I have a hexblade warlock, if I got pact of the tome would that limit my cantrip choices to the phb and xanthars? Could I choose green flame blade from SCAG?
I might be wrong, but I think you are already limited to PHB+XGtE bue to having chosen the Hexblade warlock subclass. "You use the options provided in your PHB+1 for advancing your character. Feats and spells gained by advancement are subject to PHB+1." <- from the AL player's pack.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
Born in Italy, moved a bunch, living in Spain, my heart always belonged to Roleplaying Games
Yeah, I figured, I thought I had read somewhere that you can get spells from outside the +1 as a wizard, just not starting spells. Thanks for the info.
Yeah, I figured, I thought I had read somewhere that you can get spells from outside the +1 as a wizard, just not starting spells. Thanks for the info.
That's a feature of the Spellbook feature of wizards that let them scribe spells into their book, iirc you can get non-PHB+1 spells in this way. Cantrips do not benefit from this feature, however, even for wizards.
If you get the power that lets you scribe rituals, you might be able to trade spells the same way as wizards, but then, I don't think there's any rituals outside of PHB and Xanathar's anyways, so the point is moot.
I think spellcasting from XGE and SCAG are optional rules the DM can use if they have access to them. So as it’s your DM’s choice, I don’t think it counts as your +1.
I think spellcasting from XGE and SCAG are optional rules the DM can use if they have access to them. So as it’s your DM’s choice, I don’t think it counts as your +1.
Please check which forum section you are in. This is AL section. AL enforces PHB+1. AL is the GM and their rules limit you. So yes it does count as +1 in AL game.
Sorry, misread. There’s a section in XGE guidance about DMs deciding to use optional rules (including Spellcasting), but looking back it says a DM or player can use them, so it would presumably, in Spellcasting’s case, be part of a player’s +1. So yeah, mistake.
I know I’m talking about XGE, but I don’t have a SCAG AL guide. I assume it follows the same rules.
Sorry again, I’ve only just started AL.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
I have a hexblade warlock, if I got pact of the tome would that limit my cantrip choices to the phb and xanthars? Could I choose green flame blade from SCAG?
I might be wrong, but I think you are already limited to PHB+XGtE bue to having chosen the Hexblade warlock subclass.
"You use the options provided in your PHB+1 for advancing your character. Feats and spells gained by advancement are subject to PHB+1." <- from the AL player's pack.
Born in Italy, moved a bunch, living in Spain, my heart always belonged to Roleplaying Games
Yeah, I figured, I thought I had read somewhere that you can get spells from outside the +1 as a wizard, just not starting spells. Thanks for the info.
Hexblade with pact of the tome limits you too much. Most of the important invocations for melee warlock are restricted to pact of the blade.
I think spellcasting from XGE and SCAG are optional rules the DM can use if they have access to them. So as it’s your DM’s choice, I don’t think it counts as your +1.
Sorry, misread. There’s a section in XGE guidance about DMs deciding to use optional rules (including Spellcasting), but looking back it says a DM or player can use them, so it would presumably, in Spellcasting’s case, be part of a player’s +1. So yeah, mistake.
I know I’m talking about XGE, but I don’t have a SCAG AL guide. I assume it follows the same rules.
Sorry again, I’ve only just started AL.