Ok, maybe this is not the 1st time someone asks this, but the disk can have until 500 pounds (like 220 kg) , so I think I can place my Eldritch canon (maybe small or tiny) and move the disk to have a flying eldritch canon, well maybe if I ask my DM, he may let me use a flying canon without the disk, but what do you guys think? is it posible?
It would work - kinda. The problem might be when your DM goes fully RAW on you. then you can't "control" the disk, it just follows you when you get to far away. Also the disk is just 3 feet above the ground so no real "flying". But rules as fun that would be cool.
Hopefully somebody sees this, I didn't want to make a new thread and this one seemed pretty similar to a question I had. So suppose that rather than a flying disk, you had a homunculus that could fly and also carry the cannon. This way (so long as the cannon is light enough for the homunculus) you can actively control where the cannon is. One problem: the homunculus always takes its turn after you, and if you want to fire the cannon it takes a bonus action. Would it be possible then, to order the cannon to fire once a specific target was in range? Or would that count as taking your action outside of your turn?
Alternatively (and I think this would be more likely to work) you use your bonus action to order the homunculus to control the cannon on its turn. However, the problem with this idea is, can the cannon take orders from the homunculus? From what I can tell, homunculus are able to use magic items, but I'm not sure. Would this just be up to DM's discretion?
Hm... *In my opinion*, using the homunculus to position the cannon would only really matter for the flamethrower model. The ballista model has enough range to not necessitate the extra movement from being carried (though it would be helpful for it to be able to keep up with you more easily in a more mobile fight), and the protector model would be better off on your person (or on another party member, for that matter). That said, having the cannon move after your turn would be detrimental for the flamethrower, because like you say, using a bonus action outside of your turn is no good (held action could be used, but you are giving up potential damage from action+bonus action and reaction can't be used). You would end up a turn behind when position for that cone is critical.
As for the homunculus "using" the cannon... I would argue no simply because the cannon requires YOUR input and the homunculus is not you.
And, as always, the DM can rule as they please, so it certainly wouldn't hurt to discuss it with them.
Pretty much what Nikuna said. You'd have to use the bonus action to use the cannon. What I would add: your homunculus can use magic items. It can attune to up to 3 like every other creature.
Yeah the main idea was to have the cannon be a bit more mobile, specifically for use as a flamethrower or to get around cover. It also seems to just be a fun way to utilize a homunculus in combat, where they typically are not all that helpful. I'll ask my DM what they think about a homunculus "attuning" so to speak, to a turret.
Yeah the main idea was to have the cannon be a bit more mobile, specifically for use as a flamethrower or to get around cover. It also seems to just be a fun way to utilize a homunculus in combat, where they typically are not all that helpful. I'll ask my DM what they think about a homunculus "attuning" so to speak, to a turret.
Well, nothing as written stops you from throwing it and having the homunculus retrieve it or reposition it in addition to its regular movement (if it has legs). The throw would be considered an action, but it should have some range since it would be size tiny. Action throw, bonus action activate + move, then homunculus moves it as needed. Still not ideal, but maybe a little bit better?
sounds good, I'll try that out this weekend, see if it ends up being useful for combat or not. I actually have thrown the turret before, that works pretty well. Another option (though a somewhat risky one) is to use the catapult spell on the turret. Just so long as the turret doesn't go too far away from you or do so much damage that it breaks itself, it's a decent way to do a good amount of damage with your Action while still moving the turret close to the opponent. As I have been reading about the homunculus, it seems that I don't need to use a bonus action to make it move or interact with objects, just if I want it to take an action besides dodge, so that really could end up being super helpful. ie, get the flamethrower in close, then move it away w/ homunculus before the enemy can attack it and destroy it
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
Ok, maybe this is not the 1st time someone asks this, but the disk can have until 500 pounds (like 220 kg) , so I think I can place my Eldritch canon (maybe small or tiny) and move the disk to have a flying eldritch canon, well maybe if I ask my DM, he may let me use a flying canon without the disk, but what do you guys think? is it posible?
Yes, that should work. You could also give you Eldritch Cannon legs and have it perch on your shoulder.
Canto alla vita
alla sua bellezza
ad ogni sua ferita
ogni sua carezza!
I sing to life and to its tragic beauty
To pain and to strife, but all that dances through me
The rise and the fall, I've lived through it all!
Yes, I also imagined a Tortle artificer (2 eldritch canons, one in each soulder) and boom! You have a Blastoise XD
It would work - kinda. The problem might be when your DM goes fully RAW on you. then you can't "control" the disk, it just follows you when you get to far away. Also the disk is just 3 feet above the ground so no real "flying". But rules as fun that would be cool.
Hopefully somebody sees this, I didn't want to make a new thread and this one seemed pretty similar to a question I had. So suppose that rather than a flying disk, you had a homunculus that could fly and also carry the cannon. This way (so long as the cannon is light enough for the homunculus) you can actively control where the cannon is. One problem: the homunculus always takes its turn after you, and if you want to fire the cannon it takes a bonus action. Would it be possible then, to order the cannon to fire once a specific target was in range? Or would that count as taking your action outside of your turn?
Alternatively (and I think this would be more likely to work) you use your bonus action to order the homunculus to control the cannon on its turn. However, the problem with this idea is, can the cannon take orders from the homunculus? From what I can tell, homunculus are able to use magic items, but I'm not sure. Would this just be up to DM's discretion?
Hm... *In my opinion*, using the homunculus to position the cannon would only really matter for the flamethrower model. The ballista model has enough range to not necessitate the extra movement from being carried (though it would be helpful for it to be able to keep up with you more easily in a more mobile fight), and the protector model would be better off on your person (or on another party member, for that matter). That said, having the cannon move after your turn would be detrimental for the flamethrower, because like you say, using a bonus action outside of your turn is no good (held action could be used, but you are giving up potential damage from action+bonus action and reaction can't be used). You would end up a turn behind when position for that cone is critical.
As for the homunculus "using" the cannon... I would argue no simply because the cannon requires YOUR input and the homunculus is not you.
And, as always, the DM can rule as they please, so it certainly wouldn't hurt to discuss it with them.
Pretty much what Nikuna said. You'd have to use the bonus action to use the cannon. What I would add: your homunculus can use magic items. It can attune to up to 3 like every other creature.
Ok, that does make sense. Thanks!
Yeah the main idea was to have the cannon be a bit more mobile, specifically for use as a flamethrower or to get around cover. It also seems to just be a fun way to utilize a homunculus in combat, where they typically are not all that helpful. I'll ask my DM what they think about a homunculus "attuning" so to speak, to a turret.
Well, nothing as written stops you from throwing it and having the homunculus retrieve it or reposition it in addition to its regular movement (if it has legs). The throw would be considered an action, but it should have some range since it would be size tiny. Action throw, bonus action activate + move, then homunculus moves it as needed. Still not ideal, but maybe a little bit better?
sounds good, I'll try that out this weekend, see if it ends up being useful for combat or not. I actually have thrown the turret before, that works pretty well. Another option (though a somewhat risky one) is to use the catapult spell on the turret. Just so long as the turret doesn't go too far away from you or do so much damage that it breaks itself, it's a decent way to do a good amount of damage with your Action while still moving the turret close to the opponent. As I have been reading about the homunculus, it seems that I don't need to use a bonus action to make it move or interact with objects, just if I want it to take an action besides dodge, so that really could end up being super helpful. ie, get the flamethrower in close, then move it away w/ homunculus before the enemy can attack it and destroy it