So I'm currently creating my version of the Orb of Dragonkind using the DMG's tables for the random properties, and I've run across an interesting thing that's brought up a question: Does immunity to being charmed (an immunity granted by the item) mean I can't be charmed by the item on a failed check?
As written, the orb has this verbiage for being attuned to it: While attuned to an orb, you can use an action to peer into the orb’s depths and speak its command word. You must then make a DC 15 Charisma check. On a successful check, you control the orb for as long as you remain attuned to it. On a failed check, you become charmed by the orb for as long as you remain attuned to it.
In contrast, one of the minor beneficial properties I rolled for the item was: While attuned to the artifact, you can’t be charmed or frightened.
My DM ruling would be, yes you can still be charmed by the orb, but I would love the hive mind's help with this one!
I would say that if the item that charms the user also gives the user immunity to being charmed, the item has a right to charm its user despite the immunity if they fail the check.
So I'm currently creating my version of the Orb of Dragonkind using the DMG's tables for the random properties, and I've run across an interesting thing that's brought up a question: Does immunity to being charmed (an immunity granted by the item) mean I can't be charmed by the item on a failed check?
In general I would assume that sentient item will not protect its wielder against itself.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
So I'm currently creating my version of the Orb of Dragonkind using the DMG's tables for the random properties, and I've run across an interesting thing that's brought up a question:
Does immunity to being charmed (an immunity granted by the item) mean I can't be charmed by the item on a failed check?
As written, the orb has this verbiage for being attuned to it:
While attuned to an orb, you can use an action to peer into the orb’s depths and speak its command word. You must then make a DC 15 Charisma check. On a successful check, you control the orb for as long as you remain attuned to it. On a failed check, you become charmed by the orb for as long as you remain attuned to it.
In contrast, one of the minor beneficial properties I rolled for the item was:
While attuned to the artifact, you can’t be charmed or frightened.
My DM ruling would be, yes you can still be charmed by the orb, but I would love the hive mind's help with this one!
I would say that if the item that charms the user also gives the user immunity to being charmed, the item has a right to charm its user despite the immunity if they fail the check.
Come participate in the Competition of the Finest Brews, Edition XXVIII?
My homebrew stuff:
Spells, Monsters, Magic Items, Feats, Subclasses.
I am an Archfey, but nobody seems to notice.
Extended Signature
In general I would assume that sentient item will not protect its wielder against itself.