The first words are "You create a floating, spectral weapon"
If you are not creating a weapon (which has a game definition) then you aren't following the language.
Its a floating, spectra weapon no matter what form it takes. Whether its a hammer or sword or teddy bear, its not dealing damage based upon its form, but upon it being a weapon.
I mean, the text you cite follows what I said. It doesn't say the form of the weapon must be a weapon, but whatever form the caster chooses.
The spell specifically say you create a weapon and the weapon can have whatever form you choose. At my table, creatures are not weapons.
You create a floating, spectral weapon within range
Wait... you're saying you create an actual weapon then? As in, you can pick it up and wield it but also cast a spell attack through it as a bonus action?
I mean, I didn't think the "weapon" was either a creature or a literal weapon, just a spectral illusion through which the spell attack is made. Thinking of it as an actual floating weapon that you summon is way weirder than letting someone choose the illusory form of the spell effect.
I say you create a floating, spectral weapon. If the DM want it to take any other form it's up to DM
The DM can rule whatever they want in all cases. But unless the DM overrules' a spell's text, isn't the text the rule?
Yes it is! RAW the spell a spectral weapon.
And raw, "The weapon can take whatever form you choose."
Not "The weapon can take whatever form of weapon you choose"
You choose the form the weapon will take but it must be a weapon. People are not weapons by the rules.
Then can you wield the weapon as a weapon, or is the weapon part totally just fluff?
Remember, spectral doesn't mean immaterial. It can still physically interact with stuff.
Spectral quality is not defined in 5E. In english, it's related to ghostly form. It's a floating spectral weapon that fly out to hit people as written. DM would have to determine if it can be wielded like a physical weapon despite floating as RAW it doesn't say so.
Then can you wield the weapon as a weapon, or is the weapon part totally just fluff?
Remember, spectral doesn't mean immaterial. It can still physically interact with stuff.
Have you read the entire spell text ? The main thing with the spell is that you can attack with the weapon, regardless of the form.
You create a floating, spectral weapon within range that lasts for the duration or until you cast this spell again. When you cast the spell, you can make a melee spell attack against a creature within 5 feet of the weapon. On a hit, the target takes force damage equal to 1d8 + your spellcasting ability modifier.
Whatever form it takes is fluff, but the attack that you make with it is very much NOT fluff. You don't have to wield the weapon, it is floating by itself, but creatures wont attack the weapon for any reason, also not to burn an attack or anything.
The mechanical advantages of the spell is an extra attack as a bonus action, that doesn't require concentration.
If you have ever seen Critical Role, on youtube or Twitch, Laura made her spiritual weapon look like a giant lollipop in campaign 2. In campaign 3 the spiritual weapon cast by the cleric was a tomato.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
Its a floating, spectra weapon no matter what form it takes. Whether its a hammer or sword or teddy bear, its not dealing damage based upon its form, but upon it being a weapon.
TLDR: the form doesn't matter
You choose the form the weapon will take but it must be a weapon. People are not weapons by the rules.
Then can you wield the weapon as a weapon, or is the weapon part totally just fluff?
Remember, spectral doesn't mean immaterial. It can still physically interact with stuff.
Spectral quality is not defined in 5E. In english, it's related to ghostly form. It's a floating spectral weapon that fly out to hit people as written. DM would have to determine if it can be wielded like a physical weapon despite floating as RAW it doesn't say so.
Step 1: be a narcissist
Step 2: be a Cleric/Monk, who sees their body as a weapon to deliver divine justice
Step 3: your spiritual weapon can be flavored any way, as the damage isn't bound to it's form.
This has been a message brought to you by the church of Chronepsis.
Have you read the entire spell text ?
The main thing with the spell is that you can attack with the weapon, regardless of the form.
You create a floating, spectral weapon within range that lasts for the duration or until you cast this spell again. When you cast the spell, you can make a melee spell attack against a creature within 5 feet of the weapon. On a hit, the target takes force damage equal to 1d8 + your spellcasting ability modifier.
Whatever form it takes is fluff, but the attack that you make with it is very much NOT fluff.
You don't have to wield the weapon, it is floating by itself, but creatures wont attack the weapon for any reason, also not to burn an attack or anything.
The mechanical advantages of the spell is an extra attack as a bonus action, that doesn't require concentration.
If you have ever seen Critical Role, on youtube or Twitch, Laura made her spiritual weapon look like a giant lollipop in campaign 2.
In campaign 3 the spiritual weapon cast by the cleric was a tomato.