A couple of 2nd level spells use the M. One uses a sprinkling of Holy Water, and the other uses a drop of blood. My question is about the acquisition and consumption of the M. Where can I get either of these materials? And, does the use of the spell actually consume the Material? And, I guess that I do not need to figure out how to carry multiple copies of each M. Unless I anticipate that I will be able to long rest while my character is out adventuring? Well, if I do anticipate that I will be able to long rest while out, how do I carry multiple drops of blood, or sprinklings of Holy Water?
You can generally assume you have the necessary material components on hand to cast any of your spells. The only exception is if it has a specific gold piece value listed, then you must specifically get that component. In those cases, it will also specify whether or not the spell consumes the component, or if you can re-use it. (E.g. Raise Dead needs a 500 gp diamond and the spell consumes it, so you need a new diamond every time you cast the spell.)
Clerics usually have an arcane focus, their god’s holy symbol, which can also stand in for the mundane material components. However, the rule about components with a gp value attached still stands.
The actual rule is you must have the actual material component if it has a monetary value listed or is consumed by the spell
There are a few spells where although there is no monetary value for the component it does state that it is consumed by the spell (though I must admit off the top off my head I cant think of a cleric spell like this). Generally these will be items that might be difficult to get for example the Warlock's summon demon spells you need to have a vial of blood of a humanoid killed in the last 24 hours. Bane requires any drop of blood so it would be easy to prick your finger in order to provide it where the warlock component might not be so readily available.
A couple of 2nd level spells use the M. One uses a sprinkling of Holy Water, and the other uses a drop of blood. My question is about the acquisition and consumption of the M. Where can I get either of these materials? And, does the use of the spell actually consume the Material? And, I guess that I do not need to figure out how to carry multiple copies of each M. Unless I anticipate that I will be able to long rest while my character is out adventuring? Well, if I do anticipate that I will be able to long rest while out, how do I carry multiple drops of blood, or sprinklings of Holy Water?
You can generally assume you have the necessary material components on hand to cast any of your spells. The only exception is if it has a specific gold piece value listed, then you must specifically get that component. In those cases, it will also specify whether or not the spell consumes the component, or if you can re-use it. (E.g. Raise Dead needs a 500 gp diamond and the spell consumes it, so you need a new diamond every time you cast the spell.)
Clerics usually have an arcane focus, their god’s holy symbol, which can also stand in for the mundane material components. However, the rule about components with a gp value attached still stands.
The actual rule is you must have the actual material component if it has a monetary value listed or is consumed by the spell
There are a few spells where although there is no monetary value for the component it does state that it is consumed by the spell (though I must admit off the top off my head I cant think of a cleric spell like this). Generally these will be items that might be difficult to get for example the Warlock's summon demon spells you need to have a vial of blood of a humanoid killed in the last 24 hours. Bane requires any drop of blood so it would be easy to prick your finger in order to provide it where the warlock component might not be so readily available.
Yes, thanks, Jegpeg, that's an important distinction.