I just hit level 2 with my shiny new druid, and picked Circle of the Moon. I know I can't cast while transformed, but if I cast Jump on myself as an action and then transform as a bonus, can I legit turn into a Gummi Bear for a minute? Jump isn't a concentration spell, but do existing spell effects carry over?
Also, how does the "You have to have seen it to turn into one" rule play out in AL? Like, do I have to have seen it at that table, or that session, or do can have fond memories of the Faerun zoo from my childhood? That Nyxborn Lynx would be nice against magic users, and apparently nyxborn creatures are formed of nightmares... but tbh I'm not sure how that ended up on the Beast list.
Yes on the jump. Spells cast before you transform are still in effect. You can even maintain concentration spells if you cast them before you wild shape.
For AL animal forms, it depends on the DM. I've played with some who are super strict and some who don't give an Eff. My rule of thumb is, if it's in the Players Handbook, it's fair game. All others, make a note when you encountered it in your logsheet for the session. If the DM asks about it, you can show him the log entry.
I just hit level 2 with my shiny new druid, and picked Circle of the Moon. I know I can't cast while transformed, but if I cast Jump on myself as an action and then transform as a bonus, can I legit turn into a Gummi Bear for a minute? Jump isn't a concentration spell, but do existing spell effects carry over?
Also, how does the "You have to have seen it to turn into one" rule play out in AL? Like, do I have to have seen it at that table, or that session, or do can have fond memories of the Faerun zoo from my childhood? That Nyxborn Lynx would be nice against magic users, and apparently nyxborn creatures are formed of nightmares... but tbh I'm not sure how that ended up on the Beast list.
Xanathar's has rules on page 24 if you need to press the issue on what creatures you saw growing up. The Nyxborn Lynx is from Theros, I believe, so you'd need to be Therosian? I don't know. Per the same rules, you can visit a listed terrain type just to sightsee the animals and check them out, although it's always up to the GM what you encounter. Once you can cast Locate Animals or Plants, it's shenanigans for a GM to deny you access to most animals, since you can go to the terrain type you need on an extended vacation, ask the locals/research animals from there, and use Locate to lay eyes on whatever you like.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
I just hit level 2 with my shiny new druid, and picked Circle of the Moon. I know I can't cast while transformed, but if I cast Jump on myself as an action and then transform as a bonus, can I legit turn into a Gummi Bear for a minute? Jump isn't a concentration spell, but do existing spell effects carry over?
Also, how does the "You have to have seen it to turn into one" rule play out in AL? Like, do I have to have seen it at that table, or that session, or do can have fond memories of the Faerun zoo from my childhood? That Nyxborn Lynx would be nice against magic users, and apparently nyxborn creatures are formed of nightmares... but tbh I'm not sure how that ended up on the Beast list.
Yes on the jump. Spells cast before you transform are still in effect. You can even maintain concentration spells if you cast them before you wild shape.
Never played AL, so sorry I can’t help you there.
Wildshape rules specifically mention that you can continue to concentrate and use actions provided by spells cast before transforming.
For AL animal forms, it depends on the DM. I've played with some who are super strict and some who don't give an Eff. My rule of thumb is, if it's in the Players Handbook, it's fair game. All others, make a note when you encountered it in your logsheet for the session. If the DM asks about it, you can show him the log entry.
Xanathar's has rules on page 24 if you need to press the issue on what creatures you saw growing up. The Nyxborn Lynx is from Theros, I believe, so you'd need to be Therosian? I don't know. Per the same rules, you can visit a listed terrain type just to sightsee the animals and check them out, although it's always up to the GM what you encounter. Once you can cast Locate Animals or Plants, it's shenanigans for a GM to deny you access to most animals, since you can go to the terrain type you need on an extended vacation, ask the locals/research animals from there, and use Locate to lay eyes on whatever you like.