So i just want to clear something up both for myself and a friend. When a druid prepares a spell list they can use those spells over and over again until they run out of spells slots correct? Becuase my friend has been playing her druid where she has to prepare a spell more than once to be able to cast it multiple times.
For example if she can prepare six spells but wants to be able to cast cure wounds three times. She would have to prepare said spell three times
Druids (like Clerics) can prepare a number of spells equal to WIS + druid level. A prepared spell can be cast as many times as the spell slots allow it.
So, if the druid wants to cast Cure Wounds three times, it doesn't need to prepare it three times (which is not even contemplated by the rules), just once and it can cast it with the spell slots available.
The way your friend has been playing it is how it worked in earlier editions of the game, so if she’s played 2nd or 3rd edition for example, that may be the source of her mistake. But yeah, as the above posters have explained, that’s not how it works in 5e.
Think of the prepared spells as a, the ones that were chosen to for possible use ( the ones chosen you think you might use that day ) and the spell slots as the amount of energy they have to use for the spells ( prepared 10 but only have the energy to use 6 ) ,,, meaning you memorized the spell you just don't have the energy to keep using it =)
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
So i just want to clear something up both for myself and a friend. When a druid prepares a spell list they can use those spells over and over again until they run out of spells slots correct? Becuase my friend has been playing her druid where she has to prepare a spell more than once to be able to cast it multiple times.
For example if she can prepare six spells but wants to be able to cast cure wounds three times. She would have to prepare said spell three times
No.
Druids (like Clerics) can prepare a number of spells equal to WIS + druid level. A prepared spell can be cast as many times as the spell slots allow it.
So, if the druid wants to cast Cure Wounds three times, it doesn't need to prepare it three times (which is not even contemplated by the rules), just once and it can cast it with the spell slots available.
As long as she has it prepared she can cast Cure Wounds as long as she has spell slots.
The way your friend has been playing it is how it worked in earlier editions of the game, so if she’s played 2nd or 3rd edition for example, that may be the source of her mistake. But yeah, as the above posters have explained, that’s not how it works in 5e.
Think of the prepared spells as a, the ones that were chosen to for possible use ( the ones chosen you think you might use that day ) and the spell slots as the amount of energy they have to use for the spells ( prepared 10 but only have the energy to use 6 ) ,,, meaning you memorized the spell you just don't have the energy to keep using it =)