Just out of curiosity, is it possible to draw a teleportation circle with all the materials required, but instead of teleport right away, the caster use it later (maybe few hours later)?
I'm leaning towards a "yes", but just want to make sure if it's possible or what everyone else think about this topic.
As the spell is described, and in accordance with how spellcasting rules work: no, you would need to spend that minute drawing the circle then the portal opens immediately.
The basic rules state: "When you cast a spell with a casting time longer than a single action or reaction, you must spend your action each turn casting the spell, and you must maintain your concentration while you do so. If your concentration is broken, the spell fails, but you don't expend a spell slot. If you want to try casting the spell again, you must start over." Stopping the spell before opening the portal would count as breaking your concentration or failing to spend your action to continue the casting. The spell would fail, but would consume neither spell slot nor material components.
Could you, as GM, allow it in a game? Sure, why not.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
Just out of curiosity, is it possible to draw a teleportation circle with all the materials required, but instead of teleport right away, the caster use it later (maybe few hours later)?
I'm leaning towards a "yes", but just want to make sure if it's possible or what everyone else think about this topic.
As the spell is described, and in accordance with how spellcasting rules work: no, you would need to spend that minute drawing the circle then the portal opens immediately.
The basic rules state: "When you cast a spell with a casting time longer than a single action or reaction, you must spend your action each turn casting the spell, and you must maintain your concentration while you do so. If your concentration is broken, the spell fails, but you don't expend a spell slot. If you want to try casting the spell again, you must start over." Stopping the spell before opening the portal would count as breaking your concentration or failing to spend your action to continue the casting. The spell would fail, but would consume neither spell slot nor material components.
Could you, as GM, allow it in a game? Sure, why not.