Hey fellow DMs, I wanted to double check to see if I ruled on this correctly. One of my players is a druid (stars)/blood hunter (lycan). Generally, he uses his wild shape to enter the subclass feature Starry Form, which I have been ruling is not the same as using it to shape into an animal for the purposes of casting spells.
In addition, he's dipping into Blood Hunter/Order of the Lycan. I don't think shifting into a were creature is treated as the same as wild shaping into an animal (for the purposes of continued spell casting), but has anyone else run this combination or encountered it?
While it would be a plausible DM ruling to say that different transformations overwrite each other, there's no specific rule saying that they do, and neither ability specifically states that it affects spellcasting.
Hey fellow DMs, I wanted to double check to see if I ruled on this correctly. One of my players is a druid (stars)/blood hunter (lycan). Generally, he uses his wild shape to enter the subclass feature Starry Form, which I have been ruling is not the same as using it to shape into an animal for the purposes of casting spells.
You sort of CAN'T disallow spell casting in starry form...
Chalice. A constellation of a life-giving goblet appears on you. Whenever you cast a spell using a spell slot that restores Hit Points to a creature, you or another creature within 30 feet of you can regain Hit Points equal to 1d8 plus your Wisdom modifier.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
"Sooner or later, your Players are going to smash your railroad into a sandbox."
-Vedexent
"real life is a super high CR."
-OboeLauren
"............anybody got any potatoes? We could drop a potato in each hole an' see which ones get viciously mauled by horrible monsters?"
Hey fellow DMs, I wanted to double check to see if I ruled on this correctly. One of my players is a druid (stars)/blood hunter (lycan). Generally, he uses his wild shape to enter the subclass feature Starry Form, which I have been ruling is not the same as using it to shape into an animal for the purposes of casting spells.
In addition, he's dipping into Blood Hunter/Order of the Lycan. I don't think shifting into a were creature is treated as the same as wild shaping into an animal (for the purposes of continued spell casting), but has anyone else run this combination or encountered it?
While it would be a plausible DM ruling to say that different transformations overwrite each other, there's no specific rule saying that they do, and neither ability specifically states that it affects spellcasting.
Neither Starry form nor Lycan form affect spellcasting. Beast Shape is the only use of WildShape that blocks spellcasting.
You sort of CAN'T disallow spell casting in starry form...
"Sooner or later, your Players are going to smash your railroad into a sandbox."
-Vedexent
"real life is a super high CR."
-OboeLauren
"............anybody got any potatoes? We could drop a potato in each hole an' see which ones get viciously mauled by horrible monsters?"
-Ilyara Thundertale
Alrighty, thanks gang! It felt right in the moment and following AirBud there's no rule against it. I appreciate the double-check!