So what is anyones take on the scribe ability in tasha's
"If necessary, you can replace the book over the course of a short rest by using your Wizardly Quill to write arcane sigils in a blank book or a magic spellbook to which you’re attuned. At the end of the rest, your spellbook’s consciousness is summoned into the new book, which the consciousness transforms into your spellbook, along with all its spells. If the previous book still existed somewhere, all the spells vanish from its pages."
It cleary says - Repalce It says - Transform It doesn't mention anything about the spells that might have been in the attuned book
So what is this?
My player think he can copy spells without money if he get books that he can attune to - to calrify, his base book *ADDS* spells to the new one if it has any. And then he can transfer all these spells to any new book - if that also is attuned he also get to *ADD* to them.
There's only one magic item that is a spellbook, and it doesn't require attunement.
If there is such an item, and it becomes your spellbook, then any spells in the item before you find it then become part of your spellbook.
The last sentence of Awakened Spellbook says that all spells vanish from the old book's pages. I don't see how your player thinks he can avoid this happening.
My player think that if he have his spellbook with X amount of spells and later finds a new spellbook that have X amount of spells - he can attune (if able to attune ofc) to the new one and add his old and the new together.
If he later finds one more spellbook that can be attuned to with X amount of spells he can transfer to that book also.
Simply fusing the spells together. No cost, and all in an hour.
There are specific rules about copying spells from one spellbook to another. They need to be transcribed from the original author's arcane syntax into your own syntax. You don't just get to keep both spellbooks and use either of them.
Copying a Spell into the Book. When you find a wizard spell of 1st level or higher, you can add it to your spellbook if it is of a spell level you can prepare and if you can spare the time to decipher and copy it.
Copying that spell into your spellbook involves reproducing the basic form of the spell, then deciphering the unique system of notation used by the wizard who wrote it. You must practice the spell until you understand the sounds or gestures required, then transcribe it into your spellbook using your own notation.
For each level of the spell, the process takes 2 hours and costs 50 gp. The cost represents material components you expend as you experiment with the spell to master it, as well as the fine inks you need to record it. Once you have spent this time and money, you can prepare the spell just like your other spells.
That's not the issue - the issue is that if the player with the scribe ability get their hands on a spellbook with spells in them that also requier attunement they can - with the scribe 2nd lvl ability - transform the book they attune to into their own and fuse the spells from both books togeather.
I didn't know this - I asked in rules and apperently it works that way. I gave a lvl 4 wizard 3k gold worth of spells that they can "take over" with this ability.
Edit: Question to be asked if this "take over" just add the spells but the mage still have to theorize them to be able to cast them
So what is anyones take on the scribe ability in tasha's
"If necessary, you can replace the book over the course of a short rest by using your Wizardly Quill to write arcane sigils in a blank book or a magic spellbook to which you’re attuned. At the end of the rest, your spellbook’s consciousness is summoned into the new book, which the consciousness transforms into your spellbook, along with all its spells. If the previous book still existed somewhere, all the spells vanish from its pages."
It cleary says - Repalce
It says - Transform
It doesn't mention anything about the spells that might have been in the attuned book
So what is this?
My player think he can copy spells without money if he get books that he can attune to - to calrify, his base book *ADDS* spells to the new one if it has any.
And then he can transfer all these spells to any new book - if that also is attuned he also get to *ADD* to them.
There's only one magic item that is a spellbook, and it doesn't require attunement.
If there is such an item, and it becomes your spellbook, then any spells in the item before you find it then become part of your spellbook.
The last sentence of Awakened Spellbook says that all spells vanish from the old book's pages. I don't see how your player thinks he can avoid this happening.
My player think that if he have his spellbook with X amount of spells and later finds a new spellbook that have X amount of spells - he can attune (if able to attune ofc) to the new one and add his old and the new together.
If he later finds one more spellbook that can be attuned to with X amount of spells he can transfer to that book also.
Simply fusing the spells together. No cost, and all in an hour.
There are specific rules about copying spells from one spellbook to another. They need to be transcribed from the original author's arcane syntax into your own syntax. You don't just get to keep both spellbooks and use either of them.
That's not the issue - the issue is that if the player with the scribe ability get their hands on a spellbook with spells in them that also requier attunement they can - with the scribe 2nd lvl ability - transform the book they attune to into their own and fuse the spells from both books togeather.
I didn't know this - I asked in rules and apperently it works that way. I gave a lvl 4 wizard 3k gold worth of spells that they can "take over" with this ability.
Edit: Question to be asked if this "take over" just add the spells but the mage still have to theorize them to be able to cast them