So, due to reasons. Mainly me dumping a large **** up on my part, my party's tabaxi rogue currently is in possession of The Eye of Vecna. When I say in possession I mean currently in use. And I was reading about the deck of many things, and there is the balance card I think it's called, where it changes your alignment to the oppsite. Such as lawful evil because chaotic good (Great for drow PC btw). But the eye makes the user neutral evil. What if he drew the balance or whatever the alignment changing card is named? Does his alignment switch again? Does it stay the same? Or does some artifact 17th - 20th level event unfold? I've thought about this, and I'm mainly asking for inspiration because I don't know what I would rule in the moment. Thanks in advance! ^^
It looks like RAW the Balance would override the Eye of Vecna. As the eye states "Changes your alignment to Neutral Evil", the Balance card (using some slightly different wording) does the same thing. So they put the eye in, they change to Neutral Evil, they get Balance and it changes to Neutral Good.
There are some interesting roleplay things you can do with this, for example the eye wants to be free and often rebels against it's user maybe refusing to work or worse... Due to the fact the user is now "good".
It looks like RAW the Balance would override the Eye of Vecna. As the eye states "Changes your alignment to Neutral Evil", the Balance card (using some slightly different wording) does the same thing. So they put the eye in, they change to Neutral Evil, they get Balance and it changes to Neutral Good.
There are some interesting roleplay things you can do with this, for example the eye wants to be free and often rebels against it's user maybe refusing to work or worse... Due to the fact the user is now "good".
Have fun with it, but that's my take.
Exactly! I was hoping that it would rebel. Necromancy has been banned and shunned so necromancers have gone into hiding. So Vecna's power is mortally weakend. So he is trying to come back and now he has a shot. But thank you for the assistance! ^^
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
So, due to reasons. Mainly me dumping a large **** up on my part, my party's tabaxi rogue currently is in possession of The Eye of Vecna. When I say in possession I mean
currently in use. And I was reading about the deck of many things, and there is the balance card I think it's called, where it changes your alignment to the oppsite. Such as
lawful evil because chaotic good (Great for drow PC btw). But the eye makes the user neutral evil. What if he drew the balance or whatever the alignment changing card is named?
Does his alignment switch again? Does it stay the same? Or does some artifact 17th - 20th level event unfold? I've thought about this, and I'm mainly asking for inspiration because I
don't know what I would rule in the moment. Thanks in advance! ^^
It looks like RAW the Balance would override the Eye of Vecna. As the eye states "Changes your alignment to Neutral Evil", the Balance card (using some slightly different wording) does the same thing. So they put the eye in, they change to Neutral Evil, they get Balance and it changes to Neutral Good.
There are some interesting roleplay things you can do with this, for example the eye wants to be free and often rebels against it's user maybe refusing to work or worse... Due to the fact the user is now "good".
Have fun with it, but that's my take.
Well there is an instantaneous effect versus a continuous effect, and an artifact versus a legendary item.
I would say the more powerful, more permanent effect should win out hands down.
Exactly! I was hoping that it would rebel. Necromancy has been banned and shunned so necromancers have gone into hiding. So Vecna's power is mortally weakend. So he is trying to come back and now he has a shot. But thank you for the assistance! ^^