available but can only have 2 of them in effect at once. BUT the way it is worded could be much clearer, and the table explained better. Likewise the revised Artificer in the Unearthed Arcana could still have the wording tweaked to be clearer.
RAW it could be read as you suggest as it mentions the max limit as per long rest, however I am not sure if that is the RAI explanation.
TCoE Artificer:
You can infuse more than one nonmagical object at the end of a long rest; the maximum number of objects appears in the Infused Items column of the Artificer table. You must touch each of the objects, and each of your infusions can be in only one object at a time. Moreover, no object can bear more than one of your infusions at a time. If you try to exceed your maximum number of infusions, the oldest infusion immediately ends, and then the new infusion applies.
2025 UA Artificer:
Creating an Item. When you finish a Long Rest, you can create one or two different magic items if you have Tinker’s Tools in hand. Each item is based on one of the plans you know for this feature. If a created item requires Attunement, you can attune yourself to it the instant you create it. If you decide to attune to the item later, you must do so using the normal process for Attunement. When you reach certain Artificer levels specified in the Magic Items column of the Artificer Features table, the number of magic items you can create at the end of a Long Rest increases. Each item you create must be based on a different plan you know. If you try to exceed your maximum number of magic items for this feature, the oldest item vanishes, and then the new item appears.
Q2a - This is make a prototype from scratch. You don't need an item to copy as some of the options are only available to Artificers with this feature and do not appear in treasure lists.
Q2b - No.
Q2c - No. They are like other infusions and are part of the same max limit (which is I assume 2 at level 2)
Q2d - No. Each "option" in the replicate magic item table can only be used once.
Q2e - No. As above you can only create 1 of each named item. ie ONE bag of holding, and ONE goggles of night etc.
Life's hard - get a helmet!
Haha thanks (I like your formatting by the way)! I'm not even asking about the max number of items, lol. But that seems to be what everyone is worried about: 2 or 4 max items... I don't really care. I read it as 4, but apparently most people (<cough> DMs) read it as 2. Ok. I'll go with that for now.
Anyway... it's the rest of the mechanics I'm trying to figure out.
So, let's move on to Unearthed Arcana, Artificer because it's more recent and shows where WoTC might be going:
So, for example, I'm just levelling up to level 2 so I get to pick 4 Replicate Magic Items.
==QUESTION 1==
Do I have to specify at the moment I level up what they are for? Or can I wait until I actually encounter a lake or a dark cave to decide whether I want to replicate a Cap of Water Breathing or Goggles of Night? Seems silly if I have to predict the future.
If I do have to pick, let's say I take:
1. Cap of Water Breathing
2. Weapon +1
3. Bag of Holding
4. Shield +1
So at the next long rest, I create a Greatsword +1 for the Paladin and a Shield +1 for my Fighter.
Now let's say on our adventures, we discover a dungeon with an underground river with underwater caves. I want to explore these underwater caves, so we take a long rest and I make a Cap of Water Breathing. So now my Paladin's Greatsword disappears!! And they don't even have a plain old greatsword to fight with.
==QUESTION 2==
Are my allies (or myself) supposed to carry around extra plain old greatswords, shields, armor, etc. to fight with for when their Artificer items ultimately disappear?
==QUESTION 3==
Can I never ever create another +1 weapon again?? All because the rules simply state: "Each item you create must be based on a different plan you know."? Or can I create these 4 items over and over as long as only 2 exist simultaneously? Because the rules actually say "...magic items you can create at the end of a Long Rest... must be based on a different plan you know". So I can't make 2 bags of holding on the same night. But it doesn't say each plan can only ever be used once. Note also they REMOVED the language stating "You can't learn an infusion more than once". So I should be able to swap back into previously used Replicate Magic Items whenever I level up.
So either:
Option A: I can only use each plan once ever (which it never says anywhere).
-or-
Option B: I can make a bag of holding after long rest 1 and I can make another bag of holding after long rest 2.
If it is option A, then once I make a +1 greatsword for my Paladin and then make other items where the weapon disappears, then I can NEVER EVER create a +1 weapon ever again. Seems kind of useless and, in fact, VERY inconvenient for everyone involved that has to carry replacement equipment.
==QUESTION 4==
Is Option A the intent? I don't think so. I think the intent is for the Artificer to be able to make various items throughout the campaign as needed as long as they have the plans. I think the intent is for them to create a Cap of Water Breathing when needed and then when they are done, make their +1 weapon for their fighters again, especially since they REMOVED the language saying "you can't learn an infusion more than once". Which means option B must also be true. If the Artificer can make a +1 weapon, a cap, goggles and then a +1 weapon again, they can make a bag of holding and then another bag of holding on another long rest.
Let's see how we go on this one ;o)
Q1 - In TCoE the item loses it's infusion and reverts to a non magical greatsword. In UA then yes and you don't have to be near them even to do that. I suggest the other chars have normal items for emergency or when you die. Which begs the point of "I create a Greatsword +1 for the Paladin and a Shield +1 for my Fighter" becoming "I rent a Greatsword +1 to the Paladin and a Shield +1 to the Fighter" LOL
Q2 - TCoE No, UA Yes. That is what starting equipment is for at character creation, I mean what did the Paladin do until you got to level 2, he used something to smash villains with right?
Q3 - Option C all the way. Option C: Each infusion/replicate-magic-item-plan can only be in existence once.
So you can create it, destroy it to create something else, create it again etc, but it can only be in use in one item at a time.
TCoE "and each of your infusions can be in only one object at a time", UA "Each item you create must be based on a different plan you know", so in both cases you are limited to ONE weapon+1 at a time, ONE bag of holding at a time etc.
Q4 - The bit about they REMOVED the language saying "you can't learn an infusion more than once" is misleading. In TCoE they listed custom artificer infusions, and also they had an infusion called replicate-magic-item (RMI). You could take RMI multiple times with each time being counted as a different item/infusion/plan. In UA they have changed it so there are no infusions and everything is a RMI plan which are clearly (clearer?) itemised in the lists. So that wording is no longer required. This does not (IMHO) make option B valid.
Any help?
Life's hard - get a helmet!
Thanks for talking through it all. Good stuff.
I can live with your Option C where you can create an object multiple times but only have one in existence at a time.
I think having your weapons, armor, shields, boots and helms simply disappear and not just revert to the base item is pretty jarring for the new UA rules. But it seems to be how it's written. I wonder if they intended that. Not everyone is fully equipped with all those base items at level 1. I guess some of them revert to their street clothes, and unarmed strikes, lol.
I thought I saw various online discussions and YouTubers (under the TCoE infusions) where people said they could make multiple bags of holding and use them as portable bombs... so it must have been a thing at some point, no? Now I've seen people say you can do it under UA but you'd need 2 artificers, lol.
I think you missed my first question about whether or not the Artificer has to specifically choose what Replicate Magic Items they will take when they level up, but before actually knowing what the future holds. I'd like to be able to go through my adventure and as an issue arises, be able to "expend or lock in a Replicate Magic Item slot" at that time in order to create what the party needs at that moment. What do you think?
Ahh missed that. But alas - lock em in at the time and hope you have a good set, else you can add new plans/infusions at certain levels or replace one per level up.
TCoE - Whenever you gain a level in this class, you can replace one of the artificer infusions you learned with a new one.
UA - Whenever you gain an Artificer level, you can replace one of the plans you know with a new plan for which you qualify.
Life's hard - get a helmet!
That was...hotly debated, at best. The most common reading was "only one at a time" for any infusion, including specific replications. The new UA made that more explicit.