A) Using a bonus action does not consume a spell slot, but it can only be used by abilities that say you can use it as a bonus action.
B) On your turn, you have an action, a reaction, bonus action, and your movement. Any of those can be used in any order on your turn.
P.S. On your turn, you can only cast two spells maximum, and if you do one of them must be a cantrip with a casting time of one action. I only put this here to clarify, because you worded it weirdly.
If the bonus action is a spell, you still have to cast it which consumes a spell slot. Most bonus action spells do not just stay up (misty step) so you have to use a spell slot each time you cast it and then you can only use your action to cast a cantrip, hide, disengage, etc.
An exception is Spiritual Weapon. You cast Spiritual Weapon as a bonus action, casting it consumes a spell slot. Once you've cast it, the weapon stays up and you can use your bonus action to continue to attack with it without consuming a spell slot. After casting spiritual weapon the first time you have to use a cantrip. Once it is up (you aren't casting it again), you can cast any leveled spell and still use your spiritual weapon - per Crawford and errata.
Thank you all for your answers. Also I want to apologize because I missdirected, I meant Bonus action as a spell not just as a simple Bonus action like grab something etc. Anyway now I know that a Spell Bonus action consumes a slot. Cheers.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
Hello Adventurers!!!
My questions are kinda simple:
1. Does a bonus action consume a slot (mana etc.)?
2. When is my turn in the game, can I move, then cast a cantrip, then cast a bonus action (or viceversa)?
(I know that I can't cast cantrip with 1st lvl + spell, also I can't cast bonus spell with 1st lvl + spell).
A) Using a bonus action does not consume a spell slot, but it can only be used by abilities that say you can use it as a bonus action.
B) On your turn, you have an action, a reaction, bonus action, and your movement. Any of those can be used in any order on your turn.
P.S. On your turn, you can only cast two spells maximum, and if you do one of them must be a cantrip with a casting time of one action. I only put this here to clarify, because you worded it weirdly.
Come participate in the Competition of the Finest Brews, Edition XXIX?
My homebrew stuff:
Spells, Monsters, Magic Items, Feats, Subclasses.
I am an Archfey, but nobody seems to notice.
Extended Signature
If the bonus action is a spell, you still have to cast it which consumes a spell slot. Most bonus action spells do not just stay up (misty step) so you have to use a spell slot each time you cast it and then you can only use your action to cast a cantrip, hide, disengage, etc.
An exception is Spiritual Weapon. You cast Spiritual Weapon as a bonus action, casting it consumes a spell slot. Once you've cast it, the weapon stays up and you can use your bonus action to continue to attack with it without consuming a spell slot. After casting spiritual weapon the first time you have to use a cantrip. Once it is up (you aren't casting it again), you can cast any leveled spell and still use your spiritual weapon - per Crawford and errata.
Thank you all for your answers. Also I want to apologize because I missdirected, I meant Bonus action as a spell not just as a simple Bonus action like grab something etc. Anyway now I know that a Spell Bonus action consumes a slot. Cheers.