Title says it all really. Some example will hopefully help:
Wizard has previoulsy cast Expeditious Retreat on themselves. On Wizard's turn in initative they choose to Ready, and says 'if something comes around the corner I am going to magic missile it'. Something more dangerous than expected comes around the corner, so the wizard says rather than doing the action they are going to do their movement instead and get the hell out of the way. Can the wizard include their bonus action Dash from their Expeditious Retreat in their movement?
Fighter uses Ready action and states they will attack anyone running through the door. When someone runs through the door, they triggers the attack action. Fighter also has Dual Wielder feat that allows them anohter attack as a bonus action. Can they use that as well when they attack?
If a fighter Readies an Attack action and also has an Extra Attack because of their level, can they use that Extra Attack as part of their triggered action?
Sorry, this should probably be in the rules section, but don't know how to move it there.
Technically, I would say you don't get the Bonus Action attack or Extra Attack when you attack as a readied action.
This is because Actions and Bonus Actions are things that occur on your turn, whereas reactions can happen outside your turn. Specifically: (a) when you make a Ready Action, then "Ready" is actually your action and you attack as the Reaction (b) the Extra Attack feature says "...when you make an attack on your turn..." and, when you attack as a readied action it isn't your turn.
On the other hand, I didn't realise myself that I had been getting (b) - the Extra Attack - wrong until recently because I just didn't realise this, and everyone else (e.g. watching Actual Plays) seems to ignore it as well and allow the Extra Attack on the reaction.
Option (a) - the Bonus Action from TWF - has never come up in my own games. Personally, I don't think it would be game-breaking to allow it so it would be up to you (or your DM) but only if you hadn't already used your bonus action on your own turn, so it would add a bit of book-keeping to remember this. And given that I would probably forget and end up with players getting two bonus actions a round, I would probably disallow it just for that reason!
You choose to Ready an action or movement as a response, not both.
Ready Action: First, you decide what perceivable circumstance will trigger your Reaction. Then, you choose the action you will take in response to that trigger, or you choose to move up to your Speed in response to it. Examples include “If the cultist steps on the trapdoor, I’ll pull the lever that opens it,” and “If the zombie steps next to me, I move away.”
Title says it all really. Some example will hopefully help:
Wizard has previoulsy cast Expeditious Retreat on themselves. On Wizard's turn in initative they choose to Ready, and says 'if something comes around the corner I am going to magic missile it'. Something more dangerous than expected comes around the corner, so the wizard says rather than doing the action they are going to do their movement instead and get the hell out of the way. Can the wizard include their bonus action Dash from their Expeditious Retreat in their movement?
No. Ready is only a single action. The Wizard could have used the bonus action dash on their turn, however, as ready also only costs a single action.
Wizard has previoulsy cast Expeditious Retreat on themselves. On Wizard's turn in initative they choose to Ready, and says 'if something comes around the corner I am going to magic missile it'. Something more dangerous than expected comes around the corner, so the wizard says rather than doing the action they are going to do their movement instead and get the hell out of the way. Can the wizard include their bonus action Dash from their Expeditious Retreat in their movement?
No, because on the later turn when the Reaction is used, the Wizard no longer has the bonus speed. The Dash action increases your speed for the current turn only.
Also No, because Readying a spell requires Concentration. The wizard is no longer concentrating on expeditious retreat.
Also also no, because the player does not get to change their mind about magic missile. You decide the trigger and response at the time you take the Ready action; not when the trigger actually happens.
While I am not a stickler this is one rule I tend to enforce just due to avoiding a menu of options - Ready means you ready 1 action not an either or - and as others have stated you are concentrating on the action so it breaks concentration on other things. I just explain it as the penalty for not going on your turn is you only get to do 1 thing not a full turn. You are readying one thing not holding a turn. I think a large part of the confusion lies in the common slang of "holding an action" - confused with being the same as the non existent thing of holding a turn.
Personally 99% of the time I wish the ready action where not in the game it just gives indecisive players one more thing to be indecisive about. I know there are a few use cases where it is valid, it just seems to be over used.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
Title says it all really. Some example will hopefully help:
Wizard has previoulsy cast Expeditious Retreat on themselves. On Wizard's turn in initative they choose to Ready, and says 'if something comes around the corner I am going to magic missile it'. Something more dangerous than expected comes around the corner, so the wizard says rather than doing the action they are going to do their movement instead and get the hell out of the way. Can the wizard include their bonus action Dash from their Expeditious Retreat in their movement?
Fighter uses Ready action and states they will attack anyone running through the door. When someone runs through the door, they triggers the attack action. Fighter also has Dual Wielder feat that allows them anohter attack as a bonus action. Can they use that as well when they attack?
If a fighter Readies an Attack action and also has an Extra Attack because of their level, can they use that Extra Attack as part of their triggered action?
Sorry, this should probably be in the rules section, but don't know how to move it there.
Technically, I would say you don't get the Bonus Action attack or Extra Attack when you attack as a readied action.
This is because Actions and Bonus Actions are things that occur on your turn, whereas reactions can happen outside your turn. Specifically: (a) when you make a Ready Action, then "Ready" is actually your action and you attack as the Reaction (b) the Extra Attack feature says "...when you make an attack on your turn..." and, when you attack as a readied action it isn't your turn.
On the other hand, I didn't realise myself that I had been getting (b) - the Extra Attack - wrong until recently because I just didn't realise this, and everyone else (e.g. watching Actual Plays) seems to ignore it as well and allow the Extra Attack on the reaction.
Option (a) - the Bonus Action from TWF - has never come up in my own games. Personally, I don't think it would be game-breaking to allow it so it would be up to you (or your DM) but only if you hadn't already used your bonus action on your own turn, so it would add a bit of book-keeping to remember this. And given that I would probably forget and end up with players getting two bonus actions a round, I would probably disallow it just for that reason!
You choose to Ready an action or movement as a response, not both.
No. Ready is only a single action. The Wizard could have used the bonus action dash on their turn, however, as ready also only costs a single action.
No, because on the later turn when the Reaction is used, the Wizard no longer has the bonus speed. The Dash action increases your speed for the current turn only.
Also No, because Readying a spell requires Concentration. The wizard is no longer concentrating on expeditious retreat.
Also also no, because the player does not get to change their mind about magic missile. You decide the trigger and response at the time you take the Ready action; not when the trigger actually happens.
While I am not a stickler this is one rule I tend to enforce just due to avoiding a menu of options - Ready means you ready 1 action not an either or - and as others have stated you are concentrating on the action so it breaks concentration on other things. I just explain it as the penalty for not going on your turn is you only get to do 1 thing not a full turn. You are readying one thing not holding a turn. I think a large part of the confusion lies in the common slang of "holding an action" - confused with being the same as the non existent thing of holding a turn.
Personally 99% of the time I wish the ready action where not in the game it just gives indecisive players one more thing to be indecisive about. I know there are a few use cases where it is valid, it just seems to be over used.