No, the bag of holding itself follows the rules of the other items: "You choose whether your equipment falls to the ground in your space, merges into your new form, or is worn by it."
Since the bag of holding cannot be worn, it either merges or falls to the ground in your space.
No, the bag of holding itself follows the rules of the other items: "You choose whether your equipment falls to the ground in your space, merges into your new form, or is worn by it."
Since the bag of holding cannot be worn, it either merges or falls to the ground in your space.
Sorry reviewed my question I wasn't being clear.
If you put one bag of holding inside another bag of holding you get whisked off to the Astral plane through the hole that is formed,
so if the bag of holding goes along for the ride when a druid changes are you risking the same effect, either by releasing the magic from the bag of holding by breaking it down to incorporate into the material that makes up the animal, or by shunting it away to some storage dimension and hence doing the equivalent of putting one bag inside another?
It just occurred to me has no immediate relevance :)
The bigger problem with all of this is whether the bag of holding actually stays active while merged with a wildshape form because magical items that are merged do not actually function while they are merged. So there is some discrepancy on whether it would actually effectively be a bag of holding when it is merged and whether your stuff all falls out on the ground when you wild shape. But there aren't rules anywhere that really discuss that particular interaction. Which is why it may be best not to let the Druid hang on to the parties bag of holding.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
Or to narrow the question down further
If they are carrying a BAG OF HOLDING is it an issue?
Dum Vivimus vivamus
Sorry reviewed my question I wasn't being clear.
If you put one bag of holding inside another bag of holding you get whisked off to the Astral plane through the hole that is formed,
so if the bag of holding goes along for the ride when a druid changes are you risking the same effect, either by releasing the magic from the bag of holding by breaking it down to incorporate into the material that makes up the animal, or by shunting it away to some storage dimension and hence doing the equivalent of putting one bag inside another?
It just occurred to me has no immediate relevance :)
Dum Vivimus vivamus
Or if the bags dimensional storage remains intact inside the animal, then would it react if the druid climbed into a Portable Hole?
I can't think of an option that doesn't carry some form of penalty :)
Dum Vivimus vivamus
The bigger problem with all of this is whether the bag of holding actually stays active while merged with a wildshape form because magical items that are merged do not actually function while they are merged. So there is some discrepancy on whether it would actually effectively be a bag of holding when it is merged and whether your stuff all falls out on the ground when you wild shape. But there aren't rules anywhere that really discuss that particular interaction. Which is why it may be best not to let the Druid hang on to the parties bag of holding.