I had an enemy, that normally has legendary actions, shapechange to a dragon. Does the enemy (NPC) still use her legendary actions? The spell does say, "You retain the benefit of any features from your class, race, or other source and can use them, provided that your new form is physically capable of doing so." I'm assuming that the other source would count. But want to make sure.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
‘A’OHE PU’U KI’EKI’E KE HO’A’O ‘IA E PI’I – (No cliff is so tall it cannot be climbed.)
Not knowing what the legendary actions are, the phrase "your new form is physically capable of doing so" is the guideline. If the dragon's form can do the action, then yes.
For example, a legendary action to make a melee attack: Yes. A legendary action to turn someone to stones by using hair-snakes: No.
You do not get Legendary, Lair, or Region actions.
They put the rule in the Monster Manual, which was a stupid place to put it, but it does exist. Page 11, I think
In general, this is not a problem. Shapeshift is a high powered 9th level spell, though not quite as good as True Polymorph. The ability to change between different creatures makes you so versatile and able to defeat so many attacks. Dragons, Hierophant Medusa, Otherworldly Corrupter are nasty things to suddenly switch to.
I believe that means you don't get the dragon's legendary actions when you shapeshift into one. It doesn't affect any legendary actions that you already had. (Which players don't typically get.)
You do not get Legendary, Lair, or Region actions.
They put the rule in the Monster Manual, which was a stupid place to put it, but it does exist. Page 11, I think
Just for clarification, the whole rule states: "If a creature assumes the form of a legendary creature, such as throug a spell, it doesn't gain that form's legendary actions, lair actions, or regional effects." This means that a creature that takes the form of a dragon, doesn't get its lair actions.
However, the case here is that a creature with Legendary actions shapechanges into something else. I would say that he retains the legendary actions. On the other end, if a Legendary action is a tailswipe and the creature transforms into something that hasn't got a tail, this becomes redundant.
For instance the Vampire in the MM has clear distinction on wether or not he can do actions in other forms. It is even stated in which form it can do it's attacks (Legendary Bite action, Legendary Move action)
"Time, like hope, is an illusion" - Lumalee "Time is relative" - Albert Einstein "It's a joke. It's all a joke. Mother forgive me" - Edward 'The Comedian' Blake "Do I look like the kind of clown that can start a movement?" - Arthur Fleck
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
I had an enemy, that normally has legendary actions, shapechange to a dragon. Does the enemy (NPC) still use her legendary actions? The spell does say, "You retain the benefit of any features from your class, race, or other source and can use them, provided that your new form is physically capable of doing so." I'm assuming that the other source would count. But want to make sure.
‘A’OHE PU’U KI’EKI’E KE HO’A’O ‘IA E PI’I – (No cliff is so tall it cannot be climbed.)
Not knowing what the legendary actions are, the phrase "your new form is physically capable of doing so" is the guideline. If the dragon's form can do the action, then yes.
For example, a legendary action to make a melee attack: Yes. A legendary action to turn someone to stones by using hair-snakes: No.
You do not get Legendary, Lair, or Region actions.
They put the rule in the Monster Manual, which was a stupid place to put it, but it does exist. Page 11, I think
In general, this is not a problem. Shapeshift is a high powered 9th level spell, though not quite as good as True Polymorph. The ability to change between different creatures makes you so versatile and able to defeat so many attacks. Dragons, Hierophant Medusa, Otherworldly Corrupter are nasty things to suddenly switch to.
I believe that means you don't get the dragon's legendary actions when you shapeshift into one. It doesn't affect any legendary actions that you already had. (Which players don't typically get.)
Just for clarification, the whole rule states:
"If a creature assumes the form of a legendary creature, such as throug a spell, it doesn't gain that form's legendary actions, lair actions, or regional effects."
This means that a creature that takes the form of a dragon, doesn't get its lair actions.
However, the case here is that a creature with Legendary actions shapechanges into something else. I would say that he retains the legendary actions. On the other end, if a Legendary action is a tailswipe and the creature transforms into something that hasn't got a tail, this becomes redundant.
For instance the Vampire in the MM has clear distinction on wether or not he can do actions in other forms. It is even stated in which form it can do it's attacks (Legendary Bite action, Legendary Move action)
"Time, like hope, is an illusion" - Lumalee
"Time is relative" - Albert Einstein
"It's a joke. It's all a joke. Mother forgive me" - Edward 'The Comedian' Blake
"Do I look like the kind of clown that can start a movement?" - Arthur Fleck