Let's say the PCs are fighting a Nightmare and cast Earthbind on it, reducing its fly speed to 0. The caster is Concentrating on the spell, and then the Nightmare enters the Ethereal Plane with its Ethereal Stride ability.
The Etherealness spell states that while on the Etheral Plane, you can only affect and be affected by other things on the Ethereal Plane. Does the Earthbind spell immediately end/the PC caster lose concentration? Does the spell pop back up when the Nightmare returns to the Material Plane?
I would probably rule that going into the Ethereal Plane breaks any magical effects on the creature, or at least ends concentration spells, but I don't want to cheese it.
Nightmares don’t cast Etherealness, so nothing specifically called out in that spell applies. In the case of the nightmare, no, no spell currently affecting it ends.
If someone has cast Etherealness, the answer is still no, because the effect is already on the target. Obviously new spells can’t be cast at the target, but existing effects go with it, so they’re in the ethereal plane too.
Earthbind has no range restriction once the spell is actually cast. If a Wizard casts Earthbind on a creature, and then gets kicked through a portal into the Plane of Fire, they can still maintain concentration on the Earthbind spell, even though they're absolutely nowhere near the creature they targeted.
Earthbind has no range restriction once the spell is actually cast. If a Wizard casts Earthbind on a creature, and then gets kicked through a portal into the Plane of Fire, they can still maintain concentration on the Earthbind spell, even though they're absolutely nowhere near the creature they targeted.
But the Plane of Fire will probably force concentration saves, in this situation.
Let's say the PCs are fighting a Nightmare and cast Earthbind on it, reducing its fly speed to 0. The caster is Concentrating on the spell, and then the Nightmare enters the Ethereal Plane with its Ethereal Stride ability.
The Etherealness spell states that while on the Etheral Plane, you can only affect and be affected by other things on the Ethereal Plane. Does the Earthbind spell immediately end/the PC caster lose concentration? Does the spell pop back up when the Nightmare returns to the Material Plane?
I would probably rule that going into the Ethereal Plane breaks any magical effects on the creature, or at least ends concentration spells, but I don't want to cheese it.
Nightmares don’t cast Etherealness, so nothing specifically called out in that spell applies. In the case of the nightmare, no, no spell currently affecting it ends.
If someone has cast Etherealness, the answer is still no, because the effect is already on the target. Obviously new spells can’t be cast at the target, but existing effects go with it, so they’re in the ethereal plane too.
Earthbind has no range restriction once the spell is actually cast. If a Wizard casts Earthbind on a creature, and then gets kicked through a portal into the Plane of Fire, they can still maintain concentration on the Earthbind spell, even though they're absolutely nowhere near the creature they targeted.
Watch Crits for Breakfast, an adults-only RP-Heavy Roll20 Livestream at twitch.tv/afterdisbooty
And now you too can play with the amazing art and assets we use in Roll20 for our campaign at Hazel's Emporium
But the Plane of Fire will probably force concentration saves, in this situation.
I have a weird sense of humor.
I also make maps.(That's a link)